Thread: No wonder you lost against Waterford

Originally posted by Blue Muff
    Hey dont bring us into this. I thought the ref had a good game and it was defo a penalty.
    I will leave you out of it.
    I spoke to 5 different Waterford supporters and not one of them thought it was a penalty and not one could say what it was given for.

Originally posted by patsh
    I will leave you out of it.
    I spoke to 5 different Waterford supporters and not one of them thought it was a penalty and not one could say what it was given for.

Get over it Patsh - those are the breaks you get in Football. Likewise every CC fan I spoke to said we should have had a penalty in TC. But we didnt moan like little babies afterwards.

Originally posted by The Sheliban
    And George is also upset that he didn't get picked for the U21s at all. I mean, what more does the lad have to do?
    To start with, he'd have to be under 21!
    Champions!

Get over it Patsh - those are the breaks you get in Football. Likewise every CC fan I spoke to said we should have had a penalty in TC. But we didnt moan like little babies afterwards.
    If you and your team had been treated the way we were at any ground, you'd be maoning all the way to the 1st division.
    I just saw the game again on TV and we were absolutely robbed by two officials.
    I can accept getting/losing breaks in any game, but when
    a perfectly good goal is dis-allowed
    a penalty is given for nothing,even the ref can't really say what it was for,
    one of our players was booked for getting tackled,
    when we had a player being played on by a least 2 yards and had a chance to score, yet offside is given again,
    etc. etc. etc.
    you and all the other mossie's would be crying for a month.

I was delighted to see Waterford back up, and hope ye will stay up, which ye will, I think, but some disgraceful decisions the other night won the game for ye, ye didn't do it yourselves.

I think everyone would agree that the standard of referees in the league is not the best. Hence you are always going to get dodgy decisions. There is no point moaning about it because there are trying to improve things themselves. However need to get on with things and win games in spite of the referee.

The ref was a factor in Friday's game but not the reason City lost. Waterford scored more goals than we did. City sat back on their lead. Dolan should be giving explanations about that and not focusing of refs who will not be changing in the near future.

Originally posted by niamh
    The ref was a factor in Friday's game but not the reason City lost. Waterford scored more goals than we did. City sat back on their lead. Dolan should be giving explanations about that and not focusing of refs who will not be changing in the near future.
    The ref most definitely was a factor.
    No, City scored as many goals as Waterford did, but we had one dis-allowed, while the ref gave them their second goal.
    It won't get the points back for us, but are we supposed to say nothing ?
    I have already stated that I blame Dolan for the way we played in the second half, and it's not the first time it's happened, but the biggest factor on the result of the game was the ref and one of his linesmen.

lets be honest lads, maybe the ref wasnt the best on the nite but these decisions balance themselves out over a season

we should be creating more chances anyway

how many times have we got lucky from bad refereeing desicions
    sheliban i hate to say it but ur spot on

Exclamation ..............

I just saw it on Chorus ............ Not a chance on this wide earthly world was that a peno. Have a look yourselves on ELW but my tupence is it wasn't.

For the record ... i didn't agree with the decision at the cross either. Two wrong dont make a right or ''balance things out' ... thats not how the game is played. Both incidents are totally seperate and not combined in any way.

Also for the record .... delighted that it was Waterford beat us

I thought the ref had a good game and it was defo a penalty.
    Ahem....

seeing it on TV just pi$$ed me off even more, disgrace of a decision. This isnt the first time McKeon fcuked us over either, remember the game against UCD in the FMD season.

IMO the decision to play only 3 mins of injury time was as much of a joke. there was 3 minutes alone after the peno, then there was Connor going down injured and 5 subs which is ment to be 30 seconds each.

I just hope we a decent Ref for the Cup game.
    Last edited by SÓC; 21/07/2003 at 11:15 PM.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by thecorner
    lets be honest lads, maybe the ref wasnt the best on the nite but these decisions balance themselves out over a season
    No, no they don't. We've had far far too many bad decisions go against us so far this season and I for one am sick to the teeth of it.
    Champions!

it was probably the worst refereeing decision I have seen since I started supporting city. If anything it was a free out cos the forward was trying to bugger poor alan carey Sheliban you have a point in a tongue in cheek kinda way, but to be honest I've said before I take Dolan with a pinch of salt and anyone who doesn't is mad. Its one thing going over the top in your verbals to get a siege mentality going, its another thing thumping opposition fans. As for your comment re your article in the City-Shels programme, (if it was the "dublin clubs at a disadvantage" one) I was wondering who was responsible for that- to be quite honest, it was probably the most paranoid, deluded and senseless space-filler I have seen in a match programme in a long time. I don't know how it got past the editors. I hope for the sake of your mental/psychological state, that your tongue was as firmly embedded in your cheek when you wrote that as it was when you started this thread; because Pat Dolan would go redder than a tomato in embarassment if he tried a bluff like that. Either that or you were tripping........

Originally posted by Éanna
    it was probably the worst refereeing decision I have seen since I started supporting city. If anything it was a free out cos the forward was trying to bugger poor alan carey Sheliban you have a point in a tongue in cheek kinda way, but to be honest I've said before I take Dolan with a pinch of salt and anyone who doesn't is mad. Its one thing going over the top in your verbals to get a siege mentality going, its another thing thumping opposition fans. As for your comment re your article in the City-Shels programme, (if it was the "dublin clubs at a disadvantage" one) I was wondering who was responsible for that- to be quite honest, it was probably the most paranoid, deluded and senseless space-filler I have seen in a match programme in a long time. I don't know how it got past the editors. I hope for the sake of your mental/psychological state, that your tongue was as firmly embedded in your cheek when you wrote that as it was when you started this thread; because Pat Dolan would go redder than a tomato in embarassment if he tried a bluff like that. Either that or you were tripping........
    Yes, my tongue was firmly in cheek in both articles. It usually is. Too subtle for some people I know.

I agree, the penno looked harsh last night. Though I couldn't really see where the ball hit when it disappeared behind the Waterford forward. The point is though, Waterford got the ball into a position where they won the penno. The same as youse got the ball into Shels penalty area to win a penno against us. If you get the ball into the opposition's area, you stand a chance of getting pennos.

Unless of course, you're Shels, who never get given pennos by biased anti-Duiblin refs
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Originally posted by patsh
    but when a perfectly good goal is dis-allowed
    whatever about the penalty descision, which we will take, he was defenitely offside for that goal.

I was standing pretty much in line, and after crossing the ball initially, he ran straight across the pitch to end up in front of the goal, about 8 yards out, and was offside the whole time as play continued.

sorry, but that's how it was.

Re: ..............

Originally posted by A face

Also for the record .... delighted that it was Waterford beat us

Now that the post match rows are over just want to say cant wait for out next trip to TC. Its my favourite away game and always sees a big crowd down from Blaa land. I take it ye've all heard of a blaaaa.

Hopefuly when we meet again it will be first against second.

Re: Re: ..............

I take it ye've all heard of a blaaaa.
    The rest of the world call them BAPS!
    But, seriously, best of luck to Waterford from now until we meet ye again. Loking forward to our next trip to the RSC (even though it's on a Tuesday night)

Re: Re: Re: ..............

Originally posted by Neil
    Looking forward to our next trip to the RSC (even though it's on a Tuesday night)
    Regardless of what night it's on, we will still have another very big Rebel Army crowd down there!
    Champions!

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    This isnt the first time McKeon fcuked us over either, remember the game against UCD in the FMD season.
    What was this? Can't remember off hand what game this was.

Originally posted by Schumi
    What was this? Can't remember off hand what game this was.
    It was a 2-2 game a few years ago @ the Cross, when Liam Murphy first took charge. Ye levelled it in the last second, I think Eoin Bennis scored.

When the game was 1-1 there was the clearest hand ball on the line you'll ever see, Jennings was actually playing in goal that day for some reason. Yer number 2 pulled the ball back as it was just about to Cross the line and turned around to the Ref to await his red card/peno. Nothing happened! Im remember a certain member of this borad going mental at the time.

[SIZE=1]dont worry Éanna, they wont know it is you[/SIZE]
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by Colm
    No, no they don't. We've had far far too many bad decisions go against us so far this season and I for one am sick to the teeth of it.
    Unless you attended all the other Premier Div games for every other club since the start of the season I don't think you can possibly say that you have been treated any worse than any other club, and watching the very brief highlights from the other games on TV doesn't qualify as having seen those games.

Originally posted by The Sheliban
    Just for the record, as anyone who read Hospital Pass can vouch, I have been as critical of Ollie as I have of Dolan.

I'm also acutely aware that both of the above gentlemen contribute much more to the league than I do. The league needs them both. Its their excesses we don't need.
    I can only agree with this. Ollie Byrne's efforts keeps Shels afloat ( and consequently a team that is one of 2 or 3 in the eL leading the way in professionalism ).
    I'd be quite happy if he was no longer there ( as I think he's a complete eejit ) so long as Shels can continue to develop and prosper on and off the field.