Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Have you ever met anybody famous?

291 Posts
    Met and had a pint with Shane MaGowan in Carnival on Camden Street.

Eddie Irvine when he visited our college.

Lily Allen in a London nightclub.

Chatted to Gordon Ramsey last year when at his restaurant in New York (don't ask!).

Bought Steve O'Flynn and Clive Delaney pints in Derry.

Seen Brendan Courtney of your a star "fame" on grafton street yesterday with his wife and baby

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    I played in the CCFC Legends v Celebrities match and met a few politicians, radio DJs, and apparently a couple of rugby internationals who'd been at World Cups, but I can't remember most of them as I was far more star struck by the CCFC legends
    Hmm. Were you a CCFC Legend or a Celebrity. If the former, might I suggest that you may be more of a CCFC Myth?

Funnily enough, you remind me that I used to play football with Stephen Alkin years ago. He always called me and another bloke on the team "Ray" for some reason, despite neither of us being Ray. Memories of him commentating made hearing him calling for the ball down the right side seem a bit too surreal.

Strangely enough, I also used play football with Don Wycherly, of Bachelor's Walk and BallyK. Owing to the latter, he used be known as "Father".
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Seen Brendan Courtney of your a star "fame" on grafton street yesterday with his wife and baby
    Brendan O'Connor no?
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Yep Sorry you're right. I just googled "Your a Star Brendan" and in the description of the first site it said Brendan Courtney he's that gay fella of RTE isn't he

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Yep Sorry you're right. I just googled "Your a Star Brendan" and in the description of the first site it said Brendan Courtney he's that gay fella of RTE isn't he
    Thats what threw me, him with a wife and child!

Moi, I have met sweet f all celebs and not too bothered. Met Shane Filan and Kian Egan of Westlife fame, Kerry Katona, Fran Cosgrove, few from Fairly ****ty. Most z listers!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

met colin farrell in the local shop around the corner from his house 100% sound he was, tina o'brien,michelle heaton are 2 highlights both much better looking in the flesh, but smaller than i imagined! mick mccarthy, lucy kennedy,sile seoige,ronan o gara, peter stringer, tim wheeler (from ash) oh and paul osam lives 2 doors up from me!!!

Met Johnny Vegas in San Francisco once. Top bloke. Sound out and invited us to a party he was having that night at his hotel. Couldn't go due to friends party we had to attend. Regreted it ever since. Stupid friends..

Denis Irwin, Brian Kerr, Ian Rush, Packie Bonner, Don Givens, Niall Quinn(was in his house and all!)
    Cmon County!

Met Phil Lynott's mother and his dog Gnasher

Old f...ing dog man!!

Met Richard Harris when I was a kid as well

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Met and had a pint with Shane MaGowan in Carnival on Camden Street.

Eddie Irvine when he visited our college.

Lily Allen in a London nightclub.

Chatted to Gordon Ramsey last year when at his restaurant in New York (don't ask!).

Bought Steve O'Flynn and Clive Delaney pints in Derry.
    ...oh, and Cat Deeley!

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    A list to Z list it (doesn't matter) have you got any good stories to tell?!
    My dad ran into Bono at the local shop a couple of years ago.

Bono is originally from around my neck of the woods and he tends to drop back the odd time.

It was early morning and literally noone else around only my Dad and Bono on the street.

My Dad said "Bono - you're the second living legend I've met. The first was Jimmy Keaveny" (A Dublin GAA Footballer).

Bono replied "Yeah - but its only right they'll remember Jimmy. They won't remember me!!!"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Hmm. Were you a CCFC Legend or a Celebrity. If the former, might I suggest that you may be more of a CCFC Myth?
    Can't be telling ye that
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

214 Posts
    Chris Eubank - handshake like a bear.

Ronan O'Gara- handshake like a girl. This was just after the Namibia game. If I knew it was going to get worse I'd have lent him some of the money he allegedly owed.

Pete Doherty/Carlos Barat - This was when the Libertines had just started to take off. Post gig they were both drinking a bottle of whisky each (neat).

Neil Morrissey (men behaving badly) - I don't think anybody recognised him at the bar (Ralf Little was with him). I had a pint with em both. My mate had never heard of men behaving badly or the roylefamily and thought they were people I knew haha!!! Next time I turned round there was a queue of very attractive girls just ready to pounce. The lucky sod had to sign a lot of body parts that night. Very strange.......

Nigel Clough, seen Kevin Doyle at Dublin airport the morning after he got the winner against Slovakia, Neil Lennon, Ricky Hatton.

No supermodels yet but I wait in vain. I'd love to meet Maradona, Noel or Liam Gallagher and Ali.

Met Joe Elliott when I worked in the Customs and Excise branch of the Revenue, he was sound.

Jack Charlton, Chris Kamara, Jeff Stelling (Legend), Jordan!!!

Was at a wedding in the gresham years ago and went into Rumours afterwards and lo and behold there was Satunton and most of the Irish squad on the lash for Stauntons stag, me and me mates ended up on the **** with them in the hotel bar til the small hours.

Met most the Liverpool team from the 87/88 season except Barry Venison (muppet).

Seen Bernie Slaven getting blanked by all the women in tomangos years ago all because Bonner was also there

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    My dad ran into Bono at the local shop a couple of years ago.

Bono is originally from around my neck of the woods and he tends to drop back the odd time.

It was early morning and literally noone else around only my Dad and Bono on the street.

My Dad said "Bono - you're the second living legend I've met. The first was Jimmy Keaveny" (A Dublin GAA Footballer).

Bono replied "Yeah - but its only right they'll remember Jimmy. They won't remember me!!!"
    where sycamore road?!

That post has really made me laugh, im sending it onto lads now. one of the lads over here on the team is a dub and the manager calls him jimmy after jimmy keaveney and that is quite funny given where it originated...
    Last edited by sligoman; 09/04/2008 at 4:33 PM.

230 Posts

Sharapova update

Damn, that women is beautiful. Photo's just don't do her any justice. Very nice and courteous also. Trying to get a picture with her is just about impossible though. They made me turn in my mobile whilst in the car and handed me a walkie-talkie...bathstuds. Her coach is one obnoxious *****! Next date is Thursday...have to get creative.

She has an interesting warm up routine. Starts out by throwing an American football around. Not bad either.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 11/05/2008 at 5:24 AM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Was anyone else in the car?

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast