Thread: Dave Langan Testimonial - Petition to the FAI

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar

Thumbs up Dave Langan Testimonial - Petition to the FAI

Dave Langan was capped for the Republic of Ireland 26 times.He is now registered disabled suffering from crippling back and knee pain as a result of his playing career.

Dave Langan is only 51. He is an ex-footballer who can barely walk and barely earn a living.
    As a result of his situation, Republic of Ireland Football Fans have united to start a campaign calling for a testimonial for Dave.

We need you to help us show the FAI that Dave Langan is still considered an Irish hero, and that he deserves a testimonial for the commitment he has shown to Ireland.

Please sign the petition, you do not need to register and please forward the link to as many people as possible.

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/t...gan/index.html

If someone could make this thread a sticky perhaps?
    Thanks
    GT
    Last edited by Green Tribe; 15/04/2008 at 7:46 PM.

Signed petition, but did not make donation, as it apears to be a charge for using site?
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Signed petition, but did not make donation, as it apears to be a charge for using site?
    Thanks for signing. Just to clarify for everyone, the Donation is NOT for Dave Langan, but for the Ipetitions site.

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis View Post
    Thanks for signing. Just to clarify for everyone, the Donation is NOT for Dave Langan, but for the Ipetitions site.
    I got an email confirming my signature is added to the list

Fair play to you and the ybig lads for this
    Last edited by Greenforever; 19/04/2008 at 7:46 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    I got an email confirming my signature is added to the list

Fair play to you and the ybig lads for this

Thanks, please email the petition to as many people as you can

446 Posts

Exclamation Don't forget to sign for Dave L.

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis View Post
    Also it's not compulsory to make a donation, so get signing, please!

Just wondering if this had been, or should be, fwd.to Derby, Birmingham & Oxford MB's, amongst others?

Though understand if people want to keep 'in-house'.
    Good luck whatever.

It has indeed. In addition the Oxford Mail did a write up on it last week. The petition is approaching 900 signatures now. The Oxford fans have helped immensely. Yes, please note, we only need signatures, ipetitions ask people to donate to their site, this is optional and is not donating to Dave Langan. We only need signatures.
    Forward the link to all your contacts. Thanks.
    There is also a group on bebo and facebook.
    GT

Just to let you all know we hit 1000 signatures, so thank you. Also, please keep forwarding the petition link to as many people as possible. Thanks

446 Posts

David Langan reminder!

A huge Bump for this (Perhaps we should do it daily, until everyone on here signs?);Thanks If you can spare the time to do so.....

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    Dave Langan was capped for the Republic of Ireland 26 times.He is now registered disabled suffering from crippling back and knee pain as a result of his playing career.

Dave Langan is only 51. He is an ex-footballer who can barely walk and barely earn a living.
    As a result of his situation, Republic of Ireland Football Fans have united to start a campaign calling for a testimonial for Dave.

We need you to help us show the FAI that Dave Langan is still considered an Irish hero, and that he deserves a testimonial for the commitment he has shown to Ireland.

Please sign the petition, you do not need to register and please forward the link to as many people as possible.

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/t...gan/index.html

If someone could make this thread a sticky perhaps?
    Thanks
    GT

Signed.

However, there are some awful eejits signing the petition, some of them acting like the FAI kneecapped him or something.

****FAI GET THE FINGER OUT OF UR A*S and give DAVID the testimonial he deserves after all he done for the FAI he played great football everytime he wore the Ireland jersery its people like him that make me proud to be irish and its big companies like the FAI that make me sick to even think they could treat fellow irish man like this!!! DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT****
    How about you guys down at the FAD get off your fat asses and arrange a testimonial for a guy who gave his all to the Irish team and is now in need of some help. It's a small gesture for a man who wore the green with pride. Does the fact he represented Ireland mean anything to those who unfortunately run the game in Ireland?
    FAI - Hang you heads in shame.
    An awful lot of Oxford signatures as well, while its nice that they've signed it, they presumably haven't given him a testimonial themselves and the FAI will probably discount the opinions of people who wouldnt be able to turn up anyway.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

446 Posts
    At least the 'eejits' are pointing out the fact to our esteemed FAI!

& DL played for Ireland longer than any club side and the FAI are his national association!

According to Star this morning Davy is to be honoured as an Eircom Legend at the Serbia game. Maybe the chance to give some verbal suport to the cause.

Suggested chant

"All we are saying is give Davy a testimonial"

if this could be started off every 5 mins or so it might get the message across!

1223 signatures now, shame that the sigs are starting to slow down.
    Dave will be guest of honour at the Serbia game at half time, so make sure he hears us!

Got to meet Dave himself after the game, lovely man. He signed my dave langan t-shirt, as did JD, BK, PB
    Keep the signatures coming.....

Have to agree with Gt, Dave is one of the nicest people I have had the pleasure of meeting. We handed aout a few thousand flyers about's situation at the game, so hopefully people are more aware now.

1783 signatures now lads!

Dave Langan

Dave was a great right full , so sad to see his present predicament.

Make sure you sign and forward on the petition smasher.....

2,052 signatures now!

GT

446 Posts
    Know it's not a deserved testimonial game but hasn't a tribute dinner been announced on Oct.11?

Any further details or link?

Yes, cheers Ardee Bhoy....no testimonial but the FAI have announced a benefit dinner for Dave Langan on Oct 11th , Burlington Hotel, Dublin. Still seats available. Would be great to get some foot.ie people along. Please contact Julie O'Leary at FAI as soon as possible. All proceeds go to Dave including donations from the auctions. Looking to get current players and ex-players to go so if anyone has contact with any of these, please forward on these details. Thanks to everyone who signed the petition and helped spread the word.

http://www.fai.ie/davelangan/
    http://www.fai.ie/pdf/Dave_Langan_Tribute_Dinner.pdf

GT