Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Do you acknowledge other EL fans?

291 Posts

Do you acknowledge other EL fans?

Ok, let me explain...

Apologies, but maybe this only really apples if you live in Dublin, and it is a bit of an unusual one.

Given that there's only a few thousand EL fans in Ireland, if you're out and you happen to see someone and you're both wearing an EL shirt do you acknowledge one another? For example, a couple of weeks ago when we were playing UCD, I was on my way to the match walking down Grafton Street (I live in Dublin), and a girl in a Shels top walked past me. For just a brief second, among the Polish shop assistants on their way home, the office workers going for a pint, the tourists, and the Ladbrokes sign advertising odds for the nights Blue Square League matches we shared a kind of mutually acknowledged respect- we were LOI fans on our way to see our local teams play.

It's happened to me a couple of times, where I've noticed a fellow LOI fan, (possibly because it's rather unusual to see a DCFC fan walking around Patrick Street or wherever), and there's been a nod between us. Might have once happened in Derry but there's so many shirts around these days its not unusual in the city centre.

Anyone else know what I'm talking about? Would it be unusual enough to see an EL around the town centre?

It is a strange one, I know...

Yes I would always try to acknowledge a fellow el fan
    MD

Would recognise a lot of Cork City fans so I don't think that counts. You don't see very many other ELOI jersies around the city except on match days. Will usually give a nod or say hello or have a chat on match day if theres opposition fans hanging around. Enjoyed slagging my friend who scored with a Pats fan before!
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

There would be a few knowing glances alright. I'd be more likely to do it with non Bohs, Rovers, Pats fans though. That's more of a knowing glare Always found the corkies very welcoming down there. You get the feeling that a large minority of people on a friday in cork know what the hell an EL jersey is doing in the city whereas in Dublin no one cares

Work with a Sligo fan and a Longford casual supporter (not of the Aquascutum wearing fighting kind, mind...), would have the odd conversation in work. However, I've NEVER seen an eL shirt at random in Tallaght, and I've actually seen more Albion shirts at random in Dublin I'd guess.

37 Posts
    Always.

I stopped at a bus stop in Salthill to pick up a bunch of Derry City fans [one is BrendyEire, who posts here] and gave them a lift to match. I have often spoken to LOI fans in Galway, most especially if it's NOT a match day. Once I spot a bit of merchandise (jersy, baseball cap, t-shirt etc) I will try to start a conversation. Last summer, I chatted to Longford fans on a stag, an entire St. Pat's 'family' in Galway for a weekend and a rather drunk Cork City fan. I'd say that the most common LOI jersy that I see around Galway is Cork City. I work in the centre of Galway and I am alway's on the look out.

Also, when I was on my honeymoon in Hawaii in 2001, I spotted a lad in a Shamrock Rovers jersey but I didn't get to speak to him he was on the other side of the restaurant and he'd left before I did.

where i work we get a lot of Galway and Derry jerseys coming in, always have a chat. Jim Roddy, chairman of DCFC(think thats his name) came in one day, had a great debate about all things LOI

The odd time down here in Newbridge i would see people wearing Shamrock Rovers gear. Think myself that a good few young lads follow them after moving down from dublin. The odd Pats top too
    Cmon County!

Regularly noticed the same thing when I worked in Dublin. Will always acknowledge any opposition jersies around Cork as well but have noticed that it's when abroad that it's always a great ice-breaker. I've struck up a couple of great lasting friendships with guys that I've met on holidays etc and all because one of us was wearing a jersey.

Then there was that night in McGowans.......................

ye i always aknowledge other eircom league fans, great buzz

Been in Asia and Oz for 2 months now. Only saw on lad wearing a Cork Jersey in Sydney. I said "go on Galway United" as i passed. He Just smiled( Full of conversation them cork Lads )
    On a sad note a Bar in Melbourne Showed a premier**** game last nite and it was packed with lads wearing liverpool and United Jerseys. At least 3/4 of them where Irish( Plonkers) An Aussie lad asked this Irish Guy where he was from and the Irish guy pointed at this liverpool crest!!!!! Sad or What

the eircom league is put down by a lot of people so when ever i see someone in a jersey of el club, i would say hello or nod as you feel we are a minority and for that person it is a way of sticking 2 fingers up to the begrudgers
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    ....On a sad note a Bar in Melbourne Showed a premier**** game last nite and it was packed with lads wearing liverpool and United Jerseys. At least 3/4 of them where Irish( Plonkers) An Aussie lad asked this Irish Guy where he was from and the Irish guy pointed at this liverpool crest!!!!! Sad or What ....
    I was in Lanzarote a few weeks ago. It really pi$$ed me off when I saw Irish people (adults more so than kids) wearing English or Celtic jersies. Fair play to the folks who wear GAA jersies eventhough a crispy pink Paddy in an Offaly jersy is not so easy on the eye.

1,025 Posts
    I've never seen one here yet!!
    I did see a Japanese teenager in an Ireland away shirt in a train station about 3 years ago, but when I asked him about it and told him I was Irish, he quickly moved away from me.

Quote Originally Posted by KianD View Post
    However, I've NEVER seen an eL shirt at random in Tallaght, and I've actually seen more Albion shirts at random in Dublin I'd guess.
    saw loads of pats and rovers jerseys in tallaght.
    Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............

70 Posts
    I saw a lad with a pats shirt on in grafton street but it was hard to "acknowledge" him as I wasnt wearing any LOI gear. I would have just looked like a stalker... I do try though when I am wearing my colours.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I did see a Japanese teenager in an Ireland away shirt in a train station about 3 years ago, but when I asked him about it and told him I was Irish, he quickly moved away from me.
    And rightly so too

There are Japanese Shels fans. Watch out for them. They hunt in packs

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by green army View Post
    saw loads of pats and rovers jerseys in tallaght.
    That will change next year...

I always do. When I go shopping in Drogheda I always say hello to random Drogs fans. Also when was waiting for a bus in Clondalkin one day there was a guy in a Rovers jacket (he was about 16/17) at the stop too. I slagged him about getting beaten that weekend and we spent the bus journey into town chatting bout eL.

On a similar note if I am in a pub or nite club and get chatting to someone from say Derry or Galway or wherever I always always ask if they support their local team. If they don't generally the conversation ends there. Put it like this, if he cant be bothered to support his local team he isnt worth me wasting my time coz he wont understand my need to follow the Mons.

Solves my "what'll I wear today" dilemma, this thread!

The only one I remember is getting a comical "Ohhhh, Bohs, tsk, tsk, tsk" from a cheery bus driver. He wasn't wearing any colours.
    Because if Gabriel doesn't rollerblade to the Chelsea Piers then the terrorists have truly won.

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast