Thread: Cork bid for Keating

"Official Slant"

Originally posted by lims fan
    6,000 Euros is an insult and shows how little respect cork city and Noel the Scavanger O'Connor have for limerick FC. Why doesn't take his poxy 6 grand buy a few pies and get o'connor a couple of kgs of brisket which o'connor can stuff dolan full of. Not too sure the best way to cook brisket but i'm sure it can be fried or even grilled with some seasoning and plenty of peppers and some chowder to burn the mouth off fat dolan. Hands off fat boy or come back with a non-insulting offer.
    Very good cooking lesson!!

Anyway, to the point:

I was contacted by Michael O'Sullivan, our ex-chairman as of Saturday, as he was concerned about this post. He gave me the following info to relay to you all.

(a) The bid for Keating dropped to 2,000 Euro. "Someone" from Cork contacted Billy Kinnane with the offer. Billy Kinnane then refused to tell the rest of the committee who the contact was.

(b) Ciaran Foley is gone. His family is moving to Sligo and the distance is too great for him to travel so he has to pack it in.

(c) According to Michael O'Sullivan, the committee is doing a "lot of work in the background."

(d) When the topic of membership of the club was brought up Michael told me that anyone who wishes to put money into the club will be put on the committee. He also believes that if a consortium comes in to take over they will want to get rid of the current committee.

So what does everyone think of the official slant?
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Originally posted by Dodge
    Didn't know Pats/Bohs/Shels/Rovers were in for any of their players... (Sorry couldn't resist)
    Well apparently your beloved Who Are Ya Collins did have talks with a limerick player pre-season and is rumoured to have spoken to him again

steve o flynn

Steve O Flynn was approached at the start of the season by St Pats but Noel OConnor convinced him to stay...now there has been a fresh approach, and bear in mind all of our guys will be free agents by law very soon....I dont think I need to spell it out.

Jesus..tis worse it's getting. the way its heading we will not have enough players to play a game. Anyone want to play LOI football, for a few weeks anyway!!

Let's face it we are banjaxed. Lets have the public meeting we were promised. The Committee should be doing work in the foreground not the background.
    1...Why are there no players sponsored this year ?

2.. Why are the Supporters club talking abouit about paying wages for good players when it's obvious the committee dont care about promotion or the future of the club ?

3..Where is the public meeting we were promised ? the 11th July has come and gone.

As regards the committee how about we all contribute the famous €1000 and take over the club en masse

All we need now is to lose 2 of our 3 strikers for f**ks sake!!

Re: Strikers

Stevo - still there.
    Derek Mc Carthy - there but not fit enough by any stretch.
    Ciaran Foley - moved house to Sligo.
    Gareth Cooney (a stretch I know, but he was up front against Bray for a bit) - out for a t least another 2 weeks with injury.

So only 2 really left, and I don't think anyone can think that Steven will hang on for next year...
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Originally posted by JohnD
    Jesus..tis worse it's getting. the way its heading we will not have enough players to play a game. Anyone want to play LOI football, for a few weeks anyway!!
    that would be a novel way of raising a few € anyway! 'pay a grand and get your game' or something like that

for ye cork lads

ammm just annoyed that some of ye know nothing bout certain players. Eoin Keating played for two seasons in the prem division with UCD. During this time he became a much loved and valued member of the team and when he was let return to Limerick (his original club) for a free, the UCD fans kicked up a storom over the letting go of such a talent. Hes far better then any of your full backs belive me. 6,000 and eventually 2,000 is a joke. its 25,000 lads and not a cent less.

Originally posted by Dodge
    Didn't know Pats/Bohs/Shels/Rovers were in for any of their players... (Sorry couldn't resist)
    Sorry, should have said Huge Cluib to distingusih from the other wannabes.

Maybe Limerick could do a Formula 1 on it - get people to pay for their team place - cpould have a minimum fitness requirement like the F1 super licence

re;

Kieran foley moves house half way through the season and he can't play anymore a f u c k i n g joke or what.As if the squad was'nt small as it was and now we have players that can't play because of this.Thing's really are getting bad now if this kind of thing is happening.

The committee were right not to release Keating for €6,000. That's about two weekes wages, it's not gonna get us out of a hole. Considering that we're down to about 16 players it's just worth it.

