Langan on liveline

Dave Langan was on Liveline today.
    It was emotional stuff.
    A fan started a campaign for Dave on YBIG and it is taking off big time.

He started the topic yesterday. Who knows, the FAI have to take note of this and maybe a testimonial is a possibility.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

Campaign is on www.ybig.ie forum

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    923 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Who the hell is Dave Langan?
    Irish Legend
    Its really not that complicated!!!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    923 Posts
    Its really not that complicated!!!

I met him and Gerry Daly once when they played for Derby. Our football team was on a trip to anfield and Derby were staying in the same hotel. Met the two of them in the lift. I wasn't a liverpool fan so I was even more determined to shout for Derby. Unfortunatley they were hammered 5 nil or something.
    "I just came in to buy a stamp"-Padraig Pearse, April 24th 1916

Really Ciaran you should be utterly ashamed of yourself, if you think that comment is funny you're sick and if not just extremly ignorant.

If you don't have a clue who Dave Langan is try a little research. Dave is now a cripple who gave his all for Ireland and is living on the breadline from all accounts.

A testimonial for Dave in croker would be a fitting tribute to a true Irish legend.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

130 Posts
    Imbecile.

1,922 Posts
    Go easy on him, It must have all happened about 20 years before his time.

48 Posts
    For anyone listening to this, the Dave Langan part of the show starts at around 15:45.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Imbecile.

Before my time as well, I certainly wouldn't have heard of him until I heard him mentioned here.

Give the chap a break lads - Langan's plight has been well known for the past few years and the fact that a testimonial still hasn't been organised for him is what people should be giving out about rather than a younger Ireland fan who doesn't know who he is.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    who gave his all for Ireland and is living on the breadline from all accounts.
    oh, he fought for Ireland during a war and gave his life? yeah he deserves the title 'legend' then. Oh wait, he played football.... feck off.

who can the rest of us turn when our families are sick? feckin no-one that's who, so stop pushing your misplaced bleeding heart bullpoop down peoples throats. There are millions of people more deserving of a handout than an ex-footballer with arthritis. I'll keep my money for the Red Cross if you don't mind. He lived the dream and now he's suffering from a problem that 1 in 6 Irish people have, life's tough.

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    oh, he fought for Ireland during a war and gave his life? yeah he deserves the title 'legend' then. Oh wait, he played football.... feck off.

who can the rest of us turn when our families are sick? feckin no-one that's who, so stop pushing your misplaced bleeding heart bullpoop down peoples throats. There are millions of people more deserving of a handout than an ex-footballer with arthritis. I'll keep my money for the Red Cross if you don't mind. He lived the dream and now he's suffering from a problem that 1 in 6 Irish people have, life's tough.
    jaysis ruben have a heart man
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Really Ciaran you should be utterly ashamed of yourself, if you think that comment is funny you're sick and if not just extremly ignorant.
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Imbecile.
    ffs lads calm down. I didn't know who he was either, forgive me for not being born in time.

130 Posts
    Checked his wiki site and it sucks for him but how am I expected to know people who played before I was born?

I'd imagine none of my friends would know who he was either. jeez, you guys need to chill, it was a simple question.
    Surely a large part of being a fan is knowing your team's history?

Players like Tony Dunne and Con Martin played for Ireland long before I was born but I still know who they are. Given that Dave Langan was still playing for Ireland while Jack Charlton was in charge and given his circumstances and the fact that plenty has been written about it I think people would expect you to know who he is if you want to be taken seriously.

Checking his wiki site before posting in what seemed to be a pretty crass manner would have been a good start.

jeez, you guys need to chill, it was a simple question.
    No, it wasn't a simple question you were just being a dick to draw attention to yourself. Mission accomplished.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    No, it wasn't a simple question you were just being a dick to draw attention to yourself. Mission accomplished.
    Jerry is your forehead a bit warm?!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Dave Langan played in the 1970's and early 80's at a time when professional footballers earned not a whole lot more than the average man on the street. The majority of footballers had no formal education and when their careers ended, they had to go and find 'normal' jobs. Dave Langan could not do this, due to a medical condition, and now, at 51 years of age lives on state assistance and nothing more. The FAI saw fit to grant testimonials to players like John Giles, Liam Brady and Kevin Moran, who clearly did not need them from a financial perspective. Langan won 26 caps in great Irish teams before his debilitating illness, and his performances brought joy to thousands who wouldn't begrudge the man a day out.
    Add to this the fact that one of his major injuries occurred while playing for Ireland and that while he was playing 25 caps was what was required to gain a testimonial before it was changed to 50. Had he not been injured chances are he'd have got his 25 caps long before he did and would have had his testimonial and the chance to make his life that bit easier.

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    Dave Langan was before my time too, and I knew nothing of him, but having read the thread on YBIG I felt he deserved support. There are a lot of people who are working to get some recognition for his situation.
    Myself and Green Tribe have volunteered to contact as many people/supporters clubs etc to get them clued up about it all before the Serbia game - Emails with links to his bebo site and the YBIG campaign etc, we figure it cant hurt.

It was not 25 caps for a testimonial its was ALWAYS 50 ... or at the discretion off the association

Langan has been helped by some former players , However there is a danger in the FAI giving him a game , Maybe it might help if the current over hyped and over paid players lent a hand rather than the long suffering fan .

I feel sorry for Dave he was a smashing full back for Ireland and helped us get Aldo and Houghton in to the team .. but what are Derby , Oxford , and Birmingham doing for him after all it was during his time there that these injuries would have been caused.

Its a good cause... but so many others are too

Dave Langan played in the 1970's and early 80's at a time when professional footballers earned not a whole lot more than the average man on the street.

Max wage was gone in the 60s ... for the times these boys were on good money .. in the 70s and early 80s the man on the street was unemployed in this country !!! or had to move away to get work ...
    Last edited by gustavo; 26/03/2008 at 1:30 PM.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast