FAI Youth Cup Final 18th May 2008
    Wexford Youths FC vs Dundalk FC

is there a ko time for this one yet?
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

We won the Interleague final today, beating Waterford 1-0 in Ozier Park! Shane Dempsey scored a header with about 20 mins to go. Surprising not to see it go to extra-time and penalties but I'm sure the lads aren't too disappointed!

Dundalk at home now next week in the Youth Cup final.

Forza Wexford!

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaWexford View Post
    We won the Interleague final today, beating Waterford 1-0 in Ozier Park! Shane Dempsey scored a header with about 20 mins to go. Surprising not to see it go to extra-time and penalties but I'm sure the lads aren't too disappointed!

Dundalk at home now next week in the Youth Cup final.

Forza Wexford!

I am not trying to rain on a parade. Excellent performance today but Wexford Youths FC did not win today it was The Wexford Football League that Wallace first took over in 1991. It is important to remember that as some players involved today are not Wexford Youths FC players

This was the third time in four years then have won. First time in over 20 years the title has been won back to back. This win today was a lot longer in the making that Wexford Youths FC the eircom league have been around.

Well done to all those involved
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    I am not trying to rain on a parade. Excellent performance today but Wexford Youths FC did not win today it was The Wexford Football League that Wallace first took over in 1991. It is important to remember that as some players involved today are not Wexford Youths FC players

This was the third time in four years then have won. First time in over 20 years the title has been won back to back. This win today was a lot longer in the making that Wexford Youths FC the eircom league have been around.

Well done to all those involved
    Who picked the squad, picked the team, decided the tactics, gave the team talk, made the subs and did everything except drive the bus

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    Who picked the squad, picked the team, decided the tactics, gave the team talk, made the subs and did everything except drive the bus

Wallace and I never said he didn't.

I was just pointing out that this achievement was much longer in the making that Wexford Youths FC as eircom league side and those players who involved with the squad and are not signed for Youths there parts should not be forgotten.

Ah no he's right, the Wexford League just won the Youths Interleague trophy yet again. It's mostly down to Mick's hard work over the years of course but nothing much to do with Wexford Youths FC....

...apart from the fact that 9 of the starting 11, and some of the subs, are now Wexford Youths FC players. I'd say a year or two down the line it will be a case of "Wexford U18 team = Wexford Youths FC U18's" but not yet.

Anyway, hopefully the players involved today will go on to claim the club's first real piece of silverware next weekend, and lay some solid foundations for the U20 league next season. Thousand miles single step etc etc.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Youths4Ever View Post
    Wallace and I never said he didn't.

I was just pointing out that this achievement was much longer in the making that Wexford Youths FC as eircom league side and those players who involved with the squad and are not signed for Youths there parts should not be forgotten.
    Point taken, well done to all involved

Fair play to Mick and everybody involved. What a fantastic achievement.

And the very best of luck to them next weekend against Dundalk. My wife is from there and I'd love to get bragging rights!
    There are really only 10 types of person; those who can read binary and those who can't.

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublin_owl View Post
    And the very best of luck to them next weekend against Dundalk. My wife is from there and I'd love to get bragging rights!
    And we would love for you to have them as well

I played against ye in the 5th round of the Youth Cup (St. Johns). Was surprised we actually only lost 1-0, but we played ok and had an understrength team too (I'm only U-16!). Ye deserved the win though.

Ye had one very good player up front, can't remember his name, but Wallace was saying afterwards how highly he rates him. Furlong was it?

Some set-up as well down there btw! A proper meal after the match, thank you very much!

Anyway, best of luck to ye in the final, hope ye win it!

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublin_owl View Post
    Tough..
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

It's that air of over-confidence that'll be your undoing young man!
    There are really only 10 types of person; those who can read binary and those who can't.