Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Have you ever met anybody famous?

Julia Roberts and Liam Neeson - filming Michael Collins. Didn't speak to them, mind. Their trailers were based in an old Sheriff Street car park while they were filming some city scenes. A few labourer lads kept roaring over "Julia!! - Get Dem off ye".

Had a (sort of) conversation with Eoin Hand in Quinns Pub, Drumcondra in 1993. I was obliterated drunk but was genuinely trying to convey to him that he had been very unlucky as Ireland Manager and that he'd laid the foundation for some of our success. He kept saying "Sorry son?, what you sayin?". I was like a desperate man in quick sand as I tried various ways of articulating this to him. I was in a terrible state. My mates were in fits laughing. Poor auld Eoin thought I was taking the pish. He looked very hurt which makes me sad even thinking about it now. Damn alcohol!!

Brendan Gleeson and Colm Meaney - Kennedy's Pub, Drumcondra. People kept quoting "The Snapper" at them. One bloke kept saying to them "That was A1 Sharon". They finally replied in unison "FECK OFF".
    Quoting years at random since 1975

112 Posts
    Served BBC presenter Angelica Bell in my old bar in London. She's a lot cuter in real life. Really chatty too.

http://www.contactmusic.com/photos.n...page=1&start=1
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Served BBC presenter Angelica Bell in my old bar in London. She's a lot cuter in real life. Really chatty too.

http://www.contactmusic.com/photos.n...page=1&start=1
    For a minute I thought you said you SERVICED her!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    For a minute I thought you said you SERVICED her!
    I wish! That picture does not do her justice. Unbelievably foxy in the flesh.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Cool collection of shots.

But am I the only one who looked at all those photos and instead of going "Look, it's Frank Kelly", etc, instead went "Ah! So that's what Réiteoir looks like, he is a lot taller/ shorter/ younger/ older/ etc. than I had thought"?
    Yes. I imagine you like this:

That's Magicme you're talking to. Blatantly you're going to rape her.

It's not really meeting someone famous (unless you count a prop buyer for TV famous)
    But I printed the Famous "I Shot J.R." t-shirt for that guy in Father Ted. I was working in T-Shirt Print in blanch and was asked to do cover in the St. Stephens Green branch on that particular day when the Prop buyer came in. I though the shirt was unusual and asked the girl what was the story behind it and she told me watch out for it in an episode of father ted. I know it was my one because we were out of I's that day so I cut the cross bar off a T and used that, and the J was made from 2/3 of a letter U

Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Yes. I imagine you like this:

That's Magicme you're talking to. Blatantly you're going to rape her.

Oi were you at the Christmas meet up or how did you get that pic? I was only showing him which key unlocks my chastity belt and anyway its not rape if I say yes is it bluey??
    Last edited by Magicme; 22/04/2008 at 5:55 PM. Reason: rogue "f"

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Oi were you at the Christmas meet up or how did you get that pic? I was only showing him which key unlocks my chastity belt and anyway its not rape if I say yes is it bluey??
    Well that was my defence at court the last time...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Flavour Flav and Chuck D from Public Enemy
    Martin Sheen
    Belinda Carlisle
    Tim Robbins
    Mani from the stone roses - a madman!!
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

1,553 Posts
    I once killed a famous guy with a trident.

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    It's not really meeting someone famous (unless you count a prop buyer for TV famous)
    But I printed the Famous "I Shot J.R." t-shirt for that guy in Father Ted. I was working in T-Shirt Print in blanch and was asked to do cover in the St. Stephens Green branch on that particular day when the Prop buyer came in. I though the shirt was unusual and asked the girl what was the story behind it and she told me watch out for it in an episode of father ted. I know it was my one because we were out of I's that day so I cut the cross bar off a T and used that, and the J was made from 2/3 of a letter U
    haha....cool story..

Quote Originally Posted by Youwerethereray View Post
    Mani from the stone roses - a madman!!
    ha, i met them too in manhattan the day everton beat united in the cup final in 1995 i think it was. they weren't too happy about it!
    zombie/thread killer..

I Met Jebus the other night. he's pretty famous around here

Had a wee beside your man from Boyzone with the Tattoos.
    Terry Phelan. Ledge.
    Interviewed and humiliated on radio by Donnacha O'Domhlainn.
    Niall Quinn
    Your man from the BBC who got kidnapped last year in Iraq.
    Mick McCarthy. Very Sound.
    Tony Cascarino. Nice fella.
    Richie Kavanagh. Aon Focal hmmmm
    Stephen Tomkinson i think his name is. Didn't like him. (The priest from Bally K)
    A few different bands.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

I met Trapattoni yesterday! Lovely smiling man!

I too have met Trapattoni (twice). A lovely man.
    Bono.
    Bertie Ahern.
    Gerry Adams.
    Richard Dunne.
    John Bruton.
    Sean Brady, the Archbishop.
    Ian Paisley (sound, strangely enough).
    Ray Houghton.
    Eamon Dunphy.
    Samantha Mumba (hot.)
    Joe Royle.
    Peter Robinson (not very nice.)
    George Best.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinmick View Post
    I too have met Trapattoni (twice). A lovely man.
    Bono.
    Bertie Ahern.
    Gerry Adams.
    Richard Dunne.
    John Bruton.
    Sean Brady, the Archbishop.
    Ian Paisley (sound, strangely enough).
    Ray Houghton.
    Eamon Dunphy.
    Samantha Mumba (hot.)
    Joe Royle.
    Peter Robinson (not very nice.)
    George Best.
    I've met Gerry so many times now it's normal so I forgot to mention him

My brother met Suggs from Madness during the week.

On introducing himself he said to Suggs - "I hope you're happy with yourself. You've got Captain Birdseye on the dole"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    My brother met Suggs from Madness during the week.

On introducing himself he said to Suggs - "I hope you're happy with yourself. You've got Captain Birdseye on the dole"
    Ha brilliant

The list for myself would be:

Roy Keane(numerous times)
    Packie Bonner
    Paul McGrath
    Daniel O'Donnell(legend!)
    Raimand Van Der Gouw
    Brian McClair(bit of a grump)
    Sam Torrance(not a nice man)
    Eamonn Darcy
    Padraig Harrington(I asked him for a golf ball...he said no)
    Sonia O'Sullivan
    Jimmy White
    Ronnie O'Sullivan
    Neil Lennon
    Seán óg O'Hailpin, Diarmuid O'Sullivan(Sat next to them on a plane from Dublin, we started flopping pure orange juice)
    Brian Corcoran
    Darren Clarke
    Lee Westwood
    Colin Montgomerie
    Graham McDowell
    Sandy Lyle
    Ian Poulter(He signed his autograph with a pink pen!)
    Ian Woosnam
    Paul Casey
    Thomas Levet(Very Funny man)
    Thomas Bjorn
    Seve Ballesteros(funny man, what a shame he's retired!)
    Fred Funk
    Justin Rose

I hope I didn't forget anybody!..............I think I did!
    Last edited by rambler14; 24/06/2008 at 3:26 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

I dropped the singer from Kosheen back to her tour bus because she was ****ed drunk in the pub that i worked in. She came in the next day and put myself & my wife on the guest list and brought us back stage after the gig.

When my mate played for Sunderland I went out a few times with some of the players.

Met the Man Utd team in the players Lounge at Sunderland.

John Aldridge Stayed back for a few pints in bar in Dublin where I worked.

I met Aqua of Barbie Girl Fame

Paddy Cerrand was in the pub I worked in when Man Utd played Sturm Graz in 2000.

Met some of the Irish team when they where on one of their nights out before a match. Remember I was working in the kitchen which had an open front on it and Jason Mc Ateer just picked up one of the meals and started eating it.

Tom Butler (Swansea City) is a mate of mine
    Pull my finger!!!

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast