Was he ever good enough, defensively?Originally Posted by JimmyP
Yes
No
from rte.ie:
Kerr, meanwhile, has hit back at claims by Ian Harte that he is being deliberately frozen out of the international scene.
Left-back Harte has not played under Kerr since a surprise summer move to Primera Liga side Levante following Leeds' relegation from the Premier League.
The 27-year-old has spent the last seven weeks on the sidelines, recently undergoing a groin operation in Manchester as well as time at Leeds' Thorp Arch training complex last month in rehabilitation under the supervision of physio Dave Hancock.
It is expected Harte will be back in action for Levante before the end of the month, but whether he plays for Ireland again while Kerr is in charge remains to be seen.
Harte insisted Kerr was against him moving to Spain and that attempts to contact the Republic boss in a bid to ascertain why he has not been involved have all been in vain.
But Kerr today refuted the accusations, stating: "Ian Harte never counselled me before he went to Spain.
"When he told me he was going I was delighted for him because it was a good chance for him to play first-team football.
"As for him trying to contact me, any player who wants to speak to me knows they can ring me. I would be disappointed if I rang them and they didn't ring me back."
But that is not Harte's version of events as he told The Times: "I don't know what's been happening because I've not been able to get in touch with Brian. He doesn't return my calls.
"I spoke to Chris Hughton and asked him to see if he could get Brian to give me a call to find out what the problem is, but I've not heard anything. It's a joke.
"I am disappointed that after playing 58 caps for my country and scoring nine goals, he cannot pay me a bit of respect and give me a call."
On his move to Levante, where he was a first-team regular before the injury, he added: "When I first told him I was going to Spain, he didn't think it was a good move. What was I supposed to do? Stay in the First Division with Leeds?"
Harte maintains he will again play for Ireland, even if he has to wait for Kerr to leave, insisting: "I am still good enough, and whether he stays in the job or not, I will wait to get my chance.
Harte, though, may have burned his bridges after his outburst, with Kerr responding: "Ian Harte is injured at the moment and is therefore not under consideration.
"If he gets back into the Levante team and plays well, then he may get back in."
Was he ever good enough, defensively?Originally Posted by JimmyP
still think he should be in the squad. always fancied playing him on the left in midfield but then again he's on the quickest
Harte seems to like doing his talking in the papers, I guess maybe because he may not be able to do it on the pitch.
Like his press comments about how he was going to put Figo in his pocket at LR, and then after the game said how he done such a great job against him.![]()
Also his comment about not really wanting to go to Iran because of the war in Afganastan.![]()
Liked how he said also about after the Spain game the lads had a good night out in Suwon, Can't say any of us did. And now he's giving out because a manager has thank god decided he's not good enough.![]()
Brian tell him to fcek off.
Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.
Harte's behaviour is out of order. The accusation that Kerr hasn't returned his phonecalls is unusual but whether or not it's true, to vent your frustrations in the media instead of the traditional route - play better and get noticed - is bad form and not befitting an Irish international. If he wants to take the Bellamy route and try and build some campaign in the media, he can but I can't imagine him getting many supporters over here.
I think he's a poor player anyway but surely this puts an end to the Harte in-Harte out debate? A questionable player who has now started to moan through the press and, in a way, questioned Kerr's authority and ability as manager? From where I'm sitting, he can get stuffed.
Well said Donal, surely he does not think that this is the way to get back into the squad. He must have the brains of a knat
Good comment Donal.
Harte's handled his exclusion very badly and it would be surprising to see him in an Ireland shirt anytime soon. You get the impression that he believes he has the right to a call and that Kerr has some explaining to do for not giving it to him. Their comments on the subject are entirely at odds so it comes down to who you believe. I believe Kerr as he has always seemed to have time for any Irish player in need of advice. Personally i think Harte is a better option than Maybury but that is for Kerr to decide and Harte should just shut up and prove Kerr wrong the appropriate way by playing well.
i agree with Harte , he's been ignored because he missed that stupid tournament in June while he had an operation. Kerr was quoted as saying the players who came in had done well and he was sticking with them,imagine he adopted the same approach with Roy "play whatever games he feels like" Keane.
I know Keane is a massive player for us but just think its double standards by Kerr.
Harte has over 50 caps for ireland and played in every qualifier for last world cup.
He is our only actual left back and deserves to be in the squad(barring injury of course) and if excluded deserves at the very least an explanation.
Again it comes back to who you believe. Kerr denies ignoring his calls. Harte said Kerr didn't like the idea of him going to Spain. Kerr said he wasn't asked for advice. If your not picked you talk to your manager not the press.Originally Posted by barglee
I see what you mean Barglee but the difference between the two is important: Keane's reputation and skills as a player need no explanation here. The contentious Saipan-Retirement stuff aside, on his merits as a player, he has to be in the squad. Kerr's reasoning that those who came in have done ok might actually be true. We need Keane in the centre. We do not need Harte at left-back, IMO, certainly not as much as we need Keane in the middle.Originally Posted by barglee
What's crucial for me is also that he never exactly proved himself over those 56 caps. He turned up more than Keane and never flounced out of a World Cup but is just a poor player. Now, he's a poor player with an attitude problem.
barglee - I don't believe Harte is not getting called up just because he missed the tournament as something like 15 players missed it. If he was good enough he'd be in the squad but Kerr prefers Maybury. People judge Maybury but Kerr knows best and from my little bit of research yesterday it looks like we were wrong about thinking Delap is good enough for the squad and I wouldn't be suprised if Harte wasn't good enough.
Regardless of whether he should be in the squad, his behaviour is totally unprofessional. He's injured anyway so I don't see what the point in complaining is.
Who's printing this stuff about Harte anyway? Anyone with an axe to grind against Kerr? The same people who said Kerr and Carr had fallen out?
I seem to recall Richard Dunne taking a more dignified stance a few months ago and look at him now.
Harte is muck. Even the vastly over-rated John O'Shea is better than him. He can hit a good free kick, a good cross and a decent corner kick. Thats it. He can't tackle, he has no pace, his distribution is poor and his positioning is poor too. good riddance
Doubt it's anything to do with missing the tournament, especially as he was having an op. People are just reading too much into it (whilst giving them another chance to have a pop at Keane), Harte isn't in the squad because Kerr doesn't rate him. Imo Kerr is right with that assessment.Originally Posted by barglee
It's a pity you can't do what they do in American football. Just bring him on for corners & frees and then take him off again.Originally Posted by Éanna
I dunno lads, I think yiz are being a little harsh on Ian Harte. Obviously there are better ways to go about these things, but at least he's showing a level of desire to play, and also a level of disapointment at not playing that hasn't been shown by any player I can recall.
He's obviously as bemused at his exclusion as most of us are. We've seen the posts on this board and others!! He's just venting it the wrong way, or being misquoted. Ye know yourself what the tabloids are like.
Fact is though he wants to play for Ireland. He could have easily done a Dean Keily or even a Gary Kelly and looked back at a decent enough career in green.
Brian Kerrs way seems to be it's for the man in possession to loose his place, not for the man on the outside to win it, which explains the Grahem Barrett situation. Wrightly or wrongly it seems to be working. Withdrawels from Friendlies have dramatically reduced and we're seeing a settled first eleven play almost every game, friendly or other wise.
It seems Harte will just have to wait on Maybury to slip up or get injured.
Hopefully not with his right foot. Boom Boom.Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
Heh Heh![]()
He came on in the last 20 mins or so for Levante in their 4-0 win vs Osasuna last night, so hopefully his injury is on the mend.
Maybe a poll on this????
After last night I for one have had enough of John O'Shea![]()
[SIZE=4]BRING BACK IAN HARTE[/SIZE]