Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Pictures St Pats V Linfield

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive
    Not one single person around me thought it was offenseive. personally thought it was funny. But then I wasn't singing Up the'RA
    Last edited by Dodge; 16/04/2008 at 7:31 PM. Reason: unfortunate typo

Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive. For what its worth we had a great day out. Spent the day in Drogheda and was thoroughly enjoyable except for the result.
    Who's being abusive? I just think it's kinda silly, certainly not offensive to me, neither is singing Rule Brittania (yawn), GSTQ (yawn). I have to say that seeing the picture in the paper this morning my perception was that whoever was wearing it was intending to be offensive rather than humerous.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Lads, dont go there. Think before you post.

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    Sensationalist nonsense by the irish media. A few scuffles outside the away end, 4 arrests and one minor injury and it makes the front page. No doubt, the daily radio chat shows will milk it for a good hour and the usual comments regarding football fans will appear.

20 times more anti-social behaviour at weekends in the city but thats never seems to get a mention.

Pity they didnt write front page articles on all the games which have passed off peacefully so far and all the relationships that seem to been built as a result.
    Its not sensationalist nonsense by the Irish media. Its the Independent and The Herald so its hard to classify them as media.

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    Who's being abusive? I just think it's kinda silly, certainly not offensive to me, neither is singing Rule Brittania (yawn), GSTQ (yawn). I have to say that seeing the picture in the paper this morning my perception was that whoever was wearing it was intending to be offensive rather than humerous.
    You asked me who is being abusive yet in your original post you referred to someone that you clearly did not know as a fool. I can assure you that it was not meant to be offensive in any way, was meant as humorous. As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. It was a harmless bit of fun and honestly nothing more than that.

As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. .
    Sweet Buddha - you've swallowed the whole American right-wing 'we're in a war, Goddam it !' nonesense hook, line and trawler....

Yet no doubt you'd be the first to claim 'The Troubloes' weren't a war.

You can rest easy at night though - safe in the knowledge that Osama Bin Laden doesn't even know where Norn Iron is...

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Its the Independent and The Herald so its hard to classify them as media.
    Correct!

Come on lads, lets not turn this isnt a massive slagging match. No doubt a few hacks are browsing the web looking for another nothing story to put food on the table.

We are all football people here. Keep it like that. The comments about the mask are silly. The guy has mentioned that no offence was intended. A few pats lads work with me and they have had nothing but positive remarks about the vast majority of the fans that attended the game. It showed that a combined league is the future and that it should be no problems in terms of fans.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    And he'd be right, they were 'Troubles' not a war. Two armies were not engaged in conflict, two countries were not engaged in conflict - it as more a continuous uprising, a revolution, but certainly wasn't a war.
    One side may believe it was a war against an occupying force (and I'd subscribe to that to be honest) but a war, in the purest (war? pure?) sense of the word it was not
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

You asked me who is being abusive yet in your original post you referred to someone that you clearly did not know as a fool. I can assure you that it was not meant to be offensive in any way, was meant as humorous. As I said my mate had an Osama Bin Laden mask on, someone that is at war with my country. It was a harmless bit of fun and honestly nothing more than that.
    Thin skin David if you consider that 'abusive'. As I said, I didn't personally find it offensive but neither remotely funny. Ridiculous maybe but I didn't laugh.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

this fella is a bit to old to be carrying on like that,
    must be in his mid 50s
    wanna cop himself on, scumbag.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by The Man Himself; 17/04/2008 at 11:09 AM.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Sweet Buddha - you've swallowed the whole American right-wing 'we're in a war, Goddam it !' nonesense hook, line and trawler....

You can rest easy at night though - safe in the knowledge that Osama Bin Laden doesn't even know where Norn Iron is...
    He knows where it is - he's hiding in a cave just outside Aldergrove

A bit like some other people I know...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    And he'd be right, they were 'Troubles' not a war. Two armies were not engaged in conflict, two countries were not engaged in conflict - it as more a continuous uprising, a revolution, but certainly wasn't a war.
    One side may believe it was a war against an occupying force (and I'd subscribe to that to be honest) but a war, in the purest (war? pure?) sense of the word it was not
    I think you'd want to do some reading Boy.

Even the British authorities privately acknowledged that the Troubles was a war (as documented in minutes revealed under the 30 year rule on state secrets).

"Two countries were not engaged in a conflict" - so was the Irish Civil War also not a war? Was the American Civil War not a war?
    DCFC

How-ya lad's, Im new to this site but have been peeking my nose in for some time now. Im prity sure that this bloke http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Pr...FA136BC8ECAB26

has that Stone Island badge on his left arm. This is normally worn by self proclaimed "hooligans" who attach themselves to clubs and create a "firm". I'd say this chap came down looking for trouble and was deterimed to get it regardless of it being with Pat's fans, the Garda or Linfield fans.
    We'll never die, we'll never die

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    "Two countries were not engaged in a conflict" - so was the Irish Civil War also not a war? Was the American Civil War not a war?
    Well, as the name suggests, they were actually. Maybe we should ditch the 'Troubles' tag and just call it the Northern/North of Ireland Civil War?
    Anyway, you live there, I don't, so I respect the fact you are more au fait with the situation.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Well, as the name suggests, they were actually. Maybe we should ditch the 'Troubles' tag and just call it the Northern/North of Ireland Civil War?
    Anyway, you live there, I don't, so I respect the fact you are more au fait with the situation.
    The Troubles is mush easier thanNorthern/North of/Occupied Six Counties of Ireland Civil War.

And also, Nationalists wouldn't consider it a civil war at all, as the fight was against a percieved occupying force.
    DCFC

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    The Troubles is mush easier thanNorthern/North of/Occupied Six Counties of Ireland Civil War.

And also, Nationalists wouldn't consider it a civil war at all, as the fight was against a percieved occupying force.
    I think your use of the word 'perceived' is sums it up perfectly...for some it was the Troubles etc. for others a War.... let's face it from 1939-1945 we in the Republic managed to survive the 'emergency' when the rest of the world was caught up in a World war!!

Quote Originally Posted by Billy-Green View Post
    How-ya lad's, Im new to this site but have been peeking my nose in for some time now. Im prity sure that this bloke http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Pr...FA136BC8ECAB26

has that Stone Island badge on his left arm. This is normally worn by self proclaimed "hooligans" who attach themselves to clubs and create a "firm". I'd say this chap came down looking for trouble and was deterimed to get it regardless of it being with Pat's fans, the Garda or Linfield fans.
    Picture is not showing up for me but if it is the guy with the bloodied face I can assure you he is not a self confessed hooligan and is a regular at Linfield games.

Fair enough, that was my perception anyway, i suppose i shouldnt tarnish the lad with the same brush as the rest of the "hooligans". That badge is associated with trouble makers so by displaying it he is open to be classed as one. Unfortunately there are plenty of regular trouble makers at alot of clubs.
    We'll never die, we'll never die

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123