Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstooler face offs?

the people i cant stand are the "fans" who cant even decide which english team they support for example i know a lad who supported leeds then man united and then chelski all in the space of about 4/5 years.at least if your going to support a premier**** team then make your mind up and stick with it ffs.
    i support rovers but celtic is my true love tbh.also have a spot for cliftonville.hate that premier**** though

Quote Originally Posted by CvilleRovers View Post
    the people i cant stand are the "fans" who cant even decide which english team they support for example i know a lad who supported leeds then man united and then chelski all in the space of about 4/5 years.at least if your going to support a premier**** team then make your mind up and stick with it ffs.
    i support rovers but celtic is my true love tbh.also have a spot for cliftonville.hate that premier**** though
    Slightly ironic post I assume??

Quote Originally Posted by CvilleRovers View Post
    i support rovers but celtic is my true love tbh.
    Really? So what part of Glasgow you from?

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I think we've all experienced the converstaion that goes along the lines of;

"So, who do you support?"
    "I'm a [LOI Team] fan."
    "Yeah, but which proper team do you support?
    "Um...[LOI team]."
    "Look, ok, who do you support in the Premiership?"
    Yep, its absolutely infuriating. I always go on a big rant if someone says that to me.

Really? So what part of Glasgow you from?
    As long as he doesn't start going on about Celtic's 'Irish Heritage' we'll be alright

Another barstooler bashing thread.

I hate the "we are better than them" attitude that el fans have. Whatever happened to freedom of choice? People should be allowed to choose what football they want to watch and they shouldn't be looked down on by others because of it. This up-our-own-arses mentality, for me, is as good a reason as any for "barstoolers" not to go to el games.

Public humiliation and insulting is not going to win them over. They'll go if/when they want to. If they believe that the quality is poor then let them believe that and maybe when an el qualifies for the CL group stages they might stop and think about the quality of the league.

As humans, we will always prefer the best qualiy option at the cheapest price. So it's understandable why they would want to watch higher quality football in the comfort of their own home. It's human nature. And it's not just confined to football in Ireland.

GAA league games don't get big attendances but the Championship (higher quality)games do. The League Cup early rounds in England don't get much attendance because the fans know it won't be high quality. The NFL play-offs get more attention because it's the battle of the top sides. And this idea is passed on to Irish football fans. They have more interest in high-quality fare and, let's not kid ourselves, the eircom league is miles behind the Premiership, the Old Firm and most of the Championship in terms of support and quality.

These people are football fans but they continuously pursue the best quality football, not like most el fans who seem to have more interest in being local. These people obviously don't care about being local, it doesn't seem to be an issue to them. The thing is, until the league improves, these people will still chase better quality i.e. abroad.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Does anyone else experience that wierd phenomenon - the barstool LoI fan??

Limerick is absolutely choc full of them.

Every single male of a certain age in this town will make a point of asking you how Limerick are getting on if you are wearing any gear:

"You follow Limerick ya? How are they getting on this year?"

"Ah you know, same oul $hite"

"I used to go to all the games but wouldn't give them the steam of my pee pee now. Market's Field, Pat Grace, Sunday afternoons, theives, mumble, mumble, etc. etc...........Fairplay to you anyway kid, keep the faith"

"Aw right ya."

Does anyone else experience that wierd phenomenon - the barstool LoI fan??

Limerick is absolutely choc full of them.

Every single male of a certain age in this town will make a point of asking you how Limerick are getting on if you are wearing any gear:

"You follow Limerick ya? How are they getting on this year?"

"Ah you know, same oul $hite"

"I used to go to all the games but wouldn't give them the steam of my pee pee now. Market's Field, Pat Grace, Sunday afternoons, theives, mumble, mumble, etc. etc...........Fairplay to you anyway kid, keep the faith"

"Aw right ya."
    Ya that is exactly the kind of attitude in Limerick.

I was walking through Limerick last week wearing a L37 jersey when one the lads I was in school with says " Your some saddo, supporting that ****e"

I said to him " Oh, so you only support teams that are good ya?"

He then opened his coat and showed me his Liverpool jersey and says " Am no, I support Liverpool and they are ****e"

Dont get me wrong I am a big follower of English football and everyone knows that but Limerick would come first in my eyes.

And there is the older generation that are just bitter about Limerick.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    He then opened his coat and showed me his Liverpool jersey
    Jaysus, is it any wonder we had to get the Garda rapid response unit down there.
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

Quote Originally Posted by Jamjar View Post
    Jaysus, is it any wonder we had to get the Garda rapid response unit down there.
    Why, because someone opened their coat?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Jamjar View Post

I was actually just about to pick up on that Mr. Jar

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Another barstooler bashing thread.

I hate the "we are better than them" attitude that el fans have. Whatever happened to freedom of choice?
    Freedom of Choice went out with communism (oddly enough), welcome to post Cold War Earth

One retort I always enjoy when faced with these sort of conversations is "and what rate of tax do you pay to the queen on those tickets/trips/jersies". very effective, especially with "Celtic" "fans".
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Can you be a real Boy Scout if you never go to the meetings? Can you be a real football fan if you never go to live games? (whether its the Premiership, EL, junior football or whatever)
    Basically, all Leagues have good games and bad games. Chelsea and Liverpool in particular can be abysmal to watch at times. So can Shels. They can also be exhilerating too (yeah, really) We go for the involvement, the craic, the scrappy wins and real 3D football.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

This reminds me of the embarassmewnt in turners cross when roy came over to help out rams, and for some strange reason all rams fans were scattered around the ground so there was no singing what so ever, there was no rams fans near me, and when rams scored i jumped up and celebrated as you do, and this nacker(in a celtic jersey may i add) threatened me, "shut your mouth and go back to cobh boy were here for roy not ye nackers". I'll never forget it and my hatred for people who hate the EL because of its standard is unreal because of it. The same Skobie was probably one of the lads with their no to foreign sports signs outside croker. Makes me sick. We've the local derby saturday, win lose or draw the game will be a testament to the EL, we havent had iti n over ten years, roughly 5000 in attendance, the passion will be ten times any liverpool fan will get when he travels over to watch them draw with the likes of aston villa. Little do they know what their missing out on.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    This reminds me of the embarassmewnt in turners cross when roy came over to help out rams, and for some strange reason all rams fans were scattered around the ground so there was no singing what so ever,
    I was there, the atmosphere was surreal. You could hear the keeper coughing. I lay claim to being the only person in the ground wearing a Cork City jersey - this because I got a phone call from a friend up in the media gantry asking was I the one in the city jersey. It was disgusting - thousands of people politely clapping a load of kids they'd mostly likely never see again against a team of local players.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    I was there, the atmosphere was surreal. You could hear the keeper coughing. I lay claim to being the only person in the ground wearing a Cork City jersey - this because I got a phone call from a friend up in the media gantry asking was I the one in the city jersey. It was disgusting - thousands of people politely clapping a load of kids they'd mostly likely never see again against a team of local players.
    agreed
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    welcome to post Cold War Earth
    Add in a few sneaky misplaced hyphens to that and you get the greeting awaiting babies born into the globally warm, dystopic world of 2030; "Welcome to Post-Cold War-Earth."

(Completely pointless point, I'm just going through a hyphen-mania phase at the moment )

A Premiership or Celtic follower living in Ireland is no more of a football fan than pulling yer mickey to porn movies every night makes you a stud.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    A Premiership or Celtic follower living in Ireland is no more of a football fan than pulling yer mickey to porn movies every night makes you a stud.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast