Thread: MNS 14 April discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    So its OK to be a racist?
    only to the dubs
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 6yardpunisha View Post
    only to the dubs
    Seriously missing the point. It's not the Dubs that would be offended by that chant. You can't justify a racist chant on the basis that the Rovers fans misbehaved on a previous visit to Cobh.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

cop on, i dont sing at the games, but like what is said about us with refernce to the queen all that english lark, is that not considered racsist?? Rovers came into town last year destroyed pubs, kicked down barricades, everything, none of us complained not once. Now im not saying what the lads said is right or acceptable but the one time the rovers fans get something said about them they crib, i find that that amazing.

BTW many times on this forum i have said and still believe the rovers fans are the best in the country, their fantastic but i find this a bit OTT being honest.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    So its OK to be a racist?
    ffs lads its nothing dat doesnt go on at most clubs(outside of dublin)its been taken way out of context imo

its amazing wherever theres controversy theres outside in!!!

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    i aim to please

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Seriously missing the point. It's not the Dubs that would be offended by that chant. You can't justify a racist chant on the basis that the Rovers fans misbehaved on a previous visit to Cobh.
    misbehaved, try abusive, destructive and down right intimidating and no im not missing the point, they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct
    "Some weeks the lady is good looking and some weeks they're not. Our performance today would have been not the best looking bird but at least we got her in the taxi". - Ian Holloway

435 Posts
    misbehaved, try abusive, destructive and down right intimidating and no im not missing the point, they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct
    So now you're trying to justify racism because they're just as bad? Very mature.

It would look a whole lot better for ye if ye just said the chant was out of order, the offenders were asked to stop and if they're heard singing it again they'll be banned from the ground.

I'm no Rovers apologist either, I was sickened to hear a big group of Rovers casuals singing "..... ..... is a Hoop, is a Hoop, he kills coppers" while being escorted by the Gardai into the ground before the Bohs match.

Still no excuse for racism.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

So now you're trying to justify racism because they're just as bad? Very mature.

It would look a whole lot better for ye if ye just said the chant was out of order, the offenders were asked to stop and if they're heard singing it again they'll be banned from the ground.

I'm no Rovers apologist either, I was sickened to hear a big group of Rovers casuals singing "..... ..... is a Hoop, is a Hoop, he kills coppers" while being escorted by the Gardai into the ground before the Bohs match.

didnt hear it, wasnt involved in it, not a racist and quite mature btw

Quote Originally Posted by outside in View Post
    ffs lads its nothing dat doesnt go on at most clubs(outside of dublin)its been taken way out of context imo
    Whats the context then? And it only happens in Cork. Trust me I'm a dub...

Now im not saying what the lads said is right or acceptable but the one time the rovers fans get something said about them they crib, i find that that amazing
    The song didn't say anything about Rovers fans as far as I'm aware

they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct
    Its nothing got top with being politically correct. Its about not being rascist. Politics have nothing to do with it. And again, there isn't a single Dub that is offended by the sog because it mentions us

[quote=Dodge;921002]Whats the context then? And it only happens in Cork. Trust me I'm a dub...
    sorry i forgot wat good people ye are up there
    like i'd trust a dub

happy now

i did say i couldnt condone that sort of stuff and i dont. But i do think that this is being blown out of proportion.

Because people are saying "Rovers deserve it because they did blah blah" and "sure it happens at every ground" (which it doesn't)

The thread that was deleted was far more sensible with several posters saying it was an unfortunate incident.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Agreed.
    So your not one the ones touting McCourt to play for Norn Iron?
    Is Boco not an International?

238 Posts
    Or Cobh fans in general

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Or Cobh fans in general
    very harsh sammy boy

Bottom line is anyway, i wasnt there i didnt do it. Trying to defend my club by saying it wasnt at all acceptable, but i do feel it is being blown out of porportion.

435 Posts
    Bottom line is anyway, i wasnt there i didnt do it. Trying to defend my club by saying it wasnt at all acceptable, but i do feel it is being blown out of porportion.
    Fair play. That's the right attitude. It wouldn't have been blown out of proportion if other Cobh fans had taken your view.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    If you think "I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" is nothing then I'm glad I live a long way from you.
    Well apologies if that was sung, because its not on, but I was sitting in the same stand as Ramblers' singing kids and didn't hear anything of the sort.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast