Thread: MNS 14 April discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Any translation here mucks?
    Here you go, sur -

'Ballroot' : Noun. Definition : See mirror.....

At least when he's gone to Livingstone we wont have to put up with Roddy Collins. One more failure and the guy will be back to coaching u12s hurling sides. "Expert opinions"? The guy has never said a straight word in his bloody life, blood sucking used car salesman.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    If you think "I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" is nothing then I'm glad I live a long way from you.
    Reading this thread makes me think I'd rather be a Hoop than a Culchie
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by depor View Post
    get a grip, it was nothing. sour grapes because they lost. how about wexford fans shouting abuse at red-heads, isnt that discriminatory. i couldnt care less what other people shout at games, wether thats right or wrong but i hate this finger-pointing holier-than-thou buzz.
    Passively condoning racism is the road to ruin.

"I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" implies that Pakistani's are somehow an inferior people.
    DCFC

291 Posts
    You sitting outside with your laptop again?
    Minding the sheep should any Harps fans pass through on their tractors on their way to Cork.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Minding the sheep should any Harps fans pass through on their tractors on their way to Cork.
    Why would that be now, sure we have our own fine fluffy sheep up here in Donegal, you'd never know what you would catch off ones outside the country (especially in Derry )

Queue Dahamsta and his delete button shortly, lets make the most of it while we can

Con Murphy is a legend btw.
    Last edited by Sam_Heggy; 15/04/2008 at 2:13 PM. Reason: meh

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Any one else think we should move all the racism stuff to another thread and get back on topic?

Con Murphy (our hero) wrote his entire MNS column this week in reply to the earlier part of this thread. I think that deserves further discussion.
    Agreed!

Good article by Con, replies to most of the issues raised in a direct and straightforward manner. Love the poll too:

Roddy Collins believes there are no players in the eircom League good enough for the Republic of Ireland squad. Do you agree?
    Yes
    No
    I never listen to Roddy Collins!

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    I know I've got an infraction for personal abuse before, but this guy is a total ballroot.
    Cant for the life of me see why you got an infraction for personal abuse cause your quite crap at it
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

Show gets better every week.

Fair play to Con Murphy for taking issues up with people. Takes balls in fairness.

Hopefully they'll show the Johnny Glynn mud-goal from Bishopstown in the early 90's on Raiders sometime
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by Baker View Post
    I never listen to Roddy Collins!
    Has 60% of the vote thus far. that's 72 votes

Quote Originally Posted by 6yardpunisha View Post
    Cant for the life of me see why you got an infraction for personal abuse cause your quite crap at it
    That's me told.

DCFC

Rico's fantastic wit again:
    "I'm sure the people of Letterkenny would not mind moving to Stranorlar or Ballybofey were it to ensure Ireland's qualification for South Africa. They wouldn't, would they? I mean, it's not as if we were asking them to move to Longford or somewhere like that is it? Ask not what your country and all that. "
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Rico's fantastic wit again:
    "I'm sure the people of Letterkenny would not mind moving to Stranorlar or Ballybofey were it to ensure Ireland's qualification for South Africa. They wouldn't, would they? I mean, it's not as if we were asking them to move to Longford or somewhere like that is it? Ask not what your country and all that. "
    it would be a bit cramped in fairness It would be funny to see though.

That post by Con Murphy is deliberately shifting the subject so that he can defend Collins. Of course it is reasonable to suggest that there are no eL players currently good enough for inclusion in the Ireland squad. We could argue about it, it's wholly misinformed, but it is a valid point of view.

The objection, as you well know Con, since you read this forum, is to the utterly dismissive and nakedly hostile manner in which it was made, and allowed to be made unchallenged, by someone to whose anti-eL agenda is clear to everyone, it seems, other than broadcast producers.

MNS may not be there to promote the league, but you are not there to facilitate a sustained one-man campaign against it either.

Otherwise, and with all that out of the way, a huge well done on the programme. Bigger studios and smaller egos please.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC View Post
    Fair play to Con Murphy for taking issues up with people. Takes balls in fairness.
    Absolutely. Fair play Con

291 Posts
    you'd never know what you would catch off ones outside the country (especially in Derry )
    Nope, but you'd know, no doubt.

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    Passively condoning racism is the road to ruin.

"I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" implies that Pakistani's are somehow an inferior people.
    I was at the game with Gavinzac and we were commenting on how odd it was that the announcer mentioned the racism thing 3 times(before, halftime, halfway throuhg second half). We were wondering why and cracking jokes as to if it was cos someone had screamed Foxy at a sub that came on.

We were in the same stand as the Cobh lads, down by the halfway line. I didnt hear nay of it, but couldnt really hear anything they sang tbh. I dunno if its something got to do with the way the sound travels or if they were really low.

We heard more of the rovers fans

Roddy Collins looked like he was bloated last night, kept touching his stomach and even rubbing his belt...must be all the bull trapped inside him.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    I was at the game with Gavinzac and we were commenting on how odd it was that the announcer mentioned the racism thing 3 times(before, halftime, halfway throuhg second half). We were wondering why and cracking jokes as to if it was cos someone had screamed Foxy at a sub that came on.

We were in the same stand as the Cobh lads, down by the halfway line. I didnt hear nay of it, but couldnt really hear anything they sang tbh. I dunno if its something got to do with the way the sound travels or if they were really low.

Correct. The Anti-Racism note was announced three times. The FAI like you to announce it before the game and at halftime. Failure to do so and it goes into the Ref's match report and the club gets punished. The third announcement halfway through the second half was at the request of the Event Controller as there were apparently comments made somewhere out there but by what supporters I do not know. Hope that clears it up a little for you.
    RamblersWeb

Cricket: The most boring farcical game to ever grace the planet.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post

I do the PA at our games and have been told to announce the Anti-Racisim message twice if not three times at every game. I usually do it early before the game and just again before the teams come onto the pitch, half time and sometimes during 2nd half.

Its an important message and the more often it is stated the quicker it will get through to the dumbasses who think it is cool to give racist abuse.

As for MNS I love it! Have it series linked on Sky coz have club committee meetings on Monday nights so am usually off dropping kids at my parents while it is on. Only got to catch up on it last night due to a mad busy week and was overcome with joy when I saw a certain Mr Lestor doing the "60". It has now been saved on the sky box so I can watch it over and over and over.

As for Con Murphy, thank God for someone with a sense of humour and knowledge of the game. I think in general the guests are great, Roddy wrecks my head but everyone else is grand. Have Liam Mackey on more though would be my suggestion. A funny guy with a love of the game.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast