Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: League Cup v Longford

75 Posts
    Unfortunately My Town it was and I actually checked with the man on the gate.It actually looked less than that at the game granted maybe you counted the Civil Defence,Stewards and the 3 Sword Security Staff.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

20 quid is way over the top for the first round of the league cup. Absolutely crazy who ever came up with those prices - Were they still charging the extra 5 euro to get into the new stand?
    Add to this the fact that they knew they were going head to head with the Champions League - Baffling!
    And remember it doesn't make a difference harking on about the few hundred die hards that turned up. They are the supporters that will stick with the club through thick and thin, not the people who will bring teh extra money in to move the club to a new level.
    How about making it 10 quid to get in and a fiver if you have a season tkt - I for one would have turned up if this was the case.

there were many people of the same opinion - that after forking out for the season ticket there should have been some concession with it

i know there are the FAI regulations - but united might have made a few more quid in the long run if some gesture was made

what a goal by lester

hopefully this will encourage the lads - but bear in mind it was essentially a second team in the cup

really need a good crowd behind them on friday night
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by Sumac View Post
    20 quid is way over the top for the first round of the league cup. Absolutely crazy who ever came up with those prices - Were they still charging the extra 5 euro to get into the new stand?
    Add to this the fact that they knew they were going head to head with the Champions League - Baffling!
    And remember it doesn't make a difference harking on about the few hundred die hards that turned up. They are the supporters that will stick with the club through thick and thin, not the people who will bring teh extra money in to move the club to a new level.
    How about making it 10 quid to get in and a fiver if you have a season tkt - I for one would have turned up if this was the case.
    Quote Originally Posted by corbyeire View Post
    there were many people of the same opinion - that after forking out for the season ticket there should have been some concession with it

i know there are the FAI regulations - but united might have made a few more quid in the long run if some gesture was made

what a goal by lester

hopefully this will encourage the lads - but bear in mind it was essentially a second team in the cup

really need a good crowd behind them on friday night

Lad's do ye really think even one extra person would have came up if it was cheaper, €20 is nothing these days and it's the standard admission for basically ALL clubs. You can't go dropping it for certain games, cause even more will be moaning another time, ''I only paid €10 last week....''., The prices were set over a month ago, can't see why so many people are still going on about it.

Corby was right there, there are FAI regulations, League cup games are no longer included in season tickets and since our admission was set to €20 for the season allowing people in for less would only result in the club having to mkake up the differance to pay Longford!. It would also have ZERO impact on attendance. Fans go to games, fair-weathers come when we're winning, fair-weathers till though include ''admission'' as an excuse when there on about how bad we're doing i.e ''...€20 to see that crap?'' i've heard a number of times, if it was a €10 in it would just be ''....im not going to see that crap''

The bums will return when we're winning, admission of €20 has done frig all this season!!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 09/04/2008 at 12:29 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

There was not an extra charge into the new stand.

There was no extra charge into the new stand last night.Had a great view of O'Shea's strike from the top tier(i mean top row).I remember a tuesday night game in the premier division a few years ago vrs Derry City.There was 53 people at it,was easily able to count them.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    Lad's do ye really think even one extra person would have came up if it was cheaper, €20 is nothing these days and it's the standard admission for basically ALL clubs. You can't go dropping it for certain games, cause even more will be moaning another time, ''I only paid €10 last week....''., The prices were set over a month ago, can't see why so many people are still going on about it.

Corby was right there, there are FAI regulations, League cup games are no longer included in season tickets and since our admission was set to €20 for the season allowing people in for less would only result in the club having to mkake up the differance to pay Longford!. It would also have ZERO impact on attendance. Fans go to games, fair-weathers come when we're winning, fair-weathers till though include ''admission'' as an excuse when there on about how bad we're doing i.e ''...€20 to see that crap?'' i've heard a number of times, if it was a €10 in it would just be ''....im not going to see that crap''

The bums will return when we're winning, admission of €20 has done frig all this season!!
    Totally disagree with the comment "Lad's do ye really think even one extra person would have came up if it was cheaper"

I'm a season ticket holder (have been for years) and this year I bought an extra Tiger season ticket so the young fella (age 7) could always bring one of his friends.

I could not financially justify paying the €30 or so for me and the young fella plus his bag of crips etc etc..I'ld have gone if it was a tenner or so.

A mate of mine felt the same way.

Not penny pinching ..just fact!

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post

The new manager should be in place by next week.
    Didnt wait too long to pick a new manager.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

75 Posts
    I forgot to insert put in place (your guess is as good as mine). By the vibes last night it looks like its a few weeks away yet but with the series of Games coming up its vital we get 12 points minimum out the next six games.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Flano View Post
    Totally disagree with the comment "Lad's do ye really think even one extra person would have came up if it was cheaper"

I'm a season ticket holder (have been for years) and this year I bought an extra Tiger season ticket so the young fella (age 7) could always bring one of his friends.

I could not financially justify paying the €30 or so for me and the young fella plus his bag of crips etc etc..I'ld have gone if it was a tenner or so.

I thought it was the perfect chance to charge €15 for adults as a promotion but im afraid its a brick wall as far as this is concerned.

Quote Originally Posted by Flano View Post

Sorry to be so blunt but i can't see how you can call yourself a real fan, if your not going to go at times due to payment(a small one at that, once a fortnight, the equivilent of 4 pints), if everyone took that view then we'd have had no fans there last night!.

Everybody wants to see us do well but nobody wants there money to go towards it!!

You already have the price of the season ticket covered so to say you could'nt afford the admission seems a bit odd. Anyone with a job can afford to pay in, i'm on the bare minimum wage and i was still able to pay the entrance as were all the usual heads from the back of the old stand. So if it was a bigger match you still would'nt be able to stump up the money?. Must have been a great coincidance that the champions league was also on the same time?!

I'd have more respect for the fans who prefered to watch there ''first team''(liverpool, arsenal) then fans that are not going to go to a game cause it's not of any real ''importance'' and worth €20.

Sorry to go on such a rant but it's just typical Galway stuff here again, no bus to our last away game either cause 99% of ''fans'' don't bother there arse to try make it to at least one game a season, wonder how many other teams won't bring a bus to a game this season?. Most of our fans want it all with as little inconvienince and cost as possible!!

Not aimin this whole thread on you Flano just the general view of Galway fans around the town, was just your first line that made me speak up!

1,553 Posts
    I have to say I disagree with you Gilberto. Some people with jobs have a lot of expenses and responsibilities, and when they look at a league cup game at that price may decide it's hard to justify spending that.

Also- obviously a lot of season ticket holders didn't go last night and if they aren't real fans then who is? The champions league game no doubt caused a lot of damage to the crowd, but the price was pretty steep. And in any case, clubs need to attract people beyond the 'real fans'. For example, I used to attend a fair few GU games- but now I'll most likely only be there when it's Harps because of the expense has crossed the tipping point were I think it's good value. I may not really represent a possible convert, but I think the logic holds true for people who would be. I appreciate what GU are trying to do and that it has to be paid for- but there needs to be caution or else the pricing could backfire.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I have to say I disagree with you Gilberto. Some people with jobs have a lot of expenses and responsibilities, and when they look at a league cup game at that price may decide it's hard to justify spending that.

Also- obviously a lot of season ticket holders didn't go last night and if they aren't real fans then who is? The champions league game no doubt caused a lot of damage to the crowd, but the price was pretty steep. And in any case, clubs need to attract people beyond the 'real fans'. For example, I used to attend a fair few GU games- but now I'll most likely only be there when it's Harps because of the expense has crossed the tipping point were I think it's good value. I may not really represent a possible convert, but I think the logic holds true for people who would be. I appreciate what GU are trying to do and that it has to be paid for- but there needs to be caution or else the pricing could backfire.
    I understand what your saying but your reasons to not attend are as good as any in that your a fan of a differant club!.

You can be sure there was score loads of people in watching there beloved english clubs instead.

We could'nt alter the admission as it would have came out of the clubs pocket.
    Have you seen the amount of stuff still been posted on the €20 admission?, imagine changing it for certain games, it would get 10 times worse.

Also how can you constitute what is and is'nt a €20 game?. Best to just charge the going rate and leave it at that!!.

I know people have other expenses so do i, but you can be sure of all the people who say they could'nt afford it there was quite a few drinking it watching the champions league instead!!.

Did you see the amount of **** here pre-season when we brought our season tickets IN LINE with everyone else's?.

A lot of our fans want it all but nobody wants to contribute anything towards it.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    I thought it was the perfect chance to charge €15 for adults as a promotion but im afraid its a brick wall as far as this is concerned.

Spot on Tommy...I think in the England they have Category A,B,C games and price varies depening on the category of game. Why could the club not do the same for the League Cub..€10 would have brought a few extra out..not several hundreds but maybe one or two hundred.

55 Posts

an example

I was sitting in my sitting room with my family at 6.30 before the longford game, wife kids etc. I checked my pockets no notes just a bit of loose change after the day out working. I said across the table to herself "have you any money on ya there ,save me goin to the cash machine darling" She says to me your always the same it will be written on your headstone " I will pay you back later". She says how much do you need and i retort €20 to get in €5 for the fancy stand, €2 for ronans lotto, a cup of tea and a bar of chocolate. Well she nearly choked on the tea and was visibly shocked. At this stage i said to myself " i better not mention the price of the new scarves and hats" anyway to cut a long story short i had to go the cash machine and by god i didnt mention how much the season ticket was. Now I paid no problem but as herself said id fly to barcelona for that and that my friends is the crux. The new crowd will pick and choose what they will pay and price has now unfortunately become a serious deciding factor in going to games.

what happened to the extra 5euro to get into new stand? im only 15 so i only pay 10 anyways?

[QUOTE=gilberto_eire;917013]Sorry to be so blunt but i can't see how you can call yourself a real fan QUOTE]

I think this comment is disrespectful Gilberto. I accept you say its not aimed at Flano, but do you mean to say that if I(or any other fan) fell on hard times in the next few months and couldnt afford to pay into our Cup games during the season that this makes me any less of a supporter/real fan? We are all fans of Utd, the definition of a real fan is not clear so we should keep our thoughts on it to ourselves and not preach to those who may not be able to go to a match for whatever reason.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by galwaygirl View Post
    Will we see you in Foxs before the match Martinho
    unfortunately I only read this message today.. I was giving somebody a lift up and back to Longford and wouldnt have time to stop before and after the game...

another time eh galway girl?

Fair paly to the 30 odd Longfordians who travelled and wore their colours with pride. I thought the captain (Luke Hardy?), the red haired left full, and the goalie did well.

you have to stick by them thro thick and thin.. i rem well the good bad days from abbeycartron.. the red haired lad was alan o riordan who we got from burnley ...

[QUOTE=Tir Oilean;917242]
    Sorry to be so blunt but i can't see how you can call yourself a real fan QUOTE]

I think this comment is disrespectful Gilberto. I accept you say its not aimed at Flano, but do you mean to say that if I(or any other fan) fell on hard times in the next few months and couldnt afford to pay into our Cup games during the season that this makes me any less of a supporter/real fan? We are all fans of Utd, the definition of a real fan is not clear so we should keep our thoughts on it to ourselves and not preach to those who may not be able to go to a match for whatever reason.
    How not?. I'll say something now i've spotted since i posted my first reply, the only fan who tried to dismiss my point about it been down to money and not anything else was Flano. He did'nt say it was champions league. Saw on his profile on GUFC.NET that his favourite team is Liverpool, so his explanation earlier about why he did'nt go couldnt have been true, as Liverpool were playing Champions League 1/4 final, so i doubt if your favourite team is playing a big game your going to go to your second choices league cup game!

I also said earlier i'd have more respect for somebody he choose the champions league then somebody who says they possibly can't afford it, so the only person i've seen so far critising my original post about there not been anymore coming had the admission been less still stands imo.

I'll reiterate it again, admission last night did no affect attendences, it was the Champions League and our recent form, if your going to go to the match then a measly €20 is'nt going to get in the way of that. Any working man can afford it, most of us here have a few bets and pints with our money at the weekend to know there's usually money available for your real interests!

I was'nt making assertions about what or what not a real fan is, it's debatable and we all have our own views, but if your going to say you can't afford to follow the team for €20 a fortnight when your a working man then i don't know whats happening last time i checked €20 did'nt last long in a shop/pub

At some point there are times when we probably would be broke and unable to attend but with last nights game that was not the case for at least 99% of people who did'nt come it was two previous mentioned reasons.

I'll reiterate it again, admission last night did no affect attendences, it was the Champions League and our recent form, if your going to go to the match then a measly €20 is'nt going to get in the way of that. Any working man can afford it
    You've already been proved wrong on this thread by actual galway fans saying they didn't go because of price. Dpn't forget that a lot of "working men" go with partners and/or kids and all those extra €5s and €10s add up (particularly if you're already having to justify spending so much on the team as it is). There's a huge value for money aspect to it too. Some might think its ok to spend €20 to see you play the top teams but feel they are being ripped off by paying €20 to see Longford's reserves

BTW Pats charged €10 into a league cup with UCD last year. Our Normal price was €15 and €20. I think we got a bigger crowd than we would've normally

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast