Thread: Limerick Fas Moral Debate

Rossi got kicked out of Waterford or indisciplinary matters off the pitch...quite serious ones too that if he were in England would make tabloid front pages. How the hell are we going to pay his wages??? He's not going to play for free. I think you're going over the top with your Cork s*um remark...they saw an opportunity to put in a bid for a decent player and went for it. I think we should be far more concerned about our own s*um which currently occupy committee positions within the club. These men are liars, cheats, egomaniacs, and obviously don't give a damn about the greater good, that means Limerick staying in existence. I have come up with what I think is a good idea and need to know if its going to be supported. If its not, then so be it..no hard feelings, but I'm damned if I'm just going to sit back and watch what is an institution to a lot of people be destroyed by the inability of two people in particular to be honest and do a good job. What right have they to deprive any of us the right to Eircom League soccer???...none at all

First off Ross Cosgrave has signed, last night in fact. So there is obviously wages to pay for players.I restate that all players are getting paid for the next 2 weeks. I have just confirmed this with the club.

I wish you would get your facts straight as I am getting tired of your ranting and raving. Why not join the Supporters club and get involved in a constructive manner. Some of the statements you have made could be interpreted as Defamation of Character of the 2 individuals . Shall I name them for you John Purcell and Michael O'Sullivan, I presume thats who you are talking about.

btw Cork were tipped off by another member of the committee not the above mentioned two and noel O'Connor saw an oppurtunity to screw us. What do you expect from a person who walked out on the club with 2 weeks to go to the start of the season

I wish the Moderator would maybe cexamine these more closely , Are you watching SLK ???,

Up Limerick

JohnD, I have defamed nobody. My facts are more accurate than the next mans and I can back every one of them up.I stand over everything I say about John Purcell, Michael O'Sullivan or anyone else I pass comment upon on this board and will always do so.
    I haven't said anything thats incorrect about anyone, and regret none of it.I'm sorry if my ranting has offended you, but I feel that all the pussyfooting and whining is getting us nowhere fast, and unless something gets done fast then its all over.
    I never said John Purcell or Michael O'Sullivan tipped off Cork, I said they were the two that refused Corks offer.If you can't handle the fact that Noel O'Connor has moved on, then grow up, move on and get over it. I wouldn't say that putting in a bid for a player was screwing us though.Its called FOOTBALL!Being based in Dublin its not easy to put time into travelling to SC meetings and things like that, but have pledged my support whenever available, plus financial support also.If you'd like me to join and be inactive, then I've no problem with that.
    Just explain the change of heart towards Purcell please??

Originally posted by JohnD
    I wish the Moderator would maybe cexamine these more closely , Are you watching SLK ???
    Just had a look. Play on lads. I'l consult with those above me on the food-chain. Joe has expressed an opinion (one that I'm not in total agreement with but that's football, in fact that's life). I fail to see the difference between 'the scum on the committee' and 'Cork scum' to be perfectly honest.

So having examined it (very closely JohnD) I'm inclined to say carry on (for now at least). By all means argue with each other boys...

PS) I think the word 'cheaters' is very unfair Joe. Perhaps you'd clarify that one for me?
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 17/07/2003 at 9:57 AM.

Well said Joesoap fair play calling a spade a spade. And as for defamation you cannot do that if you are just telling the truth.

That has been a problem in the committee of Limerick soccer for decades. The present committee are not responsible for the demise of Limerick senior soccer that goes back years. But they are potentially standing in the way of saving the club. They are not part of the solution and are in real terms becoming the problem.
    I am disappointed in a fellow supporter seeking to suppress free speech. Why are you so keen to protct the committe members good name at the expense of openess and real dialogue.

The need is for strong talk and honestly if Limerick go down let the people who presided over its fall face the scrutiny of those they let down.
    You're ruining a grand game

lims fan

fair play joe soap

what you say is correct. There is a cancer in the club and we all know who they are. They are smalltime, technically deficient middle aged weather beaten "men" with no pride and they are cheats as they are cheating the people of limerick. i follow the team not the committee and i will not see this side - our best for 10 years - be broken up by a bunch of wrinkly old hunchbacks with no lives.
    COMMITTEE OUT. COMMITTEE OUT. GO IN THE NAME OF GOD.
    What has the committee done since the poor mouth was shamelessly put all over the country's airwaves. Nothing! Nil!
    They are still waiting for this big "businessman" on the shiny horse to save them.
    If the committee stand in the way of incoming buyers they will be forced out by us fans fully backed by limerick fc supporters club.
    Limerick 'till I die.

heres my right of reply so :

First off when I said your comments could be interpreted as defaming people ,I meant those people unamed by you. Whether you, or I for that matter, think that they do a good job, the fact remains that every club is in financial trouble..look at this months WSC magazine in england..Oldham and Wimbledon and a host of LOI clubs at home. They, rightly or wrongly are doing a thankless job and whilst I have my differences with them as much as the next man, I dont think any of the comments in previous posts will help anything. Nobody is trying to suppress fress speech but there is a distinct difference between free speech and personal attacks (FAO SLK)

Some of the members of the SC are based in other centres and we can all communicate via private messaging and email not to mention the old dog and bone so it's possible to be an active member even if not based here.

I stand over my comments of Cork Scum because anybody who tries to kick somebody when they are down is just that and they are not football people.(FAO SLK) LOI is a very small circle and we should all fight for each other not take advantage of bad situations.

Up Limerick

At the risk of attracting the wrong attention from our little Hitler SLK .... (joke!)

Joe Soap:

There were pieces in your article that are completely unsubstantiated and as a result open to libel action by aggrieved parties. It's a very dodgy situation to be in as this board is checked every hour of the day by the committee. Think before you write is all I'll say.

Sodacake:

Sorry if this offends you but your post was pathetically hypocritical. It seems to me that John simply thought that what was posted was over the top - he was expressing his opinion, stop trying to censor him!!

Jesus guys, let all try to pull together here, things seem to be looming on the horizon here, and hopefully allthese interested parties will put their money where their mouths are.

That said, in the air of camraderie, I think that there are a number of new signing who are hiding behind the veil of the internet (ie - no PMs and no e-mails) and shouting abuse at the top of their lungs. Personally I don't think much of this as it says to me that these types of people don't have the courage to back up what they say in their posts. C'mon lads if you have something to say stand behind it, it'll only make our case all the stronger!!
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Re: fair play joe soap

Originally posted by lims fan
    i will not see this side - our best for 10 years
    At last Lims Fan acknowledges Noel O'Connor's transfer acumen.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Nobody is trying to suppress fress speech but there is a distinct difference between free speech and personal attacks (FAO SLK)
    They're only personal attacks if there are people named. You named people. JoeSoap didn't. He had no case to answer and aside from yourself and your sidekick Deise nobody else here seems to have a problem with the post.

I stand over my comments of Cork Scum because anybody who tries to kick somebody when they are down is just that and they are not football people.(FAO SLK)
    Of course they're football people Hence their interest in our player. I agree with you that they're trying to take advantage. However if you can label them scum for that then JoeSoap is perfectly entitled to say the same about our committee. I've already said that I don't agree with everything he said but just because I don't agree with him is no reason for him to stop talking.

Originally posted by Deise Deserter
    At the risk of attracting the wrong attention from our little Hitler SLK .... (joke!)
    JohnD felt further up in this thread that i wasn't being despotical enough... hence the change. And don't worry, as soon as I'm done writing, I'm splitting this thread!

Think before you write is all I'll say.
    This was aimed at JoeSoap and I've gotta say Deise that I think it's a load of rubbish. Joe stands 100% behind what he said and you know as well as anybody that he has plenty of ammunition to back up his allegations. This is not a black and white issue by any stretch of the imagination.

Sorry if this offends you but your post was pathetically hypocritical. It seems to me that John simply thought that what was posted was over the top - he was expressing his opinion, stop trying to censor him!!
    Sorry if this offend you Deise but your post was pathetically nonsensical. At no point at all does Sodacake attempt to censor JohnD. I know you have a big smiley face at the end of your message but that's an unfair implication to leave and I didn't think I could ignore it. I fail to see how Sodacakes post is hypocritical at all. And I've just read it four times.

And finally I think you've a bit of cheek to criticise people for retaining their anonymity when you were livid at being 'outed' at a League game by an interested committee member (I'd better not give a name for fear of more ructions :rolls: )

Now, off to split... because this is gone waaaaaaay off-topic!

Oh my God SLK what have you done now!!!...Just when things were getting back to normal ..poor Deise (AKA my sidekick..I have always wanted onre of those)did not deserve that!!

btw if you were from Kerry you would understand the Cork thing..genetics I guess

Oh my God SLK what have you done now!!!...Just when things were getting back to normal
    Even by Limerick FC standards it hasn't been a normal few days here! :P And what can I say when you lot force me into work (and splitting threads is a pian in the ass but I warned ye to try and stay on-topic but...) I get grouchy.

poor Deise (AKA my sidekick..I have always wanted onre of those)did not deserve that!!
    Ah, Deise reads comics too, he'll probably like it.

Aah SLK!!! Swinging between extremes as usual to keep us on our toes!

I still stand behind what I said in regards Joesoap and Sodacake. I tried to put it across in a roundabout manner so as not to p!ss anyone off but I'll be frank now:

Sodacake's Post:
    This derided John D for giving forward a fact about Joesoap's post. Sodacake wanted him to stop holding back Joe's opinions by shutting up. Surely everyone can see the inherent contradiction in the post?

Joesoap's initial post:
    It was over the top and can be challenged (and won) legally. Sorry if I am trying to point this out and people don't like it but that the law of the land - don't get snotty with me over it. Personally I think that John's reply was correct.

As for the final part of my post in regards anonimity I will spell it out as I see it:

If I post something I can stand behind it - you can e-mail me or PM me about it. Certain people hide behind the curtain of the internet and not add these options to their profile while hiding their true identies. For some strange reason none of these people actually do anything to help the Limerick FC either.

Certain people like John D, Cathal Crowley, Gael 353, Damien O'Neill, LFC in Exile, Lims Fan and myself actually get off our ar$es and do work in the Supporters' Club.

I find it hard to value posts that are:
    (a) Written by people who are scared to reveal themselves, while...
    (b) ...make libelous statements.

If these anominous people are as passionate as they claim why aren't they doing anything other than b!tch from the safety of the anonimity of their computers? I know I have more time for those who are willing to put their words into action and make themselves known, and I'm sure most people would agree with me.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Originally posted by deise deserter
    Aah SLK!!! Swinging between extremes as usual to keep us on our toes!
    DD opens with his peculiar statement that makes little or no sense and is unsubstantiated! Heavens above man, are you asking to be sued?

Anyway, you were twisting words again. Sodacake never told JohnD to shut up. The post is there, plain as day and unedited, there is no derision.

Likewise JoeSoaps post is not over the top. And yes, it can be challenged legally but it won't be won. I'd like you to list a few cases of substantiated e-mail slander that has been punished in the courts of law of this country for us DD. Legal threats have been made apparently but they're only threats. Some people seem to be getting worried by the threats... there's nothing in Joe's posts that are punishable under the law of this land (and that it a fact) so if people are getting irked with you Deise it's because you're only lending weight to these threats with your stance. Anyway, wait and see Deise, there will be no case to answer by JoeSoap (and if it's going to be as easy to win as you think then the club should go for it, they could use the cash after all!)

If these anominous people are as passionate as they claim why aren't they doing anything other than b!tch from the safety of the anonimity of their computers?
    If they're anonymous how do you now they're doing nothing? Likewise so what if people can PM you? They still won't know who you are. As for standing behind your posts what about coming back from Kilkenny in Supermacs huh?

And Deise you never addressed the point I raised earlier on in the thread - you were like very, very annoyed when your internet alias was revealed to certain committee members. Just because your own anonymity is gone doesn't mean that others should have to do the same. To post on this message board you have to be registered - you have to have a consistent net-identity and that, quite frankly is good enough.

P.S. For anybody reading I should point out that Deise and myself are actually good, good mates. We're debating, not arguing (well I am anyway!)

Posted by SLK:
    It can be challenged legally but it won't be won.
    Okay, we seem to agree with the fact that it can be challenged legally. As far as winning it - I honestly can't say. As of yet the internet is a very grey area and until initial cases set the score who can tell how these things pan out.

you were like very, very annoyed when your internet alias was revealed to certain committee members.
    Actually what I was annoyed about was the fact that certain committee members snuck around behind my back to grill others as to my identity. It was the smalltimeness of it all that iritated me, as opposed to me being "outed."

I am not completely against all of Joe's post either. He has some very good points in there that I would readily agree with.

PS SLK we are debating but I'm gonna get when I see you!!!!

Bring it on! Half-time entertainment at the Pike....

slk Vs. Deise Deserter in a penalty competition!

Yea ... um .... penalty competition!

That's what I meant......

Hee hee hee....