Thread: Dolan got what he deserved last night

Originally posted by foureyes
    In almost all of those seasons I felt we had a chance at the league so its no consolation to say to myself half way through the season "ah next year boy".
    I know what you mean there, but I think the last season or two we haven't really had a chance at the league because we simply didn't have the professionalism (fitness etc) to match bohs and shels. That professionalism is what dolan is after, and I think off the field we have made huge strides, the squad are fitter than ever, so thats half the battle. the challenge for this season is to prepare ourselves for next season, when IMO we HAVE to be realistic title contenders

Angry

What was Dolan playing at the other night, it's one thing to change around the midfield but you must have a first choice starting back four. Horgan didn't look too clever on the right, why does he insist on playing half the team out of position. He also did himself no favours by chasing after the referee at the end, I agree it was a terrible discision he made for the peno but we had it coming after the mugging against UCD, Bring on $hel$, if we beat them the cup is ours for the taking :-)

144 Posts
    Originally posted by foureyes
    In almost all of those seasons I felt we had a chance at the league so its no consolation to say to myself half way through the season "ah next year boy".
    This is exactly how I feel.
    Its too bloody early in the season to be saying that our season is over and if we lose Friday it is.

I don't feel the current team will win anything.
    Dolans tactics are confusing to say the least,
    1. playing players out of position,
    2. not using a sub keeper,
    3. not using subs full stop. (until its too late)

I've been supporting this club too bloody long, and I care too much to let any one player or manager over shadow how I feel.

Its heart breaking to see another season pass us by.

Originally posted by razor
    our season is over and if we lose Friday it is.

Dolans tactics are confusing to say the least,

Its heart breaking to see another season pass us by.
    I hear what your saying, and agree with a lot of it BUT....

1. Even if we lose Friday we still have a lot to play for... League is doubtful but coming second (UEFA spot) or third (European) wouldn't be bad.
    2. Dolans tactics are partly a result of not having enough good players in the squad.
    3. Of course it's heart breaking but this season was always going to be a steadying season (mainly off the pitch) after the mess that the old Board, Gunther and davey BArry left us in.

Don't lose faith!

Lads think people need to calm down. If we win our game in hand we'll be in second place in the league and that is with no midfield. Dolan said when he came in he'd give the players at the club a go first, he's done that some worked some didnt.

About the game plan of 1-0 up away from home and defending, I think that is the right thing to do. Sit back defend and hit the home team on the counter. One incident changed the game, City 1-0 up Flynny was running in on goal, he normally runs with the ball and scores but instead he hit a very week poor shot at the keeper, Connor sends the ball up the field and Waterford score. A very thin line between a good win and a defeat.

Defending is as much a part of a good team as going forward. I really dont see a problem with the tactic, we just needed a better midfield in there.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    Lads think people need to calm down. If we win our game in hand we'll be in second place in the league and that is with no midfield. Dolan said when he came in he'd give the players at the club a go first, he's done that some worked some didnt.

True, but if the team hadn't sat back in the second half and if Dolan was playing players in position we'd now be in second already, only four points off the top with that same game in hand.

As for giving players a chance - he seems to have more chances to some (Hedderman, Murray) than others (Warren).

SSS, what did you expect or hope for from Cork City this season?

I thought at the start of the season that until we properly replaced Reynolds we didn't have a hope of winning the League. And I still think that is the main thing we have to sort out. Until then I just think we have to put up with playing fellas out of position and not hammering teams that normally we should.

Neil, i'm with you on that, at the start of the season i wasn't expecting much, giving Dolan time to put his stamp on the squad and regretting the loss of rennie (who i still think was our best player last season despite all that's gone on since).

but we're all sick of perennially being bridesmaids, bohs and shels are poor this year, shels are getting by drawing with those about them and thrashing those at the bottom (save the UCD result last friday, which only goes to show how poor they are in reality).

even thought i would have been delighted with a european place at the begginging of the season, when i look about the league i don't see any reason why we shouldn't consider ourselves real title contenders.

but once we stay in touch (we need to avoid results like last friday) and sign a few players to sort out midfield we could be in with a shot. it'd just be a shame to end up second or third by three or four points and be able to point back to individual games like the waterford one where we should have come away with something.

Originally posted by Neil
    SSS, what did you expect or hope for from Cork City this season?

I thought at the start of the season that until we properly replaced Reynolds we didn't have a hope of winning the League. And I still think that is the main thing we have to sort out. Until then I just think we have to put up with playing fellas out of position and not hammering teams that normally we should.
    I'm not talking about the team not meeting anyones expectations.
    I'm talking about them not reaching their own existing potential.
    However many points City get this season, they'd have got more if team selection reflected the strengths the squad has even at this stage. And a couple more if they didn't consciously defend too deep too early when 1-0 up.

Put it this way: Hands up who thinks Hedderman should be LM?
    (not counting King Dolan, who I have mostly positive thoughts about as a manager btw)

I think it's been kind of said by other posters, but when you look at the league, no one is winning it, Shels are getting it by default.
    We are close enough, I know, but looking at the league and the squad we have, we should not be 8 points behind, and possibly should be leading.

