Thread: Pictures St Pats V Linfield

reder
    Sensationalist nonsense by the irish media. A few scuffles outside the away end, 4 arrests and one minor injury and it makes the front page. No doubt, the daily radio chat shows will milk it for a good hour and the usual comments regarding football fans will appear.

20 times more anti-social behaviour at weekends in the city but thats never seems to get a mention.

Pity they didnt write front page articles on all the games which have passed off peacefully so far and all the relationships that seem to been built as a result.

Seen the picture of the preson wearing a queen Liz mask, but the person to the left on the picture......where do you buy an ugly chav bitch mask?

57 Posts
    It was mentioned in the Sports bulletin on Morning Ireland at about 8am this morning.

Thankfully Con Murphy was doing the bulletin and basically rubbished the Indo report and the hyperbole/nonsense being spouted by the host.

He highlighted that both photos in the press were of the same bloke - and also made the point that more people are probably arrested at pop concerts or in town on a night out than there were at the game last night. Also made the case that these incidents on the whole are as rare as hens teeth and it shouldn't put people off going to games.

He did a bloody good job considering who he's working against - I expect something following on from this on MNS next week
    Kom Igen, FCK...

http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2196

16/04/2008 [11:04]
    ST PATS THANKS FANS FOR PATIENCE & CO-OPERATION AT SETANTA CUP
    Last night St Patrick’s Athletic hosted over 800 travelling Linfield fans to Richmond Park. This travelling fan base, one of the largest to visit Richmond Park in recent years behaved impeccably over the night and gave their team great support.

One incident where two Linfield fans were ejected from the ground following a scuffle with gardai was captured by the press and the resulting images shown in the national media may have given the impression of more widespread trouble occurring at the match which was simply not the case. The match night arrangements ensured that fans were successfully segregated at the game itself and also when leaving the stadium.

While St Pat’s fans were maintained in the ground Linfield fans were escorted directly to their buses. A small group of Dublin youths did appear in the area as the match finished, these were not supporters of the club and had not attended the game. With the home support being kept in the ground and the street outside the ground clear this group was easily identifiable to the gardai and were ordered to move on. One of this group was subsequently arrested for criminal damage to a wing mirror of a car. No further arrests or instances of match-related trouble are understood to have been reported to the gardai in the area.

St Patrick’s Atletic Football Club would like to thank both sets of fans for their patience and co-operation as well as our match night security teams and local gardai for their excellent work on the night.
    Poor show from the Independent. Would be nice to see the journalist who wrote the piece backtracking a bit from the sensationalism and giving the other (accurate) side to the story in another article. Wonder how much freedom he has to do so?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

There was more trouble at the Glentoran match but there was no pictures so it was a non story for the media.

On a day when a former President of our country is buried they print to this? An article on Paddy Hillary RIP would be more appropriate and sell as many if not more papers. Pretty sad really. never have and ever will buy the Indo, their treatment of the League is very much akin to the red top paparazzi twisting what they can out of a story.

Did the GA match where the Caherconlish Taliban put a halt to an U18 match in Limerick make the newspapers?
    Last edited by Tir Oilean; 16/04/2008 at 10:55 AM.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

A few pics from last night here.

No trouble inside ground apart from some barstool republicans and their ilk tryijng to stir it up.

Great game from a Pats' fan point of view.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

The whole thing is one of these in one of these created by these

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    It was mentioned in the Sports bulletin on Morning Ireland at about 8am this morning.

Thankfully Con Murphy was doing the bulletin and basically rubbished the Indo report and the hyperbole/nonsense being spouted by the host.

He highlighted that both photos in the press were of the same bloke - and also made the point that more people are probably arrested at pop concerts or in town on a night out than there were at the game last night. Also made the case that these incidents on the whole are as rare as hens teeth and it shouldn't put people off going to games.

He did a bloody good job considering who he's working against - I expect something following on from this on MNS next week
    Fair play to the man.

Much more of the same from the Herald. ridiculous, sensationalist and OTT.
    good, articulated response from St Pats re the crowd and troublemakers hanging around outside looking for trouble.
    Its article's like this that drags the image of the Lge back into the late 80's and 90's
    "if I close my eyes, its not illegal...."

They have gone to town on this one. I can imagine panic setting in at the Herald when they realised they weren't getting the fight they wanted. Never mind, run with the picture of guards in riot, sorry RIOT gear. And the exact same photos of the Linfield nosebleed guy. Most people will only see the headline and photos and imagine that all Hell broke loose.

Lowlife, cowardly journalism and potentially deeply hurtful to the league
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    They have gone to town on this one. I can imagine panic setting in at the Herald when they realised they weren't getting the fight they wanted. Never mind, run with the picture of guards in riot, sorry RIOT gear. And the exact same photos of the Linfield nosebleed guy. Most people will only see the headline and photos and imagine that all Hell broke loose.

Lowlife, cowardly journalism and potentially deeply hurtful to the league
    We should all get off our arses and do something about it. A liverpool style boycott and protest at games is in order me thinks

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    We should all get off our arses and do something about it. A liverpool style boycott and protest at games is in order me thinks

Just had a flick through it there - it's comical in a way. They're so desperate to fill space that they even printed the quote from Jim Kerr that exposes their story as sensationalist tripe - 4 Glentoran fans get arrested at the Pats game and not one line about it in the papers.

Quote from some local resident.
    Some Gardai had their hats knocked off in a scuffle with a Linfield fan. They had to bring more over to help. It was terrible. It was just awful to see.
    And apparently Lincoln fans were also there and left through the Inchicore end
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Unhappy

For those of you that don't know The Hearld (De Heraduld) is owned and operated by Independent News and Media that publish The Irish Independent.

Both are tabloid newspapers although one of them thinks that it isn't.

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson View Post
    I bought the Indo this morning and to be honest, if anybody looked at the 'story' with any kind of objectivity you could only come to the conclusion that a few ****ed up lads had a bit of aggro. Nothing more than you might see on an average Saturday night in Inchicore anyway.

They (Indo) have 7 pictures from the match. None of them have any football in them. One of them with Tardelli (hero!) sitting in his seat. Two of them are the same (front page and back page!!), one on the inside of some fool wearing a Queen Elizabeth mask (why?) and the last on the back page is of the fella that they've already two of the same pictures printed only in a different position.

In fact looking at it more closely, the lad beside the one being dragged out looks like he's the one in the other picture with two Gardai kneeling on him (printed twice). Front AND back pages of the Indo for two idiots having a row and it's the Gardai that spill the blood.
    Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive. For what its worth we had a great day out. Spent the day in Drogheda and was thoroughly enjoyable except for the result.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Any need to be abusive? It was actually me, was done for a bit of a laugh and certainly not meant as offensive. For what its worth we had a great day out. Spent the day in Drogheda and was thoroughly enjoyable except for the result.
    So it'll be grand for some Pats fans or whoever to turn up to the next game at Windsor Park sporting a Gerry Adams mask then?

Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    So it'll be grand for some Pats fans or whoever to turn up to the next game at Windsor Park sporting a Gerry Adams mask then?

Personally couldn't care less. My mate had one of Osama Bin Laden. What does that mean? It was a bit of a laugh ffs although I do fail to see how you can compare the Queen with a terrorist.

Some would say that the British Army in NI were state sponsored Terrorists. And BTW Gerry Adams is a politician not a terrorist

hey davy i hope you werent wearing that queen mask in mother hughes

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    hey davy i hope you werent wearing that queen mask in mother hughes
    I think I actually might have been at one point. Guess what nobody got offended though. Had a brilliant day in there, as usual.