Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Finnan, O Brien and Kiely coming out of Retirement?

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Great compared to who? Gary Breen? He has been average at best for us and dreadful at worst. We couldn't hold onto a lead to save our life under Kerr with A O'Brien the mainstay of our defence.
    You must have been too young to remember WC02 (the only major competition we have qualified for in the last fourteen years) when Breen was outstanding and was linked with clubs all around Europe.
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Read my post again we won't qualify if relying on the likes of Andy O'Brien. We need someone else to step up. I would rather try out St Ledger or O'Dea in a few friendlies if they are getting regular football early next season to see if they are up to scratch than go with O'Brien who'll be playing in the same league as St Ledger next year anyway.
    There is no substitute for experience and O'Brien has that in abundance. Had another good game today for Bolton by all accounts.

According to todays papers the only player that is showing all the right signs that he wants to return is Dean kiely

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    According to todays papers the only player that is showing all the right signs that he wants to return is Dean kiely
    be glad to have him. bit old but still a better keeper than any of the alternatives
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Yeah He pulled off a good few saves last night.
    In Trap we trust

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I like O'Dea as a centre-half, on the rare time he actually gets his game there.

At this stage he should be looking for a move, even a loan move, to a Championship side.

He needs to start getting matches under his belt in his natural position week in and week out.

He's got the talent, he just needs the games and the experience now.

People who are saying he can't break through at Celtic don't have it exactly right- in my view he's good enough, he's just not better than what they've got. He's right around their level, and when that's the case with defenders, it seems Strachan goes with the older, more experienced player.

Not every manager is willing to give a young centre-half a chance, and I think Strachan is guilty of this.

If he's not a first choice centre-half, or at least a rotation player by next season, O'Dea should be looking for a move.
    Celtic, Everton, WBA, Wolves, Derby, West Ham, Charlton all at Deepdale again yesterday watching St Ledger!

All this interest and he isn't even considered for the 40 man training squad!
    Last edited by the doc; 13/04/2008 at 2:44 PM. Reason: text

Dean's a great character too, I think he's going to return.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    Celtic, Everton, WBA, Wolves, Derby, West Ham, Charlton all at Deepdale again yesterday watching St Ledger!

I'm not saying I don't want him involved.

Considering how new these three are to working for the Irish setup, I think they can be forgiven overlooking one or two players.

If Lawrence and St. Ledger keep up their good form, they'll make it into the frame sooner or later.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    I'm not saying I don't want him involved.

Considering how new these three are to working for the Irish setup, I think they can be forgiven overlooking one or two players.

If Lawrence and St. Ledger keep up their good form, they'll make it into the frame sooner or later.
    I don't see how considering the form they are in, how and why they have been overlooked!
    Unless this squad was chosen mostly by someone else in the FAI how can you include players who have played mostly reserve football for the past few months ahead of players doing well playing regular competitive 1st team football.

253 Posts
    I don't see how considering the form they are in, how and why they have been overlooked!
    Unless this squad was chosen mostly by someone else in the FAI how can you include players who have played mostly reserve football for the past few months ahead of players doing well playing regular competitive 1st team football.
    I personally wouldn't have selected Connolly, and I would have selected St. Ledger and Lawrence.....but I have an unhealthy obsession with Irish football that I wouldn't expect a couple of Italians and the guy in charge of the Arsenal youth setup to share to the same extent.

All I can think of is that Brady really rates Connolly and thinks he can still do it at a decent level. Judging from his performance last season in the Championship, it's fair to say he can still score at a relatively decent level when healthy.

My point is that while there are a couple of contentious exclusions, and a contentious inclusion or two, the squad for the Portugal camp had some refreshing inclusions and is to be more praised than criticized in my view.

Jaysus how did so many clubs fit into that small ground?! And how do you know any of them were watching St. Ledger?

214 Posts
    The more players we have in contention for CB the better. I'd rather have O'Brien at CB than O'Shea.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Jaysus how did so many clubs fit into that small ground?! And how do you know any of them were watching St. Ledger?
    Well seems as I was sitting by them and could see them writing reports on the Saint, thats how I know.

It's also common knowledge amongst the Preston fans that clubs are watching him and that he has the ability to play at a higher level.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diarmo View Post
    Stop presenting your opinion as fact. Look at the stats from that campaign. 5 goals conceded with the O'Brien - Cunningham partnership. Dunne is put beside Cunningham for the home France match - we lose 1-0. O'Brien was there in Paris (and put in a decent performance that match) and we drew 0-0. So stop pretending that your opinion is fact. Grow up.

And don't tell me again what I'm going to say or think. I never called for O'Brien's head, I've expressed reservations - as I probably have about most Irish players in the last campaign. Is that all you can reply with? Come on, do better.

Look at it:

O'Dea - 21 - can't break into the Celtic team. Look what happened the last time an out of practise centre half was played?

St. Ledger - 23 - I have a lot of hope for this guy - could be a big player in the future. However, I don't think he's ready to become a permanent part of our defense, he hasn't any Prem or international experience.

McShane - Compared to O'Brien on current form - there's no comparison. McShane's playing reserve football, O'Brien's doing well at Bolton. Would you pick McShane ahead of O'Brien now? I think that would just be a repeat of the Cyprus debacle... with the roles reversed.

Patrick McCarthy - 24 - Like St. Ledger, decent prospect. Not as good or as experienced as O'Brien though.

Gary Doherty - Although he does ok at Championship lever, I don't think hes quite up to being an international CB.

John O'Shea - gets very limited game time as a CB. On top of that, his performances leave a lot to be desired. I trust him less as a defender than O'Brien.

Prove to me that any of these (or any other Irish defender) is a better option than O'Brien. Then, I might consider your ridiculous opinions.
    To prove this they have to be given a chance. Also read my original post again. I stated that if we are relying on the likes of A O'Brien to qualify for the WC then we really are in trouble from the offset. I clearly stated that one of the younger lads must come through over the next few months and prove themselves to be a viable option in central defence. If we had a qualifier tomorrow I might treat your post a bit more seriously but since we've about 6 months before the group kicks off (did you miss this small point?) I'll dismiss it as the utter garbage it is. Also note that whenever O'Brien has played with Dunne he's been generally poor and since Cunningham has long since retired, I dunno, maybe this is quite an important point?

You were the one who stated as fact that Andy O'Brien has been in great form for us. I stated my opinion that this was utter rose tinted spectacled garbage (which it is) and at best he was average for us whilst at worst diabolical. I like the way you plucked a single result in France out of the hat there for us to back up your claims. Remind me again at that stage of the campaign who had France actually beaten in the group? I also don't remember him being particularly brilliant in Paris for us. From my recollection Dunne was far better in Dublin even if we were beaten. By the looks of things you probably didn't even watch either match and are just using the results to push home your point.
    Last edited by youngirish; 14/04/2008 at 12:30 PM.

I dont really think it matters who of O'Brien, O'Shea, O'Dea, McShane or St Ledger plays alongside Dunne for the qualifiers, they are all pretty average at best and we have a real lack of quality there. If anything was to happen to Dunne we could just about forget about qualification.

It sounds though that Finann might have a rethink, which I also feel is essential if we are to do anything in the group. At least with Dunne and Finann at the back we would have 2 great defenders that would hopefully cover for the donkeys around them.
    'I can't even remember when the Seventies was.' - ROBBIE KEANE

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    Is O'Dea even getting in the match day squad for Celtic??

I liked the look of him against Milan last season but if he's not getting near the starting 11 for Celtic how can you expect him to play for Ireland?
    hes currently injured at the moment hernia problem i think is keeping him out.hopefully with a new manager next season they will realise hes our best defender and heill be a regular starter, if not heill move on and prove himself with someone else

i agree, but i think he should be starting for both

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123