Originally posted by SSS
    However many points City get this season, they'd have got more if team selection reflected the strengths the squad has even at this stage. And a couple more if they didn't consciously defend too deep too early when 1-0 up.
    But you can't say that for sure!
    Lots of people were saying at the start of the season that Napier should have been in the team. But it was only last week we all understood why he wasn't (it was more to do with himself not having the time to dedicate)

Originally posted by SSS
    Put it this way: Hands up who thinks Hedderman should be LM?
    I don't think he should be.

My team for Shels (for what it's worth):

Devine
    Hoggie Murray Benno Hedderman
    Carey Packer CTOB Woods
    GOC JOF

Originally posted by Neil

My team for Shels (for what it's worth):

Devine
    Hoggie Murray Benno Hedderman
    Carey Packer CTOB Woods
    GOC JOF
    Devine
    Hoggie Benno Dan Woods
    Warren Colin T Conor Packer
    JOF GOC

Behan, Colin P, Carey, Murray K, Mucka

...I'm taking chance on Packer being able to play wide and on Conor staying in form ( W'ford was difficult when he was booked ealy on).
    I can't see a place for Hedderman and I think Carey's efforts at RM in pre-season were poor enough.

Packer lined out at left midfield for the U21's according to previous posts and in the little that's available on the net he seems to have played wing back and centre midfield in OZ, and apparently he's pretty pacey. Dolan gave him a quick run the last night, and now is probably trying to get his match fitness up. my team would be

Devine

Hoggy Murray Bennett Woods
    Colin T O'Callaghan O'Grady Packer
    Behan O'Flynn

although i think SSS is spot on with what it will be

Originally posted by SSS
    Devine
    Hoggie Benno Dan Woods
    Warren Colin T Conor Packer
    JOF GOC

Behan, Colin P, Carey, Murray K, Mucka
    Almost the same, SSS.
    I think it will be:

Devine
    Hoggie Benno Dan Woods
    Colin T Conor Packer Hedderman
    JOF GOC

I don't think Dave Warren is going to get a game from Dolan, and I think he is going to persist wih Robbie.

Originally posted by tiktok
    even thought i would have been delighted with a european place at the begginging of the season, when i look about the league i don't see any reason why we shouldn't consider ourselves real title contenders.

Originally posted by tiktok
    but once we stay in touch (we need to avoid results like last friday) and sign a few players to sort out midfield we could be in with a shot
    I'm not trying to be smart or anything, but the second part of that post pretty much answers the first, IF we sign players.

All i was saying is that while at the beginning of the season i was willing to take third or fourth, it was because i believed that rebuilding would leave us well behind bohs and shels.

now i see that they're no better off than us and i'm no longer happy to be an also ran. i'm sick of winning nothing.

i think we're good enough to win the league if we sort out midfield, but if we keep throwing away points and games like we did friday or against rovers, then by the time the midfielders arrive it probably will be too little too late.

I know what you meant, and I wasn't trying to be smart , as I said. I think we have a golden opportunity the way the league is going right now, but I'm just afraid that (as can happen) our opportunity has come too soon. Hope I'm wrong

Unhappy

"Yes we lost to a ridiculous decision, but Dolan will only use this to cover up his own obvious inadequacies.

I said before that I would give him a chance but as we move through the season I can honestly say I have no confidence in Dolans ability as a manager with Cork City FC. "

Dolans obvious inadequacies! Are you for real?
    For F@cks Sake get off the mans back, we've had a few bad results, a fair few bad refs, but we're still up there.
    Pat Dolan is the best manager in the League, and we were lucky to get him. In time,he will make us the top club in the country. A bit of support is needed when things go wrong, I remember the same things being said a few months into Dave Barry's term,he's clueless etc.
    It's true what they say about Cork crowds, theres as fickle as they come.
    ...indeed Mr. Chairman makes exceptionally good cheese and onion pies.....

[SIZE=1]My 2 cents[/SIZE]

__________Devine
    Hoggie - Benno - Murry - Woods
    _Colin Snr - O'Grady - Warren
    _________ George
    ______CPOB - O'Flynn

Give George a free role to link up the midfield with the strikers ala Scholes/Ronaldinho

CTOB or Warren to move onto the wing that play is at and the other player into the middle then. When we are attacking, leave the wing back who has the space infront of him push up (ie if Warren is on the wing, then Colin Snr has pushed in to the centre, let Hoggie go as a winger, kind of like Carlos at Real). Goerge would provide good chances for the 2 strikers instead of having to rely on O'Flynn all the time.

Everybody is in a familiar position, our so far succesful defence is still intact (although would probably have lore pressure on them) and we have 3 dedicated attacking players. Not that this will ever happen or anything, but if I were the manager...
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

144 Posts
    Originally posted by Dylan
    It's true what they say about Cork crowds, theres as fickle as they come.
    I think the whole reference to a fickle Cork crowd you speak of is not relevant here.

The people who post here are for the most part the hardcore who have been supporting City home and away for many years.

Myself personally am just sick to my stomach of being runners up and being satisfied with an Inter Toto spot etc etc.

I want what every fan should want for their club and that is success.

And if you've a problem with that then tough