Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Have you ever met anybody famous?

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Was anyone else in the car?
    Her coach and someone else, not sure who she was though.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Damn! I'm sure she could've done with an extra warm-up.

Would the coach let you talk to her? Apparently she likes Sherlock Holmes books. Many's the time I've eased into a chat-up with the "oh, you look clever, I bet you like detective books" line, works a charm.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    Would the coach let you talk to her? Apparently she likes Sherlock Holmes books. Many's the time I've eased into a chat-up with the "oh, you look clever, I bet you like detective books" line, works a charm.
    We're under strict instructions not to initiate any conversation, but you just gave me a great idea. Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Robert Fisk thread reminded me that I met George Galloway in Cork last year when he was at a debate in UCC. Have to say form my brief 5 minute conversation with the man that he came across as a thoroughly decent bloke

Franz ferdinand
    Kings of Leon
    Arthur Lee
    Damien Rice
    John Hartson
    Mick McCarthy
    Zoe Ball
    Niall Quinn
    Tommy Tiernan
    Tony O'donoghue!
    Dava Fanning
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Franz ferdinand
    Your name isn't Princhip by any chance?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

no, but i do have a time machine
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    We're under strict instructions not to initiate any conversation, but you just gave me a great idea. Going to head down to the book shop and get 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' and just leave it on the back seat. We'll see if you're right or not.
    Make sure you pronounce her name right and I'm sure she'll be very impressed. The stress is on the 'ap'..

Sharapova, not Shara-pova.

60 Posts
    DeeDee Ramone, God rest him, walking down D'Olier St- got his autograph. He was looking for a castle with suits of armour and stuff!

Also, met Bono when he was lost in Kindlestown woods with his missus and kids. I was mountain-biking there and showed them the way out. Met them later at the gate when he said thanks. If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Seagull View Post
    Also, met Bono when he was lost in Kindlestown woods with his missus and kids. I was mountain-biking there and showed them the way out. Met them later at the gate when he said thanks. If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!
    Did they find what they were looking for?

If it wasn't for me, he might still be wandering around up there!
    You are now my enemy.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Numerous Irish players down the years
    Liverpool players from 80s incl Dalglish, Hansen etc
    Stood two feet away from Maradona as he boarded the bus outside Lansdowne.

SHAKIRA in a hotel in Barcelona - oh yes

and The Man of the 20th Century - MOHAMMED ALI.

When Ali was in Dublin in 1972 (he fought Al Blue Lewis in Croker) he visited a local hospital and lifted up my four month old baby sister.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    If you pull Maria you'll be a foot.ie legend even more so if it's because you left a Sherlock Holmes book in your car!!!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    where sycamore road?!

That post has really made me laugh, im sending it onto lads now. one of the lads over here on the team is a dub and the manager calls him jimmy after jimmy keaveney and that is quite funny given where it originated...
    Yeah, very close Paul - Bono lived on Cedarwood Rd which is only a stones throw from Sycamore.

My Da was still far more impressed the he'd met Jimmy!!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

112 Posts
    I once saw Groanin Ronan Keating on a BMI flight to Dublin from Heathrow. He's frighteningly small and ginger. He was glued to his mobile a lot waiting for the flight. the next day, Boyzone reform.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    You are now my enemy.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Yeah, very close Paul - Bono lived on Cedarwood Rd which is only a stones throw from Sycamore.
    I suspect that GavinZac would like you to have measured that, with extreme prejudice...
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Juninho (tiny!!)
    Ravenelli
    Kenny Dalglsh
    Robbie Keane
    Have played a few matches with the Fiar City Charity 11
    Westlife a few times
    Emerson (the long haired one!)
    Damien Duff
    Brendan O' Carrol
    Mark Kennedy
    Louie Walsh
    Pat Kenny
    Nadine Coyle
    Stereophonics
    PJ Gallagher
    Brian McFadden
    Jack Charlton
    Paul McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by biscuit View Post
    Juninho (tiny!!)

Stereophonics
    I'd forgotten about them. There's a Hot Press cover with the Stereophonics sitting on the bonnet of my car, with my previous car in the background.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    I once saw Groanin Ronan Keating on a BMI flight to Dublin from Heathrow. He's frighteningly small and ginger. He was glued to his mobile a lot waiting for the flight. the next day, Boyzone reform.
    Myself and some mates were on our way home from a stag in Manchester a few years ago and Keith Duffy was on our flight. We let him know he was our favourite in Westlife
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Mikey is my fav but Keith is a close 2nd. Had the pair of them in fits of laughter while they were being interviewed for TG4 once by making faces and blowing kisses at them.

Louis Walsh started his career in the business of show by lugging equipment for my dad's band. Sorry world.

Edit: While waiting for How Low Can You Go to start on RTE caught the end of Hollywood Trials and the bould Mikey (or Michael as he is calling himself) is on it. Also 2 others that I have met before are on the way to possible stardom in Hollywood. Joe (guy from Guinness ads went to same college as me and I almost shared a house with him) and Susan whose mum is from Monaghan and she used to come here on holidays. She went out with an old mate of mine and came with us to see REM at Slane! Mad.
    Last edited by Magicme; 10/04/2008 at 9:21 PM.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast