Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Next GUFC Manager?

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    I heard this morning Dessie Cawley put his name into the hat for the job?Any of you lads here this?
    thats a bit od a suprise thought dessie cawley was happy with us... we will soon find out...

dont worry martinho, he wont be coming down here.

75 Posts
    The latest man being linked with the job is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick...otball_manager). Hardly a cv that would set the world alight.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Links not workin but i found him on Wiki played and managed in Sweden, Played 15 games for Bohs 51 for Gillinham. Hardly Trappatoni but probably a better option than Roddy!
    Last edited by GuisaSaigon; 08/04/2008 at 9:15 AM.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

At least he has cv unlike a previous wonderful manager.
    Everyone & his mother are linked with the job.
    Is it not usual to wait until the club appoint someone before you start knocking them? They will have a tough record to follow you know!

1,550 Posts
    His Managerial CV actually looks ok to me, here's a bit more on him , full article HERE:

Back to Sweden then where he spent ten years playing in the top two divisions there. Coaching was next on his agenda and after getting his badges he went on to manage a number of teams in Swedish football, ranging from Ssundsvall to Kalmar, reaching the first division playoffs with the latter.

Last October was his biggest achievement in football when he guided Orebro Sk to promotion to the top flight of Swedish football. It was a remarkable feat considering the club had been relegated from the top league only two years previous for financial irregularities, something which left the club in turmoil.

Walker was always interested in coaching and got his badges while he was still in England. There he met some of England’s brightest young managers at the time and lists Birmingham City manager Steve Bruce and Leicester City boss Mickey Adams as his friends. He has subsequently taken Swedish coaching certificates and also studied in university and has qualifications in performance psychology and mental training. Walker’s bulky CV doesn’t end there; he has been courted by a number of teams in the championship in England and was offered the role of head coach with Rosenborg in Norway, who have played regularly in the champions league. He was also been offered the role of junior national coach in Sweden. His managerial prowess has also transcended the international arena and just two years ago he guided a development Swedish U21 team to second in the international Toulon tournament, losing out to an excellent French side that included the likes of Jeremie Aliadiere and Gael Clichy.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The latest man being linked with the job is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick...otball_manager). Hardly a cv that would set the world alight.

It's ok gufct, we all know what you really wanted to say there ''He's no Tony Cousins!!''
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I think that he has quite a good cv
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...b-1341235.html

55 Posts

another Don

He could be good and Don to be fair wasnt the worst. I still believe we need
    someone who knows the league well and has experience in the LOI. Another long term development plan for next year if we survive is a good idea but for the next six months its survival and survival only.

75 Posts
    Got this from a friend of mine who is heavily involved in Soccer in Carlow http://www.sefc.ie/walker.htm . He doesnt know much more about him except that he helped organise games for under age SEFC teams in Sweden when he was manager of Orebro S.K..
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

46 Posts
    Kenna joins Galway candidates- taken from elevenaside.com

April 11, 2008

Former Republic of Ireland international Jeff Kenna has added his name to the list of Galway United managerial possibles – with the intriguing possibility that he could finish out his playing days at Terryland Park.

Kenna, 37, is on the playing staff of Football Conference side Kidderminster Harriers, for whom he has made 27 league appearances this season.

But the Dubliner, who won a Premiership title with Blackburn Rovers and 27 senior international caps, is keen on returning to his homeland to take up the Galway role.

He told the Irish Daily Star: “I have been in touch with the Galway board and informed them of my desire to move full-time into coaching and management.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for the incoming boss. There is a talented full-time squad of players, an excellent ground and I’m told the training facilities rival those of many top British clubs.

“My contract with Kidderminster ends in the summer but the gaffer here won’t stand in my way if Galway want to make a quick appointment. Should Galway wish me to also sign as a player then I could do that - my legs are still working well.”

Former Sligo Rovers and Bohemians boss Sean Connor and Sweden-based Irishman Patrick Walker are others to have announced their candidacy since the dismissal of Tony Cousins two weeks ago.

interesting
    more water!

386 Posts
    I think Patrick Walker would be a good appointment for ye. He's a good, recognised coach here in Sweden and he does have a knowledge of LOI football - he's a former LOI player and he's helped LOI clubs in scouting Swedish opposition.

Patrick walker looks the business. Get him in.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Kenna joins Galway candidates- taken from elevenaside.com

April 11, 2008

Former Republic of Ireland international Jeff Kenna has added his name to the list of Galway United managerial possibles – with the intriguing possibility that he could finish out his playing days at Terryland Park.

Kenna, 37, is on the playing staff of Football Conference side Kidderminster Harriers, for whom he has made 27 league appearances this season.

But the Dubliner, who won a Premiership title with Blackburn Rovers and 27 senior international caps, is keen on returning to his homeland to take up the Galway role.

He told the Irish Daily Star: “I have been in touch with the Galway board and informed them of my desire to move full-time into coaching and management.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for the incoming boss. There is a talented full-time squad of players, an excellent ground and I’m told the training facilities rival those of many top British clubs.

“My contract with Kidderminster ends in the summer but the gaffer here won’t stand in my way if Galway want to make a quick appointment. Should Galway wish me to also sign as a player then I could do that - my legs are still working well.”

Former Sligo Rovers and Bohemians boss Sean Connor and Sweden-based Irishman Patrick Walker are others to have announced their candidacy since the dismissal of Tony Cousins two weeks ago.
    Not surprised. Another candidate for the Bit O'Red job was Gary Waddock. However considering the great job he is doing at Aldershot, he won't be moving.
    "Overwhelmed"

37 Posts
    Noel King was spotted in Terryland at the Cork game. He previously managed Shamrock Rovers, Derry City, Limerick FC, and Finn Harps. He is currently manager of the Rep of Ireland ladies team which may suit him as United played ike a bunch of schoolgirls against Cork.

55 Posts

well the defense did

make awful mistakes. Im more convinced now more than ever we need someone that has experience of the league. Jeff Kenna was the hot tip in Terryland tonight but he will know diddly squat about how this league works.
    We need a ****** quick with nothing but survival the mission. Long term development of football in galway will be grand for when we are down in the 1st division.
    Give Connors the job

Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    make awful mistakes. Im more convinced now more than ever we need someone that has experience of the league. Jeff Kenna was the hot tip in Terryland tonight but he will know diddly squat about how this league works.
    We need a ****** quick with nothing but survival the mission. Long term development of football in galway will be grand for when we are down in the 1st division.
    Give Connors the job
    the way it goes even tony mannion would be a good option coz it seems there s a lack of passion or quality or both but it s gonna be difficult to lift heads up if there s not quickly a win...
    allez Galway faut pas baisser les bras!! et salut Hendo je vois que tu fais du bon boulot avec cobh!

I agree with you looping. The heads seemed to fall tonight eve when we got a goal back only one player (cant remember who) ran to retrieve the ball to speed up the restart.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

55 Posts

kenna

What the jesus does he think of our club, an old folks home. That comment
    alone is laughable and demonstrates more than anything his opinion on the LOI and the buffers out west. Its the shredder for that cv he is so out of touch

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast