Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Utd vrs Rvrs.

If I was in leechs shoes and I was gettin the same amount of abuse that ye were giving him I would have done the exact same thing.. the lad is young hes frustrated its a natural reaction get over it...
    What you mean ye?. Did you experience the ''abuse''?.

Leech was gettng no more stick then the any player not preforming would recieve, that is 2 or 3 or 4 tops were on his back when he messed up, with the usual crap you'll hear people shouting at a player when he's not performing(''your useless'' etc.) now out of everyone who was there and using the law of adverages theres always going to be one or two fella's giving a lad abuse,
    I don't do it myself but there's always one or two.
    However when he gave the gseture he did so to the whole travelling support as a whole, this in turn enraged the likes of myself who normally would just watch the game in a civilised manner and i like a massive proprortion of other ''quiet'' fans became involved in the booing and chanting and rightly so IMO!.

So basically he did'nt recieve any more slack then a regular player who recieves until after he made the gesture, the way the fans reacted is no differant to what yourselfves or any other club for that matter would have reacted at the time!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Abusing a player because of his performances is one thing, personal abuse about him, his family and where he comes from is uncalled for. That is what got Billy upset. And he was getting sustained abuse before he reacted.
    It was an unacceptable reaction by a professional footballer, who should have known better, and Billy said as much, but if ye think giving him personal abuse is ok.......I thought we were above that sort of ****e.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    Abusing a player because of his performances is one thing, personal abuse about him, his family and where he comes from is uncalled for. That is what got Billy upset. And he was getting sustained abuse before he reacted.
    It was an unacceptable reaction by a professional footballer, who should have known better, and Billy said as much, but if ye think giving him personal abuse is ok.......I thought we were above that sort of ****e.
    Anyone who said something about his family is an embarrassment to GUFC.
    However i didn't think the abuse was at that level by any stretch of the imagination so i persume you heard someone refer to his family Al?
    Otherwise it's a pretty serious accusation.

Leech was out of line,no question and should be disciplined.
    However bit was low moment for the Club overall with supporters and players at each others throats.Sligo probably enjoyed that.
    Onwards and upwards.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    However i didn't think the abuse was at that level by any stretch of the imagination so i presume you heard someone refer to his family Al?
    I had a friend in the away section, who has being going to League of Ireland games for 20 years, and he said he hadn't heard abuse like it in an awful long time. And one of the club staff must have heard something too, because it was relaid to Billy.

Certain people obviously think nothing of what comes out of their mouths at a game and feel justified by the fact that they've paid their way. I know the majority aren't like that, but these "supporters" have to be weeded out or let know that this sort of carry on is unacceptable.

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    I had a friend in the away section, who has being going to League of Ireland games for 20 years, and he said he hadn't heard abuse like it in an awful long time. And one of the club staff must have heard something too, because it was relaid to Billy.

Certain people obviously think nothing of what comes out of their mouths at a game and feel justified by the fact that they've paid their way. I know the majority aren't like that, but these "supporters" have to be weeded out or let know that this sort of carry on is unacceptable.

I was shocked by the actions of some 'supporters' who have been around Terryland for years and who were not the 3 or 4 youngsters giving abuse as referred to by gilberto earlier. The problem with weeding them out is that while everyone will point the finger at the Burberry Muppet how many will point to some of the 'stalwarts' of United's suport?
    The only saving grace for me personally on a night of shame was that I didn't bring my young children to experience such venom.

We must unite and support the team, including the new manager.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

Your friend has never attended a match in Oriel Park, Al. He must be a Monaghan supporter !
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 21/04/2008 at 7:38 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Only at United !
    ??????????????

75 Posts
    I heard the references to his family and especially his father and was disgusted by it and actually confronted some people before Mark reacted. He was also told to f back to Dublin, called a dublin w*nker and worse. As Terry Lander said it wasnt the young clowns that were firing the worst of the abuse but they shouldnt have been allowed anywhere near the GUST Bus as there was 3/4 spoiling for a ruck even with their own all night,

The sligo stewarding wasnt great but the only fans spoiling for trouble were a few of our own some of whom should know better.

Ive said it here already we need to get rid of the personalised abuse both here and at the games.The support on saturday night was brilliant for 70% of the game but that will all be overshadowed by what followed. We need to get behind the new manager and team from now until the end of the season so what happened on saturday should be sorted internally and people need to realise there was wrong on both sides.
    Last edited by gufct; 21/04/2008 at 7:42 AM.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Imagine the scenario.

You are from Galway, playing for Shamrock Rovers vs Bohemians. Bohs are hammering you 3-0. You haven't won in your last seven matches. You give the Rovers fans the finger.

I would imagine that supporters chanting "F**k off back to Galway" would be the least of your worries.

Of course he was told to "f**k off back to Dublin". What do you expect ?

Imagine the scenario.

You are from Galway, playing for Shamrock Rovers vs Bohemians. Bohs are hammering you 3-0. You haven't won in your last seven matches. You give the Rovers fans the finger.

I would imagine that supporters chanting "F**k off back to Galway" would be the least of your worries.

Of course he was told to "f**k off back to Dublin". What do you expect ?
    Imagine the scenario. You claim to be a United SUPPORTER. You hurl personal abuse at your own players and square up to opposing fans and their stewards in a threatening manner. You then refuse to listen to a man (Billy) who has given his heart and soul to the club you say you love and shout at him too.
    What DO you expect?

I would expect that anyone who behaved in such a manner would be reported to the club.

The phone number of the office is (091) 767336.

75 Posts
    Pa take off the blinkers those insults were fired at him long before he ever reacted and you should know that better than anyone.Its time to bury this but putting all the blame on Mark is a joke.

The best way for this to be sorted is internally and maybe a meeting between a rep of the supporters Jeff,Mark & Nick. The personalised abuse has to stop its something that has gotten way out of hand and GUST/GUFC should make a statement condemning it
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

The abuse of Mark Leech has been going on for weeks by a couple of **** heads. Usually backed up by 10 hard men 12 yeadr olds. Mostly personal, nothing to do with what he does on the pitch. The gardai had a word with them during the Shamrock Rovers game. The usual started on Sat night, and the sheep, half of whom had been on the **** since one o'clock, followed. It was nothing short of a disgrace and anyone who tries to justify it is doing GUFC or genuine supporters no favours. Leech was also wayout of line in his reaction. I hope the stewards & Gardai will be enforcing the "ground rules" on friday night, about abusive language. What are the going to do if another "Dub b'stard" is appointed manager to-day!

I would expect that anyone who behaved in such a manner would be reported to the club.

The phone number of the office is (091) 767336.
    I intent to. Thanks for the phone number (which I already had) but I am calling in person.

Well done, Terry-Lander. People as you described above have no place at our club.

If supporters here have a problem with anything that happened on Saturday night, contact the club directly and let them take action.

The phone number is posted above.

I had headed for the exit before Leech incident kicked off. I left because one or two muppets who travelled from Galway were incapable of either watching the match or having any respect for ANYONE.

One young lad accompanied by his pubescent bimbo made several attempts to "rise" the home support, repeatedly parading in front of them. He wore a white shirt in the first half and a Liverpool tracksuit top for the second. He came back at 0-1 and made an attempt to get the burberry guy going. It worked immediately. I headed for the exit and had a perfect view of Cretaro's goal. Following this Wes was harshly dealt with for both the penalty award and the red card. Fair play to the Sligo support for applauding him off.

Those who facilitated the trip to Sligo of those mutton blocks who alligned themselves to the away support need to have a look at whether it's worth organising away support at all. One or two did nothing but a great disservice to the club. And there's no denying it spoiled it for genuine supporters and those who brought younger fans (- the real future of the club -if it has one).

The Sligo stewarding was low key and generally okay, but they let a few local "hards" (who were much older that the Galway based muppets) into what was supposedly the "away" section. Why bother having a barrier if it isn't properly operated? A father of a Galway United player tried very early on in the game to get something done about what the Sligo lads were up to , but his request was ignored.

As Tir Oliean pointed out above we were well in it up to the the first goal. As he did before in Sligo's promotion season, Kuduzovic showed true class and from there our heads dropped. Up to that point the locals were very restless. I thought Fenn and especially McCulloch were the pick of our lads up to that.

I know nothing about the Leech incident. For me if you abuse your own player it says more about you than the player and it achieves nothing. I admired Sligo's Brian Cash's courage in reappearing for the second half. He was slaughtered by his own "supporters". But he's never been popular up there & as soon as he was withdrawn, Sligo took control.

Good luck to Mark Leech and any one else who wears my teams colours. Any fool who thinks abusing him or any other player will improve his game shows nothing but his own ignorance.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    The abuse of Mark Leech has been going on for weeks by a couple of **** heads. Usually backed up by 10 hard men 12 yeadr olds. Mostly personal, nothing to do with what he does on the pitch. The gardai had a word with them during the Shamrock Rovers game. The usual started on Sat night, and the sheep, half of whom had been on the **** since one o'clock, followed. It was nothing short of a disgrace and anyone who tries to justify it is doing GUFC or genuine supporters no favours. Leech was also wayout of line in his reaction. I hope the stewards & Gardai will be enforcing the "ground rules" on friday night, about abusive language. What are the going to do if another "Dub b'stard" is appointed manager to-day!
    Guys im starting to wonder do all the supporters getting on to mark leech need glasses !!! The guy is a proper skillfull player tecknicly very good.He might come across lazy or that he is not trying but i garentee if he is given the proper supply he would put the ball in the net every time.. every body is raving about young malloy's goal against cork and it was a good goal but it took the awareness of leech to set him up..there have been "some lazy looking players" on pitches all across europe but give them the ball and they will probaly turn on some magic or score goals.. Brady Henry Berbatov to name a few.. I do not put Leech in there bracket but maybe friday night watch him play and dont listen to the guy beside you.

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    The Sligo stewarding was low key and generally okay, but they let a few local "hards" (who were much older that the Galway based muppets) into what was supposedly the "away" section. Why bother having a barrier if it isn't properly operated? A father of a Galway United player tried very early on in the game to get something done about what the Sligo lads were up to , but his request was ignored.
    The stewarding in the Showgrounds is a joke, I don't think anyone would claim otherwise. It was planned to have Galway United fans in the first few sections of the blue stand, that however changed(and it shouldn't have) when the kids from the local club, who were invited to the game, arrived and took up a lot of that section. In my opinion, they should have been the one's to be moved down further keeping the front section for GUFC fans only, and any Rovers fans should have had to walk behind the red stand to get to bottom of Jinks if they wanted which would mean that only Galway fans would be in/walking past other Galway fans, that's what proper segregation is like in a ground. But I don't decide this.

That doesn't however justify the reactions of some supporters, one of whom is on here and knows who he is, after we scored our second goal. For such a 'leading' figure, he was very unprofessional "demanding" that Rovers fans are moved immediately.

The stewarding in Sligo always seems to be criticised. Will the FAI match observer report on this. It seems crazy that clubs like ourselves and others will get fined 100 euro for the incorrect filling in of teamsheets, yet the potential harm that may be inflicted on supporters goes without mention which seems to be the case with this reoccuring theme.

Quote Originally Posted by Tribesman View Post
    The stewarding in Sligo always seems to be criticised. Will the FAI match observer report on this. It seems crazy that clubs like ourselves and others will get fined 100 euro for the incorrect filling in of teamsheets, yet the potential harm that may be inflicted on supporters goes without mention which seems to be the case with this reoccuring theme.
    I did see a couple of FAI representatives walking past before the match and they didn't look happy, I wouldn't be surprised if we are fined tbh.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast