Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstooler face offs?

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pateen View Post
    The thing is though; I would regularly get slagged by barstoolers for supporting LOI and occasionally surprise when I said it to others.
    Now I live in London for the past five years and I just started a new job. My work colleagues’ asked me if I support any team and I said Cork City. Its weird but the reaction over here is almost always the same, total respect. This is because you do also meet the Stevenage and Barnet fans who are loyal to the death.
    I have a simlar experience as a Blues fan. I'd get grief and gloating, especially when living in Dublin, for going 20 minutes walk up the road to watch them in Dalymount or Tolka from people I knew. Now I am living in London, no one seems to think it remotely odd that I occasionally travel back for games to the point that when work colleagues hear I'm going back or see me with a big bag they presume I'm off to a game. I even get this from the non-football fans.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I was over in Manchester a couple of weeks ago visiting friends of the wife. When asked who I supported I replied Galway United. Seemed normal to the Manchester lads, didnt get the usual Premiership follow up that you get here.
    It was interesting to hear their views on the Irish Man Utd "fans". Basically they thought the Irish lads heading over there every second week to see Man U were absolute idiots. Wasting their money on a club that they have no real connection with.
    Most of these lads are star struck glory chasers, who haven't a clue what it is to follow a real football team.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

50 Posts
    I used to support Bohs (and Celtic - we have Scottish blood) as my Dad always did & he used to bring my brother & I to games, but when I was in school if anyone asked who I supported I'd always say Liverpool because of the grief I got for being a Bohs supporter, I was still quite young & in school when the oul fella popped his clogs so then I stopped going altogether. Then when I was around 19/20 I was working out past town & my route home was past Dalymount so I started going again with a lad from the office I was on placement in, then work took me to Glasgow for a few years & I started going to see Celtic & over 4 years or so developed an obsession as I suppose I was always pre-disposed to do so - anyhow when I moved back to Dublin I tried to start going to Bohs again & it just felt odd compared to going to Celtic so I think I'm pretty much the other side of the coin to you boys....think your being a bit harsh on some of the EPL fans though!
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

147 Posts
    Had a blaring - and drunken - row with a friend last week. He laughed at me for supporting United, I laughed back at him (a Galway man) for supporting Liverpool. His retort was that Liverpool were supposdely a bad team yet had won a Champions League and 3 FA cups in seven years, before asking me what had United ever won.
    This clown claims to be a great soccer man. That is the mentality you are faced with.
    We haven't spoken since
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Wangball, I don't think people have issue with your example, more with supporters of Premiership teams whose support doesn't go much further than Sky in the pub and the odd trip across the channel.
    Personally I don't bother with silly arguments. I watched a lot of English football in the past, less so now. Each to their own.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Unless you support Monaghan.

I think we've all experienced the converstaion that goes along the lines of;

"So, who do you support?"
    "I'm a Derry fan."
    "Yeah, but which proper team do you support?
    "Um...Derry City."
    "Look, ok, who do you support in the Premiership?"
    so who do you support
    derry
    no i mean in ireland
    derry
    are they not northern ireland
    ya but we were not winning anything in that league so we moved.
    so how are you doing now
    not so good but we hope to start our own league soon.
    best of luck dont let the door hit you on the way out
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

147 Posts
    Saucer of milk for table 2 please
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    so who do you support
    derry
    no i mean in ireland
    derry
    so how are you doing now

Oh dear

just ask them.

i just ask them "so what part of Manchester/Liverpool are you from"?and they give me a dirty look,f**k them.They will never know that feeling that we know.
    i always get dragged into a conversation with a guy in work along the lines of "the standard is sh*te,so are the stadiums and theres only 10 fans there".i keep telling him to go along and see for himself and his reply is "i will when it gets better".-Although lately in terryland park the standard has indeed been "sh*te but his other 2 reasons arent true.

i agree with nearly all the sentiments expressed on this thread. the eircom league is an occult as such, but thats the very charm of it. all of us want our league to be successful with more people attending games, but the amazing thing is if these barstoolers start supporting the league and it became huge, it might lose its charm. nearly everyone on this forum loves their team and the feeling they get when they win,a sense of belonging. the barstoolers will never know what it feels like

now ive been to a lot of big sporting events, soccer and rugby but i have never got the same buzz i get with a fraction of the crowd at a ramblers game. i brought a friend of mine who goes to old trafford but not eloi games to a rams game last year and the first thing he said when he went intyo the stand was that there was a better athmosphere among the people singing in the stand than there is in old trafford. and theres many people on this forum who would have similar stories.

the fact of the matter is that these so-called irish 'football fans'' dont have a clue what it takes to run a club, or dont want to know for that matter. they just like the convience of the premiership with its ''Grandslam Sunday'' and the like. they forget that its people like us(foot.ie people) in england that formed & supported these great english clubs, long before Sky came along. like in life irish people want things instantly, instead of supporting their own team/ league and seeing how far we can get it, they'd rather support a ready-made superclub who treat fans like customers. i watch premiership and a lot of other leagues but rams and the Eloi are my #1. and id be the 1st to admit (even as a fanatical ramblers fan) that i have over the years went to many games in the cross to watch top-flight irish football.
    Last edited by depor; 27/03/2008 at 4:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    They will never know that feeling that we know.
    Too ****ing right. While people have the right to choose to watch whatever they want, following the EPL is the equivalent of never questioning what the priest says in mass or what the teacher told you in school. Sheep the lot of them. They'll never know the real emotion of your team winning the league. And to be honest, I don't want a load of these people in our grounds anyway. They'd only convince the FAI to sterilise the football and it's atmosphere. The only people I want coming to games are those who are there for the love of it

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Too ****ing right. While people have the right to choose to watch whatever they want, following the EPL is the equivalent of never questioning what the priest says in mass or what the teacher told you in school. Sheep the lot of them. They'll never know the real emotion of your team winning the league. And to be honest, I don't want a load of these people in our grounds anyway. They'd only convince the FAI to sterilise the football and it's atmosphere. The only people I want coming to games are those who are there for the love of it
    dead right, thats exactly what i wanted to say. english ground are sterile like a supermarket or the cinema.

Bring back the corner shop

43 Posts
    I was sat quietly having a pint and I was thumped in a bar in Derry for having the temerity to cheer a Derry City goal................ Thank you Ryan Coyle - it was well worth it......

http://youtube.com/watch?v=NmUl6-OdnFc&feature=related
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

123 Posts
    clicked on the link expecting to see you getting a thump.... damt it i must read them links

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    I was sat quietly having a pint and I was thumped in a bar in Derry for having the temerity to cheer a Derry City goal................ Thank you Ryan Coyle - it was well worth it......

http://youtube.com/watch?v=NmUl6-OdnFc&feature=related
    All the Derry goals were class. Was that Beckett with the little chip at the start?

43 Posts
    clicked on the link expecting to see you getting a thump.... damt it i must read them links

I roped you in.

Yep that was Gary Beckett Lexipred.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Great goal. Now that Beckett no longer plays for ye I can admit he's one of my all time LOI favourites. A Legend

291 Posts
    so who do you support
    derry
    no i mean in ireland
    derry
    so how are you doing now
    Hello 71345100 Foyle taxis?

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Hello 71345100 Foyle taxis?
    will you be sharing that cab
    dont forget get a quote for a return journey.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast