Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul Doolin

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    It will be interesting to see what sort of pressure he will be under when they finish outside of the top 3 at the end of the season.

They won't.
    In fairness I don't know where that idea is coming from but it seems to be very prominent.
    Whatever about their likelihood of getting a few too many draws, I can't see them losing enough games for them to fall to third, never mind fourth.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    They won't.
    In fairness I don't know where that idea is coming from but it seems to be very prominent.
    Whatever about their likelihood of getting a few too many draws, I can't see them losing enough games for them to fall to third, never mind fourth.
    can see it myself. seems to be a better standard of league this year so far so I can see them finishing outside top 4 if injuries occur.
    nearly everyone you talk to that has had dealings with doolin will say the same thing about the man. dont need me to repeat them but you can guess what the general opinion is. tactically, for every sami he has signed there is a glen fitzpatrick and he has an annoying habit of perservering with lost causes. also, playing for (hanging on for?) 1-0 wins at home to ucd isnt exactly the kind of thing to entice passive supporters to part with their hard earned euros. i'd rather richardson as manager any day of the week - if he kept his mouth shut that is!!

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I am sure I will be accused of a wind up but here goes anyway...

Does any one else see him as the most insecure manager? In almost every interview he seems to feel he has to defend himself & have a cut of unknown forces.

I would have thought once he won the league he would be more secure...
    I'll be honest i never even noticed him before he went to Drogs and initially not even that much.

I think his defensive 'everyone is out to get me' stance is actually guilt. He has had huge resources available to him and fans and board that will stick with him no matter what he does. He must recognise this himself, knows how he has underachieved and guilt is tearing him up because of it.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    I'll be honest i never even noticed him before he went to Drogs and initially not even that much.

I think his defensive 'everyone is out to get me' stance is actually guilt. He has had huge resources available to him and fans and board that will stick with him no matter what he does. He must recognise this himself, knows how he has underachieved and guilt is tearing him up because of it.
    Absolute classic cork nonsense .How do you under achieve by winning stuff FFS .He has taken us from 2nd from bottom to the leauge title .What guilt ? he was brought in to do a job and he has done it really well .You really are a sad bunch coming out with this nonsense .He aint gonna win any popularity contests , and hes not exactly mister personality , but we dont care as long as we are winning .That afterall is the whole point is it not . Stupidest post in a long time A face

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    How do you under achieve by winning stuff FFS .
    Drogheda had the best squad in the Premier last season by some distance. A seven point margin to second place, unconvincing performances, playing hoofball with quality players did not represent the strength of players at Drogheda. If it wasn't for a midseason blip by Pats they would have won the league. Last season was also one of the weakest in a number of years which also made it easier for Doolo.

He has taken us from 2nd from bottom to the leauge title .
    With the same players? None of your squad from the '04 season played an important role for Drogheda last season (one if you count Fabio, though he was injured). He's a cheque book manager, nothing else, who has the tactical nous of a chimpanzee.

but we dont care as long as we are winning .That afterall is the whole point is it not .
    Exactly. Hard luck this season.

Funny funny post!!

Just because your paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you!!!

Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior View Post
    Siege mentality innit. All managers do it. Jaysus lads, its not rocket science.
    Exactly. Doolin and Scully are masters at it (in the meeja anyway)
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Drogheda had the best squad in the Premier last season by some distance. A seven point margin to second place, unconvincing performances, playing hoofball with quality players did not represent the strength of players at Drogheda.
    To fully, 100% represent the "strength of his players", he would have to be the perfect manager, and the players' performance would never be allowed to dip below 100% peak performance - in the league, cup, league cup, and Europe. Do you believe a perfect manager exists, and do you believe the perfect footballers exist? We play in a **** league where the majority of the teams are ****. The players are ****, and they're physical on top of that. The most physically strong team will usually win the league, and last season that was Drogheda.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Drogheda had the best squad in the Premier last season by some distance. A seven point margin to second place, unconvincing performances, playing hoofball with quality players did not represent the strength of players at Drogheda. If it wasn't for a midseason blip by Pats they would have won the league. Last season was also one of the weakest in a number of years which also made it easier for Doolo.

