Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Galway Utd vrs Cork City.

Some nice play alright, but lacked a cutting edge big time. Lacked creativity with Russel out too. Rogers has cost 3 goals in the last 2 matches now, it's a pity. Lester lacks the mobility to be a midfielder. Thought Foley did well. Leech is very sloppy. Well done Molloy!
    Very similar start to last year. Improvement in results have to start from next week!
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

also attendences dropping by about 200 each game...not a good sign only 1410 there tonight

Its about the same attedance when you take away the away support still not enough to keep the cashflow at the expected levels though. There were quite a few that left with 5 or so minutes to go they missed Molloys great goal ha ha
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

288 Posts
    Highlights of tonights game

Rodgers out.

I said it a few weeks ago,the 2 goals,his kick outs and his positional awareness was pi** poor too.
    we badly miss o.brien and russell tonight.played some decent stuff but nevr had much of a threat.
    i hope paddyfields prediction that i heard tonight of who the new manager will be isnt true.
    fair play to billy,went mad at the officals,cousins just use to stand there no matter what was going on,he didnt give a tos*,billy does though.

Quote Originally Posted by foxx92 View Post
    also attendences dropping by about 200 each game...not a good sign only 1410 there tonight
    Was that official?, cause the new stand looked full and theres meant to be 1,500 seats there, plus there looked like a few 100 around the ground, so i estimated 2,000(or near enough, but i did'nt hear the official attendance)
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

46 Posts
    ****ing useless ****. he's abysmal, he should be shipped out as soon as possible

Wasn't at home for the Cork game lads but I heard United played more decent football in one game than they ever did under hoofer Cousins.

I guess things look bad now but it is still early doors and we're not cut adrift just yet. Must keep the faith.

Thanks for the welcome last night lads. Enjoyed the trip.

One comment though, your programme had Cathair Chorcaigh instead of Cathair Chorcaí and ye in a Gaeltacht.......

Here are my observations on last night's game, Cork will never have an easier win all season, they didn't have to break sweat in the first half yet went into two goals ahead courtesy of two howlers by Rogers, the goals look even worse on the video clip. If that rumour about Rouse was true than he and Rogers should get the boot and replaced by a third choice goalkeeper, that's if we have one.

The defence needs a radical overhaul, Regi wasted a lot of good posession. Utd did try to play to their strengths by attacking through the middle and down the flanks. Russler and Derek were sorely missed. Young Molloy took his goal well two touches and the ball was in the back of the net. Billy should give more of the U21's a run out instead of some of our overpaid prima donnas.

The ref and his officials had a stinker, Cork should never have got the free kick that led to their second goal and we should have had a corner before Cork broke away to score the third. I saw the ref and one of his assistants arrive in a taxi which I presume was his, so ref my advise to you is to not give up the day job. Billy was right to have a go at the officials.

I spotted Noel King at the match, I wonder was he scouting for talent for his Ladies team or is interested in taking on the Utd job. Whoever the next manager is the should appoint Billy as his assistant.

I don't like our new white away strip, white to me means surrender and sends out the wrong message.

Who got man of the match?

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Who got man of the match?
    Gary Rodgers!!!

Thought the attendance was higher than 1410 myself.

Before it was announced 2000,or just under,was the agreed attendance all round.No way was it lower than Rovers anyway.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Thought the attendance was higher than 1410 myself.

Before it was announced 2000,or just under,was the agreed attendance all round.No way was it lower than Rovers anyway.
    Around our area(from the view we had) everyone was saying roughly 1500 so it seems right to me. But ye'd know ye're ground better

There was certainly more than 1,410 in the ground at KO.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    There was certainly more than 1,410 in the ground at KO.
    Of course, the new stand was virtually full and there are 1,500 seats in it, the old stand maybe had 150-200 in it plus around 15-200 around the pitch!!

Maybe all the fans who got in late were'nt counted?. I missed the first couple of minutes myself queuing outside!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    Was that official?, cause the new stand looked full and theres meant to be 1,500 seats there, plus there looked like a few 100 around the ground, so i estimated 2,000(or near enough, but i did'nt hear the official attendance)
    Defo thought there was 2000 at least 1200 in the new stand and three other sides of the ground to count too.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by DonO'Bate View Post
    I saw the ref and one of his assistants arrive in a taxi which I presume was his, so ref my advise to you is to not give up the day job.

Are you sure it wasn't Tony Cousins' one
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

55 Posts

programme

tc your friendly taxi man

37 Posts
    Match report from www.EircomLOI.ie

Galway United 1 Cork City 3

Cork City stretched their unbeaten league sequence to six games against Galway United at Terryland Park .Alan Matthews’ evolving team were never seriously troubled by the basement team emerging convincing victors.

John O’Flynn and George O’Callaghan grabbed the first half goals to put
    the rebels into a commanding interval lead.

In a hectic finale Galway substitute Jason Molloy and Dave Mooney traded goals as the rebels closed the deal.

Despite producing a battling opening quarter performance Galway still found themselves a goal behind in the 18th minute

Joe Gamble clipped the ball into the Galway area and after goalkeeper Gary
    Rogers failed to gather John O’Flynn supplied the opportunistic finish.

Cork ought to have doubled their advantage moments later, but substitute Darragh Ryan headed George O’Callaghan’s delivery wide.

But it was the thoughtful O’Callaghan who provided a sweet second for City curling a delightful 20 yard free kick past Rogers.

Within seconds of the restart Galway left full Marc McCulloch extracted a s
    mashing save from Michael Devine, but Cork weren’t too perturbed until re
    placement Jason Molloy scored in the 85th minute.

But Cork summoned an instant response as Dave Mooney lashed the insurance goal to stretch City’s unbeaten run.

Galway United: Rogers; Nootimer, Fitzgerald, Charles; McCulloch; Deegan, Foley, Lester, Keane (Molloy, 71); Leech, Glynn (O’Flynn, 54).

Cork City : Devine; Horgan, Lordan, Murray, Murphy; Gamble, Healy, O’Calla
    ghan; O’Flynn (O’Connor, 90), Mooney, Kearney (Ryan, 13, Behan, 80).

Referee: T Connolly ( Dublin ).

Galway ’ only chance of note arrived between the two goals as the industri
    ous John Lester dragged a long range shot past the post.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast