Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup Round 3

Quote Originally Posted by inchicore_saint View Post
    Watching Quigley for Pats is like watching Robbie Keane for Ireland.Both players have so much ability but sometimes their finishing lets them down.
    The amount of times he failed to see a pass on to one of his team mates last night was very frustrating for anyone watching him.

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    ALL IRELAND league.

ALL IRELAND....

What different country???
    You can call it all ireland if you want, it still doesn't take away the fact that it is two different countries that take up this island.

For instance, I spend GBP, you spend Euros, I pay tax's to the British Government, you pay tax's to the Irish Government, Our head of state is the Queen, your's is President Mary McAlease. Your speed is gauged in KMPH, ours is MPH etc etc.

I respect the fact that people can opt for the Irish nationality, that is their call and fine and dandy by me. But Northern Ireland is a seperate entity and until a referendum comes up and people agree for NI to become part of the Republic, then it is a seperate country.

No doubt I will get banned now for this post for what people will think is WUMMING, which is far from the truth.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by Stato View Post
    That's because GAA rules restrict violence to those on the pitch.
    Funnily enough I pointed out the scraps on the pitch for the GAA & that was the response. Did not really want to get into argument so kind of ended there.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    No doubt I will get banned now for this post for what people will think is WUMMING, which is far from the truth.
    No you won't, but I'd ask everyone to leave it alone now. Next person who brings it up will receive a ban

WHat you make of the match Steve?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    We're forced to play you in pre-season and that favours the LoI sides?!

Deluded.
    Actually you never played us in pre-season you played us after your league started.

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    You know perfectly well that's not the point.

Why wouldn't you want to do something to arrest the demise of the IL? In a more competative league, with standards gradually rising year on year?
    Rangers and Celtic are by far and way the biggest and best clubs in Scotland, should they play in England? No because they are Scottish sides.

Steve, give it up. You've made your point. If you think someones trying to wind you up, report the post.

Now back to the game...

Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Doesn't matter. It's incendiary and has obvious unsavoury overtones. EL fans couldn't sit in Windsor Park singing Amhrán na bhFiann.
    Yes they could and Cliftonville have done it many times.

What about the St Pats IRA songs? Or is that different?

82 Posts
    Actually you never played us in pre-season you played us after your league started.
    We had played one game this season (3 days before) and in previous years it was in pre-season.

By the way, re the highlighted word above, since you're so fond of the Queen, you could at least write in her English.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    "IRA" chants clearly audible on Setanta on a number of occassions. Sounded like more than a handful involved.

I wonder if those simpletons are aware that the IRA is now merely an ex-prisoner's social club. They'll be singing about the Peep o' Day Boys next...

The usual 'party songs' from Linfield too. Yawn....

Decent game though. Linfield's defence was like a swiss cheese. If only Pat's hadn't been taking lessons in finishing from their similarly-clad cousins at Arsenal, it would easily have been at least 4:0.

And how Gault ever got near an international jersey I'l never know after tonight.
    Gault played centre back, not his position and DJ is a d**k for putting himself their

Quote Originally Posted by Stato View Post
    That's because GAA rules restrict violence to those on the pitch.

I wasn't surprised at a few little scumbags using the match as an ocassion to shout sectarian chants, it shows their serious lack of education. I was more surprised that the Gardai and stewards didn't at least move them further away from the Linfield section and back down to the shed. They went to the trouble of ejecting a supporter for letting off a flare.

I thought Linfield's fans were excellent. I didn't notice any sectarian chants until they were goaded by the scumbags in the second half.

As for Linfield's on-field performance, I can only assume that wasn't their strongest team. That was probably the worst performance I've seen by a visiting team in Richmond in many years, even some of the non-league teams we've played in the cup made for tougher opponents than that.

Linfield where aweful and that was the worst performance I have seen in years.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Steve, give it up. You've made your point. If you think someones trying to wind you up, report the post.

Now back to the game...
    Sorry I was reading through the thread and replying without seeing any of your posts. Sorry about that.

St Pats are a very good side, who played well against a very inept Linfield side. It wasn’t our strongest side by any means, but it wasn’t a weak side either. David Jeffrey played a formation we never play, he played 4 or 5 players out of position as well. Our managers performance was pants to be nice.

I don’t want to take away from St Pats too much, they played extremely well, although I feel they need an out and out goalscorer, if Thompson was up front for you, he would have scored 3 or 4 alone.

We couldn’t pass 2 yards last night, we where beaten to the first ball and the 2nd ball. We didn’t test the keeper, who I thought wasn’t that good a keeper.

We never showed up, simple as that. We where extremely poor, St Pats played well and on another night we would have been licking our wounds with a 5 nil defeat.

As was chanted last night ‘You’ve got to come to Windsor’. I was impress with Pats, but I still don’t think they are better than ourselves, they just performed and we didn’t.

On the crowd thing (not the singing or chanting) is that support the normal support or would it be bigger, because I was expecting a far bigger support from St Pats?

Apart from the game, I had a good experience, our bus was bouncing, plenty of beer flowing, but it was controlled and very well behaved way.

I feel though I wont be back to an away match in the Setanta cup. Our chairman is threatening to let all buses leave Windsor and be organised by the club. This will be more expensive and less of an experience.

As was chanted last night ‘You’ve got to come to Windsor’. I was impress with Pats, but I still don’t think they are better than ourselves, they just performed and we didn’t.
    For crying out loud, what exactly does a team have to do to be better than Linfield in your books?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

On the crowd thing (not the singing or chanting) is that support the normal support or would it be bigger, because I was expecting a far bigger support from St Pats?
    No, we were down a fair few. Some of the papers here hyped it up to Love Ulster style riots and loads and loads of families weren't at the game. Tuesday night and the game on TV didn't help.

BTW we were missing 4/5 of our regulars too and a flu bug meant we had only 4 players on the bench, including our 40 year old goalkeeping coach.

Pats played really well last night and and should have won by a lot more. Fahey was outstanding.

Never saw Linfield play as poorly in a Setanta Cup game but they should still qualify with 2 home games left. Mannus is some keeper.

IRA chants by Pats fans clearly audible in the second half and made me cringe. Thought I heard someone call Jeffrey (presumably) "Oddjob" which is kind of funny.

Linfield chairman was on Morning Ireland this morning and came across well. Said he thought the Guards were a bit heavy handed and the 4 arrested caused trouble when it was discovered they had no tickets. He also said that he thought there were 4 Glens fans arrested at the Pats game last month and there was no mention of that in the media
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

No, we were down a fair few. Some of the papers here hyped it up to Love Ulster style riots and loads and loads of families weren't at the game. Tuesday night and the game on TV didn't help.

BTW we were missing 4/5 of our regulars too and a flu bug meant we had only 4 players on the bench, including our 40 year old goalkeeping coach.
    Matt Cooper has a piece yesterday evening about AIL and introduced it by saying something like "With trouble possible at tonights game between PAts and Linfied....".

FFS would love to have rung in and asked what evidence he based that assertion on.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    For crying out loud, what exactly does a team have to do to be better than Linfield in your books?
    One match doesn't determin if your better or not. Whist St Pats played well, they didn't look like world beaters either. A good side no doubt but nothing to make me any more fearful than if we where playing Derry City.

It's ashame that papers down their are as bad as the ones up here.

The chance of a riot or something happenin in the Linfield end was nil.

One person threw a fizzy orange bottle on the pitch. The Linfield support where quick to boo it and shout to knock it on the head.

One person threw a fizzy orange bottle on the pitch
    Even your drinks are sectarian

BOOOOOOooooooooo!