With the same players? None of your squad from the '04 season played an important role for Drogheda last season (one if you count Fabio, though he was injured). He's a cheque book manager, nothing else, who has the tactical nous of a chimpanzee.

Exactly. Hard luck this season.
    What he said, although i wouldn't have been as clear cut about it. I would have worded it more diplomatically but the semantics would have been the same.

Think about it, he arguably has not achieved what he should have given the resources he has had. Even though its the best Drogs had got in years/ever its still falls short of what actually should have happened given the spend. I think Doolin understands this and is guilty because of it.

I dont know am i wording it right, but i think its a natural reaction given the situation he is in.

But the most physical team doesn't always win the league. Cork were certainly not physical when they won the league, and 1 or 2 of the Pats teams weren't either. (SOme of them were)

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    To fully, 100% represent the "strength of his players", he would have to be the perfect manager, and the players' performance would never be allowed to dip below 100% peak performance - in the league, cup, league cup, and Europe. Do you believe a perfect manager exists, and do you believe the perfect footballers exist? We play in a **** league where the majority of the teams are ****. The players are ****, and they're physical on top of that. The most physically strong team will usually win the league, and last season that was Drogheda.
    Cork City weren't physically strong in 2005, far from it. It was pure skill and ability that won us the league by the biggest points tally in years. If anything Derry coming second that year were far bigger and stronger than City.

1,551 Posts
    I remember a St James Gate Team that were built like, and to some extent played like, professional wrestlers. Not only did they not win the league, they finished near the bottom of the first division.

Cork City weren't physically strong in 2005, far from it. It was pure skill and ability that won us the league by the biggest points tally in years. If anything Derry coming second that year were far bigger and stronger than City.
    Well then Doolin must have super achieved. We won the league by 7 points, wrapped up with three games to go - you won it by 2 on the last day of the season in 2005.
    Not bad by Doolin for a bunch of underachieving hoofball clubbers. Pure fluke the 2006 Setanta cup was, as was the 2007 Setanta cup and the FAI cup where Cork forgot to turn up.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Well then Doolin must have super achieved. We won the league by 7 points, wrapped up with three games to go - you won it by 2 on the last day of the season in 2005.
    Not bad by Doolin for a bunch of underachieving hoofball clubbers. .
    You didnt beat our points tally last year, despite it being a lower standard league.....

You didnt beat Derry's points tally of that year either.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    You didnt beat our points tally last year, despite it being a lower standard league.....
    You didnt beat Derry's points tally of that year either.
    Tell me something - who decided it was a lower standard league last season?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Tell me something - who decided it was a lower standard league last season?
    That would be the supporters(all bar Drogheda fans) who have watched the league for many many years and have the ability to compare them.

As well as many players during the course of the year, most of which annoyed their team wasnt doing better in a poor league.

But if Drogheda fans want to believe it wasn't a poorer league than the years gone before fine.

However it wouldnt make any sense for me and other fans to say this if it wasnt true. It only reflects badly on our clubs. Ffs we could only finish 4th in a ****e league, its hardly something to brag about

With all his resources Doolin achieved what was expected last season. Getting a draw way to San Marino team in the Uefa Cup was a blot on his record.

Realistically expectation will be to be in with chance of winning the league right up to the end of the season. Also have to get past 1st qualifying round in CL so will be significant pressure there. He would probably get credit if he retains the league this year as hard thing to do even with such a large squad.

He does seem to have an addiction to signing forwards - O'Brien, Bates, Zayed, Grant, O'Keeffe, Barrett, Senegal lad. Could argue Barrett a wide midfielder but the other 6 are all out & out forwards.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    That would be the supporters(all bar Drogheda fans) who have watched the league for many many years and have the ability to compare them.
    It was a very poor standard in 2005. Dreadful actually.
    Does that statement make it true.

Was the Setanta cup poor in 2006 / 2007 because we won it. Was the FAI cup final in 2005 poor becaue we made the greatest league champions ever look ordinary.

Is this year's better than last, than 2005, than 1986

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast