Thread: Setanta Cup games being switched

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    There was not trouble at the game. There was an incident in town afterwards that has been blamed on Linfield fans.

I strongly suspect this story ios bullsh!t - for one very simple reason. How in the name of God would the PSNI - or any police force for that matter - have the power to call the shots about a sporting event outside of their own jurisdiction ?

Seriously people - think about this. Are you honestly tellign me that the PSNI decided that Dublin wasn't safe for this game, and that everyone else - Gradai, FAI, IFA - just nodded along in agreement with it being changed. I mean really - think about it.

The only danger I can think of such a game beign held in Richmond is the extremely limited physical access to the stadium,. But if there was a real problem, it would just get moved elsewhere in Dublin (e.g. Tolka). And I can guarantee you it wouldn't be the PSNI's decision to dictate Policing and security matters in Dublin...
    Don't tell me you haven't heard that a 32 county republic has been declared and the PSNI is now the police force for the whole island
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

The Gardai in the Inchicore area consult with their colleagues in the PSNI about all the Setanta Sports Cup games so that they can gauge what sort of operation they need to carry out. It would be a Garda decision to move it out of Dublin and a PSNI decision to take it to Belfast.

Don't forget there is a precedent, remember Shels being forced to play their home UEFA Cup match against Rangers in Tranmere?

Quote Originally Posted by Stato View Post
    The Gardai in the Inchicore area consult with their colleagues in the PSNI about all the Setanta Sports Cup games so that they can gauge what sort of operation they need to carry out. It would be a Garda decision to move it out of Dublin and a PSNI decision to take it to Belfast.

Don't forget there is a precedent, remember Shels being forced to play their home UEFA Cup match against Rangers in Tranmere?
    but pats will still have to play linfield at home in september or whenever they were meant to play up in windsor?
    just doesnt make any sense, a new thing for the ruc
    bottom line is it should go ahead as planned tuesday week or else the setanta will be a disgrace

a big fear is that idiots wearing Shamrock Rovers jerseys will turn up outside the ground. Several were spotted at the Glentoran match in Inchicore.

Quote Originally Posted by garyderry View Post
    wont affect the Derry game at all, the Glens and Derry have had a great relation all the way through the IL games, and same in the recent setanta games,
    cant see the derry game changing

Also cant see how the PSNI can advise on a game played in Dublin
    Feck all off there business (thankfully )

i was thinking maybe its build up or ground work to try and move the derry v linfield game !

after all when we played in that stupid league didnt they get games moved way back then !

Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post
    a big fear is that idiots wearing Shamrock Rovers jerseys will turn up outside the ground. Several were spotted at the Glentoran match in Inchicore.
    We've enough of our own tools around. No need to be trying to blame anyone else

Quote Originally Posted by fanatic View Post
    i was thinking maybe its build up or ground work to try and move the derry v linfield game !

after all when we played in that stupid league didnt they get games moved way back then !
    I imagine that the recent Derry/Linfield games have passed off without incident because both sides understand the sensitivities involved. I can see why games in Dublin might be higher risk when some Wolfe Tones Celtic fans have no interest in and even less of a clue about the history of this island or a football match beyond seeing it as a chance to show how much they hate the Britprods

It's not as if these schooligans are next in line for a Ross Kemp documentary though. Sensible stewarding and police arrangements should be able to handle these games without breaking a sweat.

thats true but the fact is that fellas were outside in rovers colours shouting abuse. I saw them. a small number but even so.
    can you imagine if they turned up at a linfield game?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    fair play dodge

Quote Originally Posted by Mark View Post

thats true but the fact is that fellas were outside in rovers colours shouting abuse. I saw them. a small number but even so.
    can you imagine if they turned up at a linfield game?
    normally people who go to cause trouble dont wear there teams colours...

185 Posts
    just a hunch here :
    i think Mark needs to go to Specsavers . *
    he's confused Rovers jerserys for the aul sell-thick jersey.

* not slaggin speccy people.i'm one myself
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce