Thread: Everybody Loves Raymond

Everybody Loves Raymond

Why?

and don't get me started on its ******* sibling KIng of Queens...

112 Posts
    Hate both those shows. Raymond is a tw@t, why does 'everyone' love him? Weird thing is, the show 'Everyone Hates Chris' is excellent, and Chris is very funny in it. Should we not swap them around?

'Everyone Loves Chris'

'Everyone Hates Raymond'.

There, sorted.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Everybody loves Raymond is actually fairly funny. The fact the main charachter isn't loved by everyone is the point. Its far more barbed than its given credit for, and his dad is a great charachter

chuck norris does not love raymond
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    No matter to us. We win all our games, we win the league regardless of what anyone else does.

Both of his parents and his brother are quite funny. The wifes a little needy, and Ray is a tool, but I think thats the way its supposed to be. Good show. No Scrubs though.

TV for dummies same old tired sit com rubbish. KOQ's is only marginally better because the bird is hot like grounded for life. why do they give these poor stand ups a family sit com.

214 Posts
    My missus watches so I don't particularly mind it but have to admit that Frank (the dad) is a legend.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    TV for dummies same old tired sit com rubbish. KOQ's is only marginally better because the bird is hot like grounded for life. why do they give these poor stand ups a family sit com.
    Thats sitcom critique for dummies. Everybody loves raymond is a massive step up from the usual US two camera laugh track US sitcom

811 Posts
    I've never really given it a proper chance, but it's never failed to not amuse me when I've landed on it while channel surfing. I think it's just a particular US style of comedy that doesn't suit me, like Seinfeld.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

214 Posts
    I could sit through every epdisode of Frasier and not laugh once. Anyone else?! - whereas my missus would be crying with laughter. Yet Everybody loves Raymond....I can chuckle at.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    I could sit through every epdisode of Frasier and not laugh once. Anyone else?! - whereas my missus would be crying with laughter. Yet Everybody loves Raymond....I can chuckle at.
    I like Fraiser, but it's definately not for everyone.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    My missus watches so I don't particularly mind it but have to admit that Frank (the dad) is a legend.
    He's just a lazy rehash of a hundred other grumpy old man characters, just like the mother is a lazy rehash of a hundred mother/mother-in-law characters and the brother is a lazy rehash of a hundred other "speak with stupid voice and everything you say will be funny" characters.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    He's just a lazy rehash of a hundred other grumpy old man characters, just like the mother is a lazy rehash of a hundred mother/mother-in-law characters and the brother is a lazy rehash of a hundred other "speak with stupid voice and everything you say will be funny" characters.
    David brent is just a rehash of Capt mannering and various other egotistical 2leaders".

Do you even watch the show? ELR suffers because its a sitcom that doesn't try and be edgy and cool, but its consistently funnier than the vast majority of comedy offerings in the US and the UK. Is it the Office or Arrested development? No. is there a reason why it was so succesful (in terms of critics, awards and viewers) in the US? yes...

BTW Frank Boyle is the best actor ever to appear regularly in a sitcom

i think raymond is a very good show, 2 and a half men gives me a laugh also.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    I think it's just a particular US style of comedy that doesn't suit me, like Seinfeld.
    Me too.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    I like Fraiser, but it's definately not for everyone.
    Me too.

They are definitely different kinds of comedy, one I get, one I don't.

Really like Fraiser at the moment its on loads on paramount 2 , Sienfield again is very funny

Coincidentally, a friend was giving out about this show yesterday, and said the lead actor was the highest paid TV actor in the world.

Although a reliable friend, I couldn't quite believe it so I just verified the veracity and sure enough: (from the official ELR site) "In 2004, Ray became the highest paid television actor ever with a yearly salary of $50,000,000."

Thats because it was the most succe3sful in America. And he's on the production team etc etc

its finished now btw...

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Do you even watch the show? ELR suffers because its a sitcom that doesn't try and be edgy and cool, but its consistently funnier than the vast majority of comedy offerings in the US and the UK. Is it the Office or Arrested development? No. is there a reason why it was so succesful (in terms of critics, awards and viewers) in the US? yes...
    Agreed, I think it's an excellent show - no Seinfeld, Curb or Larry Sanders, sure, but miles ahead of most. Recently saw the episode where the mother took up art classes and produced the abstract sculpture that looked like a, ahem... lower venusian ploughed furrow, and it was as good as any show you'll see.
    Ray Romano is a very funny guy, I used to love his appearances on the animated Doctor Katz if anyone remembers that. Still laugh out loud now and again when his Gregory - Shmegory routine pops into my head.

Oh BTW, Pedantic Pat told me to tell all ye lads that supposedly like the show that it's called Frasier.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    BTW Frank Boyle is the best actor ever to appear regularly in a sitcom
    I'd say second best, Jerry Stiller just ahead of him.
    Last edited by stann; 03/04/2008 at 2:47 PM.
    more bass

Just because a show is popular doesn’t mean its good .

Sex in the city is popular.