Certain players you can tell there bad.. After each game im pretty sure the same comments will come up bout the same players.. There either good enough or there not
re: Michael McCarthy... he missed a couple of chances...but did manage to get by Lester on one occasion and cut the ball back across the 6 yard box but had no one in support. He's a big lad and may cause problems for a few 1st division side with a bit of decent coaching. Give him another chance I'd say.
Certain players you can tell there bad.. After each game im pretty sure the same comments will come up bout the same players.. There either good enough or there not
If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!
What the hell are you on about?!. When did i discuss the business side of Longford?. I was refering to the extremely poor player who was up front last night, then i heard he asked for a trail and got one, then i jokingly said can i've a trial too(i reckon i'd have put at least one of the one-on-ones away as would about 90% of people who've ever played the game). He came from Division 3 ffs!!![]()
There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D
taken from http://www.longfordleader.ie/sport/K...are.3944602.jp
"Dean Barrett started the game up front and he also was replaced by Mike McCarthy after 54 minutes. This big striker could be a huge success this season as anyone present at last week's under 20 friendly at Flancare Park would have to be impressed by the burly striker"
wasnt at the game last night but can he really be as bad as some of u make out?
we are going up
Im convinced he is David Lee in disguise!
If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!
oh no...he must be bad so![]()
we are going up
At under-20 level i can see how he could stand out, he would easily muscle out 18-19 year olds and would prove hard to take the ball off, would also have it easier in the air against young fellas.
He must be near 7 foot, was the tallest player on the pitch last night, fairly stocky too.(must be a farmer?, reminded me of a GAA player)
Anyone here have Pro Evo? just think of Adriano to get an impression of what he looks like compared to the rest.
While he might cut it at under-age level due to his size differance, at senior level he's up against fella's of similar size and build and with his lack of pace and footballing skills he's out of his depth, coupled with the fact he was beat 99% of the time in the air(which could be his only saving grace). I noticed on 2/3 occassions at least when the Longford goalie was hitting the ball up-field he was strolling back up the pitch at a snails pace, the first time i noticed it i taught he was been dropped to a defensive midfield role until about a minute later when he finally got back into position!!
Personally he was the worst player i've seen in the league.
I know it was said ''he's playing for free'' but come on lads there are better fella's then this who would play for free, as somebody here said he came from a division 3 club, it showed!!.
Last edited by gilberto_eire; 09/04/2008 at 4:05 PM.
There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D
Aren't his previous club only formed a year or two? Might explain why they're in that division, I don't know. He's not going to be a world beater but nobody suggested he was.Anyhow there's no point going on and on about him either way. It's getting boring.
Jaysus lads, give McCarthy a break. So he messed up a one on one with Rouse? I'd say less than 50% of ones on one result in goals. Longford missed three or four against us last year in Flancare.
I also thought for a big fella he had a great turn of pace and with coaching could be a fine player. Best of luck to him and Longford for the rest of the season.
they are strugglin in that league.. 4th bottom at the moment i think
Its a pity that we were knocked out but now we can focus on the league and shels on Friday.
C'Mon De Town
I know we lost last night but I was very impressed with Neil Gallagher he was easily the best player on the pitch for us.. andy bermingham was excellent as well and I thought Daithi Garry played good as well... It is a major stepup for these lads I would be quite willing to give them a chance.. leave the opinions for the end of the season.. I was delighted a good few new locals and reserves playing last night- kyle cawleys from tarmon, jimmy huseey from strokestown, Daithi Garry came from Mullingar, the other sub that came on cant remember his name is from castlebar( think he was the last sub)..
fair play to aaron for giving them a chance I would rather have lads that will sweat for the jersey than lads that are only there for the money...
First of all i wasnt in galway, but just taut i'd chip in!
I didnt expect us to go up this season, but i do expect us to try.
Saturday night was a reality check maybe, but when you see a bad match it takes a while to get your head rite again!
To be honest, I dont care if they finish last in the league once they flippin try their best in the games. I agree with you marthinhoII, would rather see those play for the jersey.
RE: McCarty, Of course we're all gonna have our opins on particular players, but remember one man does not make a team....
I feel a bit sorry for the young lads cos its a lot of pressure and expectation on their shoulders, its a pity theres not a bit more experience on the field, but I'll still be supporting the lads, and keeping the fingers crossed!!![]()
How did Chucky do as a matter of interest?
Chucky did alright. He made a couple of "meaty" challenges!. He was caught for pace a couple of times though.
Just want to correct those who were so quick to slate Mick, first of all he came from Seaviews first team who play in senior sunday AUL and was part of the team who only lost three-two to Portmarknock in the FAI junior cup. Give the lad a chance he's only played barely 90 mins and with a bit of experience at this level he could be a real threat.
evan connollys the name!
Big Mick was signed from seaview celtic's first team in the senior sunday aul league not from the div 3 sat aul. he scored 14 goals in 7 games. and was by far the best player in the league. so what if he is struggling to find his feet? give him a few games to settle in and you'll realise what potential he has!![]()