the people i cant stand are the "fans" who cant even decide which english team they support for example i know a lad who supported leeds then man united and then chelski all in the space of about 4/5 years.at least if your going to support a premier**** team then make your mind up and stick with it ffs.
i support rovers but celtic is my true love tbh.also have a spot for cliftonville.hate that premier**** though
Another barstooler bashing thread.
I hate the "we are better than them" attitude that el fans have. Whatever happened to freedom of choice? People should be allowed to choose what football they want to watch and they shouldn't be looked down on by others because of it. This up-our-own-arses mentality, for me, is as good a reason as any for "barstoolers" not to go to el games.
Public humiliation and insulting is not going to win them over. They'll go if/when they want to. If they believe that the quality is poor then let them believe that and maybe when an el qualifies for the CL group stages they might stop and think about the quality of the league.
As humans, we will always prefer the best qualiy option at the cheapest price. So it's understandable why they would want to watch higher quality football in the comfort of their own home. It's human nature. And it's not just confined to football in Ireland.
GAA league games don't get big attendances but the Championship (higher quality)games do. The League Cup early rounds in England don't get much attendance because the fans know it won't be high quality. The NFL play-offs get more attention because it's the battle of the top sides. And this idea is passed on to Irish football fans. They have more interest in high-quality fare and, let's not kid ourselves, the eircom league is miles behind the Premiership, the Old Firm and most of the Championship in terms of support and quality.
These people are football fans but they continuously pursue the best quality football, not like most el fans who seem to have more interest in being local. These people obviously don't care about being local, it doesn't seem to be an issue to them. The thing is, until the league improves, these people will still chase better quality i.e. abroad.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
Does anyone else experience that wierd phenomenon - the barstool LoI fan??
Limerick is absolutely choc full of them.
Every single male of a certain age in this town will make a point of asking you how Limerick are getting on if you are wearing any gear:
"You follow Limerick ya? How are they getting on this year?"
"Ah you know, same oul $hite"
"I used to go to all the games but wouldn't give them the steam of my pee pee now. Market's Field, Pat Grace, Sunday afternoons, theives, mumble, mumble, etc. etc...........Fairplay to you anyway kid, keep the faith"
"Aw right ya."
Ya that is exactly the kind of attitude in Limerick.
I was walking through Limerick last week wearing a L37 jersey when one the lads I was in school with says " Your some saddo, supporting that ****e"
I said to him " Oh, so you only support teams that are good ya?"
He then opened his coat and showed me his Liverpool jersey and says " Am no, I support Liverpool and they are ****e"
Dont get me wrong I am a big follower of English football and everyone knows that but Limerick would come first in my eyes.
And there is the older generation that are just bitter about Limerick.
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
One retort I always enjoy when faced with these sort of conversations is "and what rate of tax do you pay to the queen on those tickets/trips/jersies". very effective, especially with "Celtic" "fans".
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Can you be a real Boy Scout if you never go to the meetings? Can you be a real football fan if you never go to live games? (whether its the Premiership, EL, junior football or whatever)
Basically, all Leagues have good games and bad games. Chelsea and Liverpool in particular can be abysmal to watch at times. So can Shels. They can also be exhilerating too (yeah, really) We go for the involvement, the craic, the scrappy wins and real 3D football.
No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
In 1977
This reminds me of the embarassmewnt in turners cross when roy came over to help out rams, and for some strange reason all rams fans were scattered around the ground so there was no singing what so ever, there was no rams fans near me, and when rams scored i jumped up and celebrated as you do, and this nacker(in a celtic jersey may i add) threatened me, "shut your mouth and go back to cobh boy were here for roy not ye nackers". I'll never forget it and my hatred for people who hate the EL because of its standard is unreal because of it. The same Skobie was probably one of the lads with their no to foreign sports signs outside croker. Makes me sick. We've the local derby saturday, win lose or draw the game will be a testament to the EL, we havent had iti n over ten years, roughly 5000 in attendance, the passion will be ten times any liverpool fan will get when he travels over to watch them draw with the likes of aston villa. Little do they know what their missing out on.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
I was there, the atmosphere was surreal. You could hear the keeper coughing. I lay claim to being the only person in the ground wearing a Cork City jersey - this because I got a phone call from a friend up in the media gantry asking was I the one in the city jersey. It was disgusting - thousands of people politely clapping a load of kids they'd mostly likely never see again against a team of local players.
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
A Premiership or Celtic follower living in Ireland is no more of a football fan than pulling yer mickey to porn movies every night makes you a stud.