Met a guy with a Derry City Jersey and a guy with a Bohs Jacket at oxegen. Saw a guy with an Athlone Town training top but he was too far away to get talkin to him. Only wore my mons jacket on Fri then it got soakin wet so didnt wear it again.
I'd rather he followed an EL side than an English/Scottish team etc.
Slightly off topic but I was in an Irish bar in France a few weeks ago wearing my Derry jersey but alas no kindred spirits. The pub had the usual Irish memorabilia on the walls and prominently on the ceiling were a large Man Utd flag and a large Chelsea flag. You could argue that Man Utd and Chelsea are more representative of Irish football fans than EL clubs but I still don't think it was on. I read somewhere that there's a firm in Dublin that ships Irish memorabilia to Irish pubs all over the world so I really hope that they're not sending Premiership flags
Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...
Met a guy with a Derry City Jersey and a guy with a Bohs Jacket at oxegen. Saw a guy with an Athlone Town training top but he was too far away to get talkin to him. Only wore my mons jacket on Fri then it got soakin wet so didnt wear it again.
It is waterproof to a certain extent. Some ***** pouring water on my head didnt help. That was before his friend decided to kick me. Gits.
Was he wearing a rovers jersey? If so there's a 50% chance it was me! We met a rake of derry fans,some harps fans and a mixture of others.Had good craic with the derry fans!We went into naas to watch our match against galway,after trying 10 pubs(and a few bookies) we finally got one that would show it.
can you imagine walking up to somebody and saying im magicme or thischarmingman you would get some funny looks
I wish i did not know then what I dont know now
"I'm Magic Me" would me absolutely brilliant.
As would "I'm Lionel Richie."
A couple of times when I've been talking to an EL fan in a pub before a game or whatever I've casually dropped 'Foot.ie' into the conversation to see if they recognise it: "...yeah I hear he's looking to move soon...one of those football forum websites had a rumour about him wanting out of the club...foot.ie or one of those..."
So far noone has bitten.
Maybe we should have a secret handshake...
(For tips see the last minute or so of this clip, from 5:20: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwQerFAh4Wk)
Last edited by thischarmingman; 16/07/2008 at 10:11 PM.
A Derry City fan from here (who shall remain nameless) turned around to me at a match (I was wearing a Dundalk jersey) and asked - 'Are you holidaysong?'![]()
You can't spell failure without FAI
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
I recall being accosted whilst drunk once on the streets of sligo with howya gustavo , cant remember who it was though
It was the week before the 2 weeks break and given the low standard of play on offer I...er I mean, he...merely remarked wryly to the nearest punter (in a Derry accent admittedly), "They're already on holiday, son!"
I was as surprised as anyone to get the response, "I am indeed, who are you?"
Last edited by thischarmingman; 17/07/2008 at 4:51 PM.
Saw a fella with a Derry City jersey in Enniscrone Co. Sligo today, must have taken a wrong turn.
Was wearing the away shirt while visiting limerick recently, heard a bang on the window of a cafe and there was a load of lads waving out at me. Seemed friendly enough.![]()
Been recognised as sadloserkid more often than I'd like tbh...![]()