Thread: Internet project

Internet project

Lads, doing an incredibly boring project about the internet at the moment. I've done searches but can't find a proper definition on this:

Who funds the internet?

I know users fund it by paying a subscription to ISP's but is there anyone/thing else?

Cheers!

ya the Big Evil.

Don't think you can say the Internet exists as an entity?

Domain registration payments?

it was developed initially by the Us government as a communication mechanism during the later part of the cold war as far as iam aware,,what you have to write about?
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

hmmm it kinda was erased. loads of different mediums existed.

Tim Berners-Lee was the main man though.

Ye know, when lecturers give these things, I think half the time they dont have a clue and are looking for their students to do their research. Really cheeky little fookers those lecturers are.

50 Posts
    Look up DARPA & the ARPA net, I had a project in Uni about the origins of the modern day Internet, I was doing online research and I came across an article about how Al Gore said he'd invented the internet, I tore chunks out of the piece to use thinking I'd stumbled upon a journalistic goldmine only to be told it was an urban legend that he's said that!! He was involved in its conceptualization & initial funding for the research
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

505 Posts
    He didn't ask for a history though, he asks who funds it, present tense. IMHO the Internet is defined by the cables and routers that join everything up, and those are primarily funded by private enterprise Internet Service Providers small and large, funded ultimately by their customers. So ISPs is the correct definition.

To go back off topic, Tim Berners-Lee "invented" the World Wide Web. If you want to tie the Internet down to individuals, Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn are probably the guys, as the inventors of TCP/IP. But DARPA would be more correct.

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    what you have to write about?
    Define the nature of ownership, administration and funding of the internet.
    http://www.fetac.ie/modules/c20168.pdf

I have the first two, just need the funding.

EDIT: Thanks Adam.

Most Internet funding comes from subscriptions and/or advertising revenue. in short Porn sites fund the Internet thats why 70% of the internet is Porn

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    To go back off topic, Tim Berners-Lee "invented" the World Wide Web. If you want to tie the Internet down to individuals, Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn are probably the guys, as the inventors of TCP/IP. But DARPA would be more correct.
    I heard it was Al Gore.

He didn't ask for a history though, he asks who funds it, present tense. IMHO the Internet is defined by the cables and routers that join everything up, and those are primarily funded by private enterprise Internet Service Providers small and large, funded ultimately by their customers. So ISPs is the correct definition.

Ya, I meant to say that too, he is asking about funding not history, history is simple, you just give facts, it sounds like the above stupid flaky questiont that he is being challenged to use facts and make assumptions etc, like a discussion.

Those projects are the most stupid thing ever, If I were you I would reply with the words "you, me and us". And write no more. That lecturer is looking for research from you so he can figure it out for himself. Lets be honest, what is the internet, is it the www is it the inter networking of pcs, is it a network or is it a compilation of MANs that can interact with one another?! When ye figure that out, then you are supposed to figure out who funds it?! He might as well have wrote "who is God"

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    it sounds like the above stupid flaky questiont that he is being challenged to use facts and make assumptions etc, like a discussion.

Those projects are the most stupid thing ever
    If you think that is bad, you wouldn't want to see the next question

I would say no one funds the internet, it is its delivery that is funded.

if i use the example of water to explain it.

Water is free it just falls out of the sky or comes up through springs.
    the delivery of that water to your house costs a fortune
    collecting it
    treating it
    building pipelines
    and connecting you up

people have just found many ways of making money from it bottling it for example.buying a bottle of water isnt funding water its funding one comapny. Same with the Internet all you pay for is its delivery its up to you which company you use. It is gone too big to be funded it can continue to run unaided now.

So to answer your question no one funds it

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I heard it was Al Gore.
    If Al himself said so then can't really argue with him unless he has a track record of exaggerating matters?

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I would say no one funds the internet, it is its delivery that is funded.

if i use the example of water to explain it.

Water is free it just falls out of the sky or comes up through springs.
    the delivery of that water to your house costs a fortune
    collecting it
    treating it
    building pipelines
    and connecting you up

people have just found many ways of making money from it bottling it for example.buying a bottle of water isnt funding water its funding one comapny. Same with the Internet all you pay for is its delivery its up to you which company you use. It is gone too big to be funded it can continue to run unaided now.

So to answer your question no one funds it

If it were an Engilsh Essay for the leaving cert higher level, that would be a great answer. Even so its still a good take on it, from a "general question"/philosophical point of view.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I heard it was Al Gore.
    who told you that Rupert Murdoch (Fox News) ?

Gore claimed credit for funding the developement of the internet see Al Franken 'Lies and the Lying Liars who tell them' for further info on how things are twisted and becomes urban myths

505 Posts
    He was taking the mick.

Yeah that Al Franken is a right messer