true

Damien Richardson has agreed to take charge of GUFC

Fair play to Nick and the Board.

Obviously they all witnessed last Saturday nights "performance".This is decisive leadership by the board i think and not a hasty reaction which some friends of mine have said it is to me in the last few mins.
    I'd love to see Damien Richardson take over,it seems to be just a rumour for now though.Who knows,maybe Billy will carry on the success he had with the u21s.

The nature of our perfomances this season were very poor. I would not say this is a hasty decision.

Last season we did well to stay up and that was a good achievement.
    However, our performances on several occasions were not inspiring and did not create a lot of confidence heading into the new season.

The Cup defeat to Harps last season did not help either.

The previous season we lost at home 3-1 to Dundalk in a crucial game and were easily outplayed. This did not affect the outcome of the season as we still went up via the IAG process, but it proved that when we were up against good opposition we struggled.

All the best to TC. Thanks for the effort and the commitment he gave GUFC
    since his appointment in 2006. He was a super player in the League of Ireland, hopefully he will get other opportunities.

115 Posts
    As eamo says fair play to the board for the decision.

I think he could have been given a bit more time but wouldn't have any huge argument with the decision.

As with when Lally was sacked I think the decision shows that the board are progressive.

If what the new poster says is true that Rico has agreed to take over, I think he'd be an excellent appointment.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Lally resigned didn't he?????

Whoever the new manager is I think he HAS to move to Galway, if for no other reason than to show his commitment!!

It is hard to see a new manager in place before next weekend and this is good for whoever comes in as Drogs away will be very tough. That may well set up Richardson at home against his former team!!! Mouthwatering prospect!!!!!

55 Posts

Thumbs up swift

i like professionalism. Phew that was ruthless by the board they are defo top of their game. Its for the best and its the only chance we have of surviving

Swift and ruthless. Now we truly know GUFC is a business. The minute the crowds start to slide the club would start to get into trouble financially so nip it in the bud get a fresh face. Question is who are we gonna get. Rumours abound that Rico turned it down and that Nick is off to the UK the rumour mills will be flying around for the next while but we certainly need an appointment sooner rather than later. I trust the board to turn up trumps in that area too.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

288 Posts
    Nuacht TG4 will be doing a bit about the situation in their sports bulletin.

News starts at 7pm on TG4.

Anyone who isn't near a television can watch it on http://tg4.tv/.

News will be archived up on there also, by lunchtime tomorrow.

I'm shocked that someones been sacked after 4 games.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    You haven't been in Terryland lately have you? No one here is shocked...shocked it took so long maybe, its interesting it came after one of the worst home crowds of the past 2 seasons (1600) when we would have been expecting 3,000-4,000, I think we had 3,500 for the same fixture last year...

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    He's been manager for about 70 or 80 games I reckon.

Looking forward to gufct's reaction...he seems to have been the only one defending him.

In fairness there doesn't seem to be too many tears for the demise of Cousins. His brand of hoofball was fine for the first division but just wasn't going to cut it in the top flight where you need a bit more variety to progress. Launching long balls at one of the quickest strikers in the league in Derek Glynn was always going to get punters scratching their heads.

As for him getting the bullet after 4 games I can only presume that the board had serious doubts about him during the off-season but decided to give him a chance and once they didn't see any signs of improvement decided to act quickly rather than leave it until half way through the season.

Maith an fear Séan! Good to see the fans getting a word in on the tv!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by KoemansCC View Post
    You haven't been in Terryland lately have you? No one here is shocked...shocked it took so long maybe, its interesting it came after one of the worst home crowds of the past 2 seasons (1600) when we would have been expecting 3,000-4,000, I think we had 3,500 for the same fixture last year...

In fairness who was expecting 3-4000 realistically. Alot has been made of the crowd figure for the game the last night. If you look back over the last few times we have been promoted to the top division the crowds have always tailed off into the second season in the division. Should we have been expecting more than we had for the first game of the season against Bohs?and it was one of the worst crowds in 1 season and 4 games the season before there was around 500 at alot of games.

Very dissapointed with TC on MNS.

Fair enough he's upset but the jibes at the BOD and budget were uncalled for.
    Any person who loses their job and goes on a TV show 5 minutes later whining about a budget that alot of people work extremely hard for,both in a capacity at the club and voluntarily,lacks class.

Also,what is the point in asking the 3 lads their opinions on the sacking when TC is right beside them?Very biased.
    Onwards and upwards.GUFC is a progressive club.TC was holding us back.Good luck to him.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

147 Posts
    Totally agree with you Conor, but did you expect anything else from him?
    As for the line he has been banging on with since Saturday, that he was missing 7 first team players. I can only think of 6, and 'only' four of them would be definite starters - Glynn, O'Flynn,Lester and Fitzy. Heis codding himself if he suggests Robson and O'Shea were also starters - who was he going to drop to accommodate them, Deegan and Russell.Actually, considering some of his selections, that is probably exactly what he would have done.
    Also, he didn't bring United into the top flight, a nice shiny DVD did that, and only for the fact that Longford were deducted points and Waterford were abysmal last year, we could have gone down.
    Yes, he kept us in the top flight, and fair dues to him for that, and best of luck to him - no one likes to see someone lose their job - but he just wasn't up to the job. He brought us to third in the First Divisionl and 8th in the Premier. Anyone who gets excited over those finishes needs their head examined
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Very dissapointed with TC on MNS.

Fair enough he's upset but the jibes at the BOD and budget were uncalled for.
    Any person who loses their job and goes on a TV show 5 minutes later whining about a budget that alot of people work extremely hard for,both in a capacity at the club and voluntarily,lacks class.

Also,what is the point in asking the 3 lads their opinions on the sacking when TC is right beside them?Very biased.
    Onwards and upwards.GUFC is a progressive club.TC was holding us back.Good luck to him.
    It was very easy for Cousins to go on TV..... he proably only lives around the corner from the studio. Ironically, it is for this reason that he should have never been hired in the first place.

Our next manager must live in Galway.

55 Posts

onwards and upwards

Its in the past thank god. Im goin to drogheda and at least I can be sure that a true Galwegian like Billy Clery wont be looking for excuses and wont let slackers tog out.
    Does anyone think Billy looks like Glenn Roeder?
    Last edited by geezer; 01/04/2008 at 8:00 AM.