Thread: Grand National

Grand National

Thoughts people? Haven't had a decent look yet but cana't believe Cloudy Lane will go off at around 5/1 No way would I be putting money on at a price like that. I know the fences are a lot safer these days and he's very well off in the weights but with that amount of horses in the race, he can get knocked about or hampered very easily. The fences are still major obstacles despite being safer too so he doesn't represent any value at all for me.

I notice Point Barrow is about 20/1. Let the side down badly last year but looks too big a price. Maybe I've missed something, haven't been keeping up to date with the horse this year.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

238 Posts
    Comply or die at 10/1 could be tempting.
    I always put €2 e/w on a big outsider for the craic as usually in a race like this anything is possible, so, Joacci at 66/1 gets my vote. Was tempted for Fundamentalist at 66/1 too but meh, I'll lose enough money over the day.
    Joes Edge on the reserve list would get a few punts if he were to be brought in especially at 33/1.

Simon has dropped from 25/1 in recent weeks right down to 12/1. He'll be my horse in this years national.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Simon has dropped from 25/1 in recent weeks right down to 12/1. He'll be my horse in this years national.
    Go away with him. Being my namesake i backed him in a race there a few months ago, did'nt even get involved!!. I remember my friend telling me about him there two years ago, first time i heard of him, won a race when the front two fell at the second-last/last
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

chelsea harbour each way

Going for mon mome (trainer & jockey good win yesterday STAN at 50-1, why did I think by his name he'd be a donkey?), Butlers Cabin and osmosses all small each way bets..... well backed ossmoses at 150/1 antepost - may lay him off for a scabby freebie.

looking forward to it...

No idea about horses. Had Slim Pickings e/w last year though so might go for win this time.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    D'Argent might be worth a try at 29-1, good eachway bet with a chance of winning. It can run this kind of distance if it gets round.
    Comply or Die is probably better value than Cloudy Lane.

So here is the Tricast

1 D'Argent
    2 Comply or Die
    2 Cloudy Lane

Should pay about 1800-1 well worth a punt

Simon to win, (shudder realising im agreeing with r14) i backed him 3 weeks ago at 16/1, have always backed simon due to it being the grandads name and all that, good tough horse but has been very disapointing since the national last year, vodka bleu & hedgehunter e/w and also chelsaea harbour to win. My 4. Watchin aintree today it was unreal the amount of fallers, roll on 4.15 saturday, all the animal rights crowd will be snapping but the excitement of the horses falling in aintree is second to none. Best race of the year, come on simon!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

244 Posts
    King Johns Castle & Snowy Morning- Each Way for me.

238 Posts
    Comply or die you beauty, had him at 10/1 Also ended up backing Mr.Pointment and Fundamentalist e/w It was looking so good for a while with Mr.Pointment jumping so well. Ah well all not lost

Had Slim Pickings again & Naunton Brook (long shot punt) both e/w so should break even after Slim Pickings 4th place.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    D'Argent might be worth a try at 29-1, good eachway bet with a chance of winning. It can run this kind of distance if it gets round.
    Comply or Die is probably better value than Cloudy Lane.

So here is the Tricast

1 D'Argent
    2 Comply or Die
    2 Cloudy Lane

Should pay about 1800-1 well worth a punt
    I did the tricast and forcasts at 10p and also stuck a quid on D'Argent and
    Comply or Die. I am a bit ****ed off I didn't take the price though, I think Comply or Die was 11-1 when I backed it, finished 7-1 so I feel a bit robbed in that respect.

Same tale again for Dun Doire this year, was'nt enough undercut in the ground and was left lagging way behind by himself on the second circuit before been pulled up!!.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

111 Posts
    Had a few quid on Idle Talk, 50/1 each way. Was right in there but fell away in the last two. Paddy Powers had top five as each way.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

85 Posts
    I'd €2 on Comply or Die to win at 9/1 and I'd €1 E/W on King John's Castle who came second so I was very pleased. First time I won anything on the Grand National too.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Had 3 of the top 4 excluding King Johns Castle but only did fun bets so no big returns, with the wife picking Snowy Morning and my 3 year old pointing to Hedgehunter in the paper . My 3 were Comply or Die, Slim Pickings and Bewleys Berry. Took the prices in the morning and was glad I did because most of them came well in.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    and my 3 year old pointing to Hedgehunter in the paper .
    I hope your 3 year-old didn't go chasing their losses on the all-weather after that!

I'd a small interest bet on Slim Pickings.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"