Losing Foley is inconvenient at the moment but it's not a huge loss on the bigger scale. However he'd better not be released from his contract. If he turns up for Sligo Rovers before the season ends it'd be a sickener. Besides he's 22 or so, he's finished college, if he wanted to play for Limerick he's old enough not to have to follow the family to Sligo. Thanks for the effort Ciarán but good luck.

As for our striking options at the moment, O'Flynn and McCarthy look to be the two, both have outscored Foley this season anyway so that's that. Cooney injured for the next few games but is Barry Ryan still on our books? Should/could Kerley try and mend bridges with Brian Donnellan? At a push maybe Shane could be givena run up front?

I'm sorry lads but given what the club has had to deal with this season, losing Ciarán Foley is only a blip on the horizon. The loss of a fringe player isn't going to make or break us.

slk...are you losing touch with reality??

We are within a hairs breadth of going out of business all together...we need urgent funds...we cannot look gift horses in the mouth.Barry Ryan is no longer on the books...(What Books)Brian Donnellan was always only a winger, and a sulky little moaner at that....Shane simply is not a striker....Derek is unfit...Stevo is talking to St Pats...Bohs can pull Cooney at any time...we DO have serious problems..and they are mounting.
    Please read my other thread (this club is a dead loss) of this morning and let me know what you think...I'm being deadly serious
    Last edited by joeSoap; 16/07/2003 at 10:23 AM.

My point was that losing Foley isn't the major issue. Does that make a little more sense now? I totally agree that the club is in big trouble, that's why I think Foley's departure should be put in perspective. We have problems alright but losing a limited albeit hard-working attacker isn't a major one.

As for Keating 6,000 won't make or break us either way. I was livid when I heard they'd turned down the offer but I expected it to be at least twice that. Eoin Keating is worth more than €6,000 to Limerick. The squad is too small as it is (especially wth Foley gone as well).

Onto strikers then, let's be reasonable. We can't afford anybody new right? Then we have to make do with what we have at present. If Shane or Derek are out and Cooney's still injured/back at Bohs (though he wants to stay for the rest of the season) then we'll have to put somebody else up front.

As for your other post, it sounds a good idea but at present I'm jobless and literally down to my last fiver. Being a jobless student means serious money problems. So I can't contribute to anything right now. However I do have plenty of time to contribute to anything at the moment and your idea sounds solid enough. JohnD is the man to contact.

3,491 Posts
    Originally posted by tiktok
    for a young midfielder who's never played in the prem. div. and therefore hasn't got the pedigree
    Keating had a season at UCD. He was one of our better players but couldn't hack the training and lectures - took too much of his time apparently, so he headed back to Limerick.

I'd say he'd have no problem getting into the team at the likes of Longford/Drogheda/Waterford/Derry/us anyway. He's only young still, so if he went to one of the bigger teams, he'd certainly be a regular in a season or two.

I'm sure the L/FAI will be happy to donate cash to Limerick once they hear ye turning down offers for players.

If 6k is 2 weeks wages then no wonder ye are in financial trouble.

57 Posts
    In our current plight 6K has got to make business ense.

Realistically we are not going to get in the playoffs now and even if we did and won promotion we wouldn't be allowed to go up.

I'd rather see an all amateur team still playing senior football than the current one go bust.

Keatign can also walk for nothing if he hasn't been paid.

Contrary to popular belief all players have been paid during this crisis and will be for the next two matches at least..Sell Nobody

Re: Cork bid for Keating

Originally posted by joeSoap
    Keating himself has expressed interest in playing at a higher level, ( though he says he will respect any decision the club make)
    Going back to the first post on this subject one thing strikes me. Keating would obviously want to play for a premier division team but seems to be willing to stay with Limerick this season if the club decides that. He could be kicking up a fuss but does not seem to be doing this.

I just wanted to say fair play to Eoin, he is obviously committed to the club and is being very fair in all of this.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Re: Re: Cork bid for Keating

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    I just wanted to say fair play to Eoin, he is obviously committed to the club and is being very fair in all of this.
    Absolutely, I'd like to echo those sentiments!

Eoin Keating - a legend at 21!