Roddy lands Galway Job!!

as per latest rumours.
    Roddy Collins: born August 7, 1961 in Dublin
    Bohemians: He managed the club for 96 league games - winning 46, drawing 23 and losing 27. They scored 136 times, conceded 81 and kept 41 clean sheets.
    Carlisle United: Appointed as manager of Carlisle United in July 2001.Collins was sacked in August 2003 after Carlisle had lost their first four games of the season
    Dublin City: In July 2004 he took over as manager of Dublin City,[6] but left in November 2004 three weeks from the end of the season, just hours before a crucial game, to manage Shamrock Rovers
    Shamrock Rovers: As manager of Shamrock Rovers, Collins struggled both on and off the pitch. Following a points deduction because the club presented fraudulant documents to the FAI licensing, after a season of poor results and in-fighting at the club, Shamrock Rovers faced relegation. His decision to take part in a charity boxing event in the midst of the campaign only served to further enrage the Rovers support, who questioned his commitment. His contract was terminated by Rovers in November 2005 as the club were relegated for the first time ever.After losing a play-off to his previous club Dublin City.
    Roddy is due to start work next Monday 21/04/08. It is hoped himself & his team will have dressing rooms etc, under new stand plastered within one month !!
    Allegedly.

Hey Demoshield we could do without that kind of heart attack stuff on a Friday morning!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

friend has gotten word that its going to be kenna - oh god help us!!!
    more water!

Ex Blackburn Rover , I really can't think of anything worse .....

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    Ex Blackburn Rover , I really can't think of anything worse .....
    Tony Cousins? Roddy Collins? Ski? thats only for starters.
    Why not wait 'till we see if it is to be him before we start moaning?
    & If it is to be him, give him a chance before the boo boys start!

jeff kenna????

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    jeff kenna????
    "Allegedly" but id settle for Lord Lucan at this stage.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by Demoshield View Post
    Tony Cousins? Roddy Collins? Ski? thats only for starters.
    Why not wait 'till we see if it is to be him before we start moaning?
    & If it is to be him, give him a chance before the boo boys start!
    Look Damo you are right in saying wait until it's him before we start moaning , but bottom line I don't think he is up to the job hey I could be very wrong but this is just a start for him it's the bottom of the ladder chance I will see if I can cut in Eircom league then i will get offers from England and so on .
    What we need is someone who has been around the block , a winner , been there done that and Kenna is not that man for me .

The only person for the job was RICO for me but who were the other 31 people who put their names in the hat we don't know and if Kenna was the best of the lot then we are in big trouble .........

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    The only person for the job was RICO .........
    There was never the slightest chance of Rico joining GUFC. We are not a big club. we could not afford to pay him. Simple as that. A little reality check needed by a lot of people IMO.

How much do ye expect to be paying yere manager.

Rico was on 80k a year with us

75 Posts
    Jeff Kenna wont come Cheap and he wont sign a one year deal.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    How much do ye expect to be paying yere manager.

Rico was on 80k a year with us
    80 GRAND

Fine with me , pay the man I would say otherwise we will be back in division 1 next season it's very simple really .

According to court papers Bohemians were paying Sean Connor 100k per year plus bonuses. I doubt Rico was working for less than that. If he was his next employer will be paying a hell of a lot more. Why not pay everyone 200k a year & while were at it pay the supporters €20 a game. Guaranteed a full house every time. Obviously we have no shortage of money. Nobody knows anything about Kenna or how much he will cost. Kidderminster must be paying him a fortune though Oh & our previous manager has the entire, meagre, budget for the year spent already.

It was 80k. Mathews is on the same

http://www.galwayunitedfc.net/forum/...=220&start=220

Kenna eager to impress

Former Republic of Ireland international Jeff Kenna will be interviewed for the vacant Galway United manager’s job next week as the club look to secure a replacement for Tony Cousins.

United have been managerless for over a month now following Cousins’ sacking as coach Billy Clery has looked after the first team affairs ever since.

The club had a deadline of yesterday for applicants to put their names forward and the in total 32 people have applied for the job with the Premier Division side.

Kenna, who is currently playing with Conference side Kidderminster Harriers is out of contract in the summer and is looking to begin a career in management.

The Former Blackburn Rovers and Birmingham defender is eager to get the job and revealed that he will be interviewed by the Galway board some day next week.

“I am hopeful that I will get the chance to impress them next week because I’m really keen to get into coaching,” said Kenna.

75 Posts
    Didnt get the City Tribune but their ad on GBFM says United to appoint ex irish international next week. Rico has a few caps and would come cheaper than Jeff despite whats written here

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Didnt get the City Tribune but their ad on GBFM says United to appoint ex irish international next week. Rico has a few caps and would come cheaper than Jeff despite whats written here
    Ski has a few caps too

I've got 2 caps to and a wooly hat thats great for keeping the lugs warm during the winter !

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    id settle for Lord Lucan at this stage.
    Heard he's getting his A licence in May Too!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

I see Rob McDonald's name has been touted about.

He's to make a return to the Showgrounds tonight to check out Galway.

TOTAL FOOTBALL!
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast