Thread: Cork bid for Keating

Cork bid for Keating

Cork City have put in a bid for Eoin Keating, which I'm led to believe is decent enough, but two of our 'committee' members refused it. Keating himself has expressed interest in playing at a higher level, ( though he says he will respect any decision the club make)and the club could sure do with the cash. I know we should try and hold what we have and maybe keep hoping for the best, but in the cold light of day, beggars can't be choosers and if this helps our plight to stay alive then why are the two idiots blocking such a move? It's also been confirmed 100% as Deise or LFC in Exile reported that a potential investor was scared off by John Purcells refusal to abdicate from his regal Commercial Managerial Throne...Nice, or what??
    I'm off now to try and find out who the two objecters to Keatso's move were. Lads we've really got to do something about this Purcell man before it's too late. It's not as if any of us appreciate anything he's been doing or saying, plus it's gotta be affecting his son also, who must be mortified at the luck he drew in the parentage stakes.

I'd hate to see Keating go - and I'd hate to see the vultures circling to split up what is a fine side - but if there is a good offer on the table then he should be allowed go. As long as Cork don't think they can ride us on it (and I doubt they would) then it is fair to Keating too to give him a crack at it. he is better than both of Cork's full backs.

And in any event I doubt he has a multi-season contract. He can just walk at the end of the season anyway - and if he is not being paid for a few weeks he can walk too.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Question

Who is this Keating player?

I'm guessing hes a midfielder?

All rounder really...has played right full or central midfield for us, and is arguably our best and most consistent player. He'd definitely make ye're side at the moment as I've seen a bit of ye.He played with UCD when up there in college a couple of seasons ago and Doolin loved him. He also is a good bog-baller and indeed was part of the Limerick Senior Football panel this season before having to choose. Ye'd be doing well to land him.

If the bid is a fair one then I think Limerick should allow Eoin Keating to talk to Cork. We need money just to survive now and all the class players in the world won't be any use to us if the club goes under.

Eoin is a smashing lad and a fine player as well who deserves another chance in the top-flight and I certainly wouldn't hold it against him if he took a move. He's versatile, competitive and has already scored twice for us this season. We've already seen him at right-full, left-full, centre-half, central midfield and left wing this season. If he goes, it'll leave a huge hole but we have to balance our books.

which guy was he? Can't picture him from the games I was at. We need right winger, central mid and left-full OR left winger

I've just ascertained from an ultra reliable source that the two on the committee who voted to decline Corks offer were John Purcell..no surprises there, but the other did surprise me. It was a fellow named O'Sullivan...Michael O'Sullivan. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but did he not pack it all in a couple of weeks ago???If so....what right has he to sit in on committee meetings, and decide the future of the club?? None I'd say, so why doesn't he toddle off to toyland where he's been living for the past few months and stay there, or get on with saving the club, being realistic about things and stop fannying about with idle threats of resignation. I know he's done a lot for the club financially to his own detriment but that doesn't give him the right to announce retirement from the club then still try to control it.

57 Posts
    It depends on how much Cork offered surely - anyone know the figure.

lims fan

right decision

not to sell - we hardly have 13 players and keating wouldn't even make the city reserve team for god's sake. He doesn't even start games for lims.

Harsh Lims...

... disagree completely, he has been excellent so far this season and if a GOOD deal is on offer for him we should go for it.

Re: Harsh Lims...

Originally posted by BlueisBeautiful
    ... disagree completely, he has been excellent so far this season and if a GOOD deal is on offer for him we should go for it.
    BisB don't be so smalltime.......
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Rumours say 6,000 euro for Keating.

I think we should be looking for more than this for such a fine player.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

KEATING

I know that in these troubled times limerick needs cash badly,but selling a good player like keating would be a step back 6,000 as reported is nothing for him.Limerick needs to try and hold onto what good players they have and this team is the best limerick has had in a while.Limerick needs to try and build finances without breaking up the current squad which are good enough to get promoted.

Agreed. 6,000 euros is not enough for a player of this quality.

Question. How much will we get in the close season. I presume at that stage he can walk for nothing. In fact, one big problem of surviving from week to week is that the other clubs will com esniffign around at close season (if they aren't already doing to) and we can expect to lose O'Flynn, Purcell, the Kerry lads, Sweeney at least.

6,000 euros now to kep current players happy might pay dividends in the longer term.

lims fan

€6,000

is an insult and shows how little respect cork city and Noel the Scavanger O'Connor have for limerick FC. Why doesn't take his poxy 6 grand buy a few pies and get o'connor a couple of kgs of brisket which o'connor can stuff dolan full of. Not too sure the best way to cook brisket but i'm sure it can be fried or even grilled with some seasoning and plenty of peppers and some chowder to burn the mouth off fat dolan. Hands off fat boy or come back with a non-insulting offer.

no disrespect (i know nothing about keating) but 6,000euro isn't bad.

for a young midfielder who's never played in the prem. div. and therefore hasn't got the pedigree eg. jason byrne had when he left a 1st div club.
    city's record signing is only 15,000 (for devine, one of the leagues best keepers) and recently they offered a lad from aston villa a 5,000euro sign on bonus (which can be counted as what they could afford in lieu of a transfer fee for him).

clubs will likely offer low given your current situation but that's just business sense.

it is a good sign for LFC though that there is confidence there in the club's future to reject the offer made.

Think about it

I'd say the only reason the two boys objected is to try to make city bid even more, dangerous game. I'd doubt anyone else will come in for him since hardly anyone else has money or much info on him.

Ye'd get €6k right away and his wages off the bill, keep ye going for another month to find an investor anyway.
    Oh no not them again

I agree its an insulting offer, but so is what offers city are likely to get for o'flynn etc., The market is totally depressed and prices are lower than they should be. If City won't get good/fair prices for their players, how can they afford to pay fair prices for other players?!

Limerick may even get more players to sign for them in the future if its seen as a steppings tone to a big club.

Originally posted by pete
    Limerick may even get more players to sign for them in the future if its seen as a steppings tone to a big club.
    Didn't know Pats/Bohs/Shels/Rovers were in for any of their players... (Sorry couldn't resist)

6,000 is quite a lot for any player in our league as nobody pays money for any players (waiting for them to be out of contract instead)

Don't know anything about the lad and Cork may be getting a steal but from the souns of it, 6K would go a long way in Limerick at the moment...