634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Even your drinks are sectarian

BOOOOOOooooooooo!

POTY!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Even your drinks are sectarian

BOOOOOOooooooooo!

The steward rerouted the bottle off the pitch. The steward obviously doesn't know that the bottle was taking it's tradional route
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post

The steward rerouted the bottle off the pitch. The steward obviously doesn't know that the bottle was taking it's tradional route
    Quality. Nominated for POTM.

Who? This steward? Wearing what colour?

Your lot are taking over

Booooooo

634 Posts
    If you were to pick an all Island 11 who would be in it>?

thought we were great on the pitch
    both set of fans were very well behaved during and after the game
    didn't hear anything out of the ordinary

seen 2 lads getting thrown into a garda van before the game but apart from that it was
    grand .
    one incident blows the whole thing out of proportion imo

Breaking News from Evening Herald Late Edition: HUMOUR BREAKS OUT BETWEEN PATS AND LINFIELD SUPPORTERS - NO ONE IS SAFE
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by inchicore_saint View Post
    Hold on lads I never said I agreed with the local hoods chanting up the IRA.Theese lads have no brains,as another poster pointed out they also sang "were from Ireland and were better then you".The point I am making is the word sectarian is used to loosely like a few drunk Linfield fans who clashed with the Gards because they refused to be searched was described by the media as sectarian trouble.
    Too true. Sectarian chants are awfull ugly, but chants like GSTQ, Rule Britannia, Fields of Athenry, Boys Of the Old Brigade etc are not sectarian.
    As posted before they are political, while chants with 'Hun' 'Fenian' etc are sectarian.
    In this day and age it seems like any side that sings a politcal orientated song is lambasted as sectarian which is ridiculous. With the miss use of the word it demeens its significance when there is an actual sectarian event.

246 Posts
    I don’t want to take away from St Pats too much, they played extremely well, although I feel they need an out and out goalscorer, if Thompson was up front for you, he would have scored 3 or 4 alone.

On the crowd thing (not the singing or chanting) is that support the normal support or would it be bigger, because I was expecting a far bigger support from St Pats?
    Hmm. I daresay if Quigley played up front for Linfield he'd score a bucketful in the IL, so I wouldn't be too sure about that. Pats finishing was astonishingly bad last night, I can't remember us missing so many good opportunities in one game. For a long time it looked like the kind of game where it would be one nil with five minutes to go and Linfield would grab a scrappy equaliser from a corner or something.

On the crowd, very disappointing on the Pats side. I'd expect more than that against Cobh Ramblers on Friday. It would be sad to think that the prospect of trouble put a lot of people off coming. I thought both sets of fans were fairly well behaved really. I was in the main stand and didn't hear the IRA chants spoken about earlier from the Pats end. (I did think I heard chants of "Whats it like to serve the Queen" though, which kind of tells you all you need to know about the knowledge of the people involved). Nothing out of order from the Linfield fans I didn't think (Rule Britannia though lads - nobody cares).
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

No you won't, but I'd ask everyone to leave it alone now. Next person who brings it up will receive a ban

WHat you make of the match Steve?
    Can you ban him for just not getting the point, and ignoring the 'wooshing' sound over his head...?

Rangers and Celtic are by far and way the biggest and best clubs in Scotland, should they play in England? No because they are Scottish sides.
    And once again *woooooossssh*

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Can you ban him for just not getting the point, and ignoring the 'wooshing' sound over his head...?
    If that was the case steve you'd be banned about at least ten times a week steve

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    What is your point then? Do you think England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland should merge together and have an All UK league?

Or England, Scotland & Wales join together and have an all British League?

What is this point I'm missing here?
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

What is your point then? Do you think England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland should merge together and have an All UK league?

Well some of the Welsh already play in England.

What difference is it if the Scots join them apart from the fact that turkeys will never vote for Christmas?

Quote Originally Posted by saint dog View Post
    thought we were great on the pitch
    both set of fans were very well behaved during and after the game
    didn't hear anything out of the ordinary

seen 2 lads getting thrown into a garda van before the game but apart from that it was
    grand .
    one incident blows the whole thing out of proportion imo
    Not sure were you stood in the ground or if you have read the rest of this thread but some of your support behaved extremely badly for an entire 90 mins .There was lots of out of the ordinary stuff , unless you call people from cork and longford " filthy prody hun scummy *******s " .

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    If you were to pick an all Island 11 who would be in it>?
    Australia
    New Zealand (North and South)
    Fiji
    Indonesia
    Cuba
    Jamaica
    Hawaii
    Ibiza
    Iceland
    Faroes
    Antartica (controversial)

Why do you ask?

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Australia
    New Zealand (North and South)
    Fiji
    Indonesia
    Cuba
    Jamaica
    Hawaii
    Ibiza
    Iceland
    Faroes
    Antartica (controversial)

Why do you ask?
    With the omission of a smiley, I'll take it you think I'm wumming so it doesn't matter.

If that was the case steve you'd be banned about at least ten times a week steve
    Touché El Dodge....

The point is - you were asking why Linfield should join the league of another country.

Yet the person you asked this to had made it clear that he was talking about an all-island league. Not Linfield joining the EL, or the Republic's league, but a new/separate league for all of Ireland. One that would be the ownership of both 'countries' and, at the same time, the property of neither 'country'.

So no need for Linfield to join a different country's league. S'not difficult...

Sorry i read through this thread, shock horror Linfield fans singing GSTQ and historic Blighty Empire crap, they do it at every game at every venue. Naturally some fans from a different background will react, whats good for the goose.........

When an element of Pats fans chanted IRA, where they referring to the Stormont 'Chuckle brothers' brigade or another movement ? They would need to be more specific if they want to wind up the Linfield fans...
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast