Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstooler face offs?

Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Incidentally, the best thing to do with barstoolers is to presume they support England. Say something to them like: ‘How do you think your boys will do under Capello?’ That drives them frigging mad.
    Also works for Celtic fans if you mention George Burley.
    Unfortunately one of my Liverpool supporting barstooler mates, from Derry but living in Dublin, basically follows England, because Gerrard and Carragher play for them.

Makes me sick!
    DCFC

Nice video for ye..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vzqGB4WLkY

C'mon United!!
    The future's bright......maroon and white

I think there's a difference between supporting a club, and following them.

For instance, when I started getting in to football, I was about five or six (I'm twenty now) and at the time, the team playing the most exciting football that I could see was Man Utd. To this day, I still like the way Man Utd play, and admire Alex Ferguson's tactics and the ruthlessness approach he takes, and when I'm watching them, I'd usually rather they won than their opponents.

Similar for Barcelona, I think they're are a great, exciting team, and I've always liked the way they played.

However, I could never say that I support either team. I support Derry City, and I'll go to see Derry, rain, hail, or shine, whether they are playing well or not. I can't say the same for Man Utd, if I'm watching them and it's a **** match, then I'll turn it off.

I don't know if that makes me a bar stooler or not. I don't think it does. I support Derry, I watch good football wherever I can, paying special attention to Man Utd means I watch more than I would otherwise. I don't think this makes me any more of a bar stooler than watching Goalissimo in the wee hours does.

No, that doesnt make you a barstooler at all.
    When i say the word barstooler I mean someone who looks down on the Eircom League and "follows" an English / Scottish team from the comfort of their local pub.
    That's what a barstooler is.
    I have no problem at all with anyone taking an interest in an Premier League or SPL, La Liga etc team, as long as they follow their own local team first and foremost
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

Calling yourself a football supporter and watching all your games on sky is equal to knocking one out every night watching porn and calling yourself a stud.

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    Calling yourself a football supporter and watching all your games on sky is equal to knocking one out every night watching porn and calling yourself a stud.
    I think someone said that a few pages back, I'm not saying you didn't come up with that line.....but I don't know how to finish this sentence.....

Is there an echo in here?

Sorry I dont read every page on here and memorise it, i saw someone say it on bebo yesterday and i thought it was funny sorry lads i throw myself at the feet of the foot.ie gestapo and the anal ucd fans , once again sorry

Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Why are 80,000 people going to see Dublin v Laois to witness the brutish spectacle of Gaelic football when these numbers should really be going to see Bohs or Shamrock Rovers versus Real Madrid or Juventus in the Champions League? It just doesn’t make sense...
    ...to people who don't like going to Croke Park to watch Gaelic football.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

22 Posts
    Sorry I dont read every page on here and memorise it, i saw someone say it on bebo yesterday and i thought it was funny sorry lads i throw myself at the feet of the foot.ie gestapo and the anal ucd fans , once again sorry
    Fnar Fnar he said Anal

Most of my mates wouldn't be arsed even looking at LOI results. Couldn't give a toss. They knw better than to have a go at the league ub front of me though, as I'll argue every single time. Always win too. 16/17 years trying and I still haven't got a satisfactory answer as to why they picked Liverpool or Man U over the other (without them sounding like glory hunting fools, something the "die hard" EPL fans hate...)

Won't talk to random blokes in pubs about football because 90% of them know **** all about the game. Its a lesser percentage in LOI fans, but its still high.

Your typical Irish football fan would rather go see Sunderland v Reading than Barcelona v Real Madrid, yet they have the cheek to lecture us on quality. So I say **** them all, if thye want to come to our party, more than welcome, if not, enjoy your *******

Im a Man Utd fan but have never been to OT, what with living abroad and having kids young etc, they'll allways be my nr 1 club but i've just moved back to wexford after 11 yrs abroad, we never had a LoI club before obviously but i feel that it's a love that's going to blossom.
    I'd much rather spend a few bob going to see the Youths regulary that line Glazers pockets. Ill pop over to OT someday but there's something special about supporting your local team.

re the original poster, slag the Liverpool fan off about their anti Irish/catholic history, Everton being the Irish side of Liverpool. Allways works for me
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

ill remember that one

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Most of my mates wouldn't be arsed even looking at LOI results. Couldn't give a toss.
    That would have been me before, when we were kids we went from Wexford to Kilkenny for the odd game but it wasnt the same and the intrest never grew.
    But now we have our own team for the first time ever, i just hope it takes off.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Splurge View Post
    Im a Man Utd fan but have never been to OT, what with living abroad and having kids young etc, they'll allways be my nr 1 club but i've just moved back to wexford after 11 yrs abroad, we never had a LoI club before obviously but i feel that it's a love that's going to blossom.
    I'd much rather spend a few bob going to see the Youths regulary that line Glazers pockets. Ill pop over to OT someday but there's something special about supporting your local team.

re the original poster, slag the Liverpool fan off about their anti Irish/catholic history, Everton being the Irish side of Liverpool. Allways works for me
    Ah Splurge, we were getting on so well and then you tell me you follow Commercial United
    Anyway, we both seem to be on our way back to LOI

Rambelled on a bit there, but one last thing, you often get barstoolers from parts of the country who dont have an eircom League team near them, and they say thats the reason they dont support an eircom League club. My cousin from Cavan is like this and he supports Liverpool. I tried telling him Monaghan is closer to Cavan then Liverpool, but he wasn't listening of course.
    See I don't think its a matter of just location, its more about identity. Is somebody from Cavan really going to identify with Monaghan Town?

Personally I live in a rural part of Armagh, within 15 miles of Armagh City, Newry City or Dundalk but I wouldn't identify with any of those towns so would feel strange supporting them. Ended up supporting Derry after tagging long to a few games and found I really enjoyed the experience and have kept going on a semi-regular basis. I feel a wee bit out of place sometimes because obviously not being from Derry I don't get same buzz from following my local side as most of the fans do but its still good to sample a real atmosphere.

But I do think people are much less likely to support the EL if they don't have a team in their town or at least their county. Its hard to identify with something that you feel doesn't include you.

Why are 80,000 people going to see Dublin v Laois to witness the brutish spectacle of Gaelic football when these numbers should really be going to see Bohs or Shamrock Rovers versus Real Madrid or Juventus in the Champions League?
    Possibly because they prefer Gaelic Football to soccer?

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    I don't think the case of not having a team from your county is a reasonable excuse.
    I disagree, if Limerick weren't in the eircom league I would have absolutely no interest in it, and I wouldn't feel the need for an "excuse". I would have no feeling of belonging to any other club, no affinity, no sense of pride or any other emotion.

If I hadn't "discovered" the eircom league I would quite happily continue to follow Aston Villa (my local premiership team for some years when I lived abroad) from the comfort of my living room, I would continue to take an interest in Sunderland, Celtic and any other club with Irish links, and would only attend the occasional international as well as local junior matches. In other words clubs that I would feel some sort of affinity with.

You cant realistically expect someone who doesnt have a local club to develop an interest in the eircom league, theres absolutely no logical reason why they would, is there?
    LTID

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    I don't think the case of not having a team from your county is a reasonable excuse.
    Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    I disagree, if Limerick weren't in the eircom league I would have absolutely no interest in it, and I wouldn't feel the need for an "excuse". I would have no feeling of belonging to any other club, no affinity, no sense of pride or any other emotion.
    I agree with Kev. If Dundalk FC didn't exist, there is absolutely no way that I'd go and support Drogheda (even though they were still in my county) or some other club that identified themselves as the County Louth club. Local identity doesn't always have to be based on the county anyway. They were just set up by the British to help them administer the country and in many areas they only came to have a significance in the life of an ordinary person after the GAA adopted them.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

People in this country are only interested in watching the really big matches no matter the sport.

When Munster played in the Heineken final in Cardiff about 50,000 fans were supposed to have traveled, most of those would never have went to a Magners League game that season.

In GAA take away Dublin games and both finals most games have huge empty spaces. Am not a big GAA fan but decided last year to travel from Cork to watch them play Dublin in Parnell Park and a friend of mine who considers himself a huge Cork GAA fan said to me "Why did you go to watch that crap"?

I used to get six tickets in the block booking scheme but had to drop it to three cause in the 2002 qualifiers we got Holland and Portugal (everyone wanted tickets - even had strangers in the street asking me) then in the 2004 qualifiers we got Russia and Switzerland and these same lads said it wasnt worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Agree completely, i think the only way to promote the LoI is with local pride. The standard is muck compared with our competition across the sea and we will probably never be able to compete on that front, so we have to bring people in through local pride and history. I personally wouldn't watch the LoI anymore if Limerick football had been kicked out along with Danny Drew, and to be honest if Limerick 37 hadn't come along I probably wouldn't watch that much football anymore, as it is I watch highlight packages from around Europe, but can't stick watching 90 minute games on TV, no matter what league it is

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast