Page 17 of 25 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast

Thread: Euro 2008

@Shakermaker

Mexes and Sagna were injured...but I get your point.

In World Cup 2002 the French brought an unfit Zidane to the tournament hoping he'd be ready for the knock out stages and subsequently didn't make it out of the group. You could sort of understand that decision because it was Zidane after all. Fast forward 6years and no lessons learned, they bring an unfit Vieira who's past it anyway and send a fully fit Flamini home. A decision like that makes me feel no sympathy for them at being knocked out.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Does Henry just spend all his time moaning? Captain material? The French needed somebody to grab the game and his team mates by the scruff of the neck and drag them through (kicking and screaming if necessary).

It says a lot about your defence when Boumsong actually improves it. Domenech has to go. When you leave out Mexes, Flaimini, Clichy and Sagna at home you know something must be wrong.
    Henry is simply not captain material, as an Arsenal fan I was very disappointed when he was given the armband - he just spends too much time sulking and moaning. A truly fantastic player but not captain material IMO.

As for Domenech, I don't like to criticise people who have success to back them up (and he has had some success) but this guy is a moron of the highest order. He may see himself as a disciplinarian or something but his squad selection and player fallouts have been shameful in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull View Post
    As for Domenech, I don't like to criticise people who have success to back them up (and he has had some success) but this guy is a moron of the highest order.
    The only trophy he has won as a manager is a French Second Divsion title with Lyon in 1989. He was manager of the French U-21 side for years and his record was unremarkable for a country as strong as France.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    And he's an idiot, you forgot, he's an idiot...
    Already taken care of.
    Extratime.ie

200 Posts
    I hear the first thing he did was to propose to his wife, fair play to him.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    The only trophy he has won as a manager is a French Second Divsion title with Lyon in 1989. He was manager of the French U-21 side for years and his record was unremarkable for a country as strong as France.
    World Cup finalist as well... although I agree, he couldn't be compared to the likes of Ferguson etc or O'Neill etc or probably even the next bracket of Allardyce etc.

``Try: 'truly fantastic premier league player' ``
    .. did pretty well in the Champions league as well, and his international record is pretty good (close to a goal every 2 games), however I agree that while he could, and shoud, be considered a legend of the english premier league, he is not a legend of European football.

And good luck to Domenech and his fiancé.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    I agree with you that Carvalho and Pepe are key for Portugal but I think Deco is their most important player. His ability to hold the ball under pressure and control midfield is the reason they have a chance of winning it

ha ha ha ha, funny
    thats if he can actually manage to hold onto the ball
    Germany to beat portugal

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Damn, I forgot to put the bet on...

I went for a few drinks and then was going to nip to the bookies to put the money on it but stayed in the pub to watch Germany Croatia... I completely forgot about the bet and had one of those "Oh god noooo" moments as Vastic lined up to take the penalty.

I think I'll put a £5 acc. on Italy, Russia and Germany to qualify from the group stages. I think Russia will beat Sweden (an old side who will struggle to contain Arshavin) in their last game, the worry is the Greece game tomorrow if Pavyluchenko is fit I'd say they will win otherwise it could be a draw. Spain should beat Sweden and probably Greece too in the final game, so it's a battle for 2nd. I think Italy will edge past Romania today and France Holland will probably be a draw or Dutch win, leaving Italy with the upper hand on the last fixture v France. I'd say Germany will pip the Poles to the 2nd place in group B, Germany only need a draw with Austria. The Russia prediction is the most risky, the Germany and Italy ones are pretty likely. Anyone any thoughts on the Czech - Turkey match ? I really can't call this one, the Czechs have a great passing game and are a strong physical side and with Chech in goal have a decent chance; I think Turkey's pace and drive down the flanks could cause a tired Czech team problems. I think Ujfalushi and Rozenhal will have the beating of Nihat and Tuncay (or even Semih if he comes on) I either see this as a draw and the Turks winning on pens (Volkan is a specialist) or a Czech win in the 90 mins, anyone else have thoughts on this match ?
    jeez man thats good tipping

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cartman View Post
    LOL...
    I told ye boyos.. the czechs were evens not to qualify from their group..i said it was a CERT.. that will get me a nice holiday away.. they always faulter - not strong enough mentally..
    i will let ye know when theres more free money available!!!
    romania tomorrow at 11/10 is oustanding value..
    get on it lads
    well done, at evens, top tipster there

man i had Portugal first and then czech second in group at 4/1......damn

but in the end the better team won, Turkey were ace , and they deserved. The czechs withy Koller were cheating all the time. I hate the way Koller does that. I can never forget when he played with kaiserlautern V Bohs, was constantly on the ground

anyway shocking decisions by the ref - again - the refs in the tournament have been brutal

Quote Originally Posted by Stevo Da Gull View Post
    World Cup finalist as well...
    My impression of the '06 WC run was that Zizou wanted it more than anything and his drive superseded the instructions of Domenech. France were appaling in the group stages and only qualified by beating Togo, iirc. They picked up after that, but it was thanks to Zidane and some other players. I don't rate Domenech at all.
    Extratime.ie

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    Yeah, the French were pretty poor. I knew it before the tournament, but it just confirms that Domenech is out of his depth. I rate Abidal very highly but he was extremely poor against the Romanians and should never have been played in the centre for the Italy game. Domenech's squad selection really damaged their hopes as did the realisation that Thuram's legs had gone (which came too late).

I'm delighted though, as I put money on Italy to win the tournament at 18-1 before the game. Now their odds have dropped to 7-2 in some places so I can ensure I get my money back by laying on them!

jeez h chris, man just hope you were not listening to Hansen on BBC then

and Lawro was funny " Luca toni, more like swiss tony"

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    I hate the way Koller does that. I can never forget when he played with kaiserlautern V Bohs, was constantly on the ground
    You have terrible memory then. Koller never played for Kaiserslautern.
    Extratime.ie

38 Posts
    It was Lokvenc who played for Kaiserslautern. They're basically interchangeable.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    anyway shocking decisions by the ref - again - the refs in the tournament have been brutal
    If all referees are brutal, then there's something wrong with the system, not the referees.

In any event, I think they've by and large done well. I'd love to see anyone else do better with players cheating and diving and your every decision played back in slow motion 3 or four times. An impossible job.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    If all referees are brutal, then there's something wrong with the system, not the referees.

In any event, I think they've by and large done well. I'd love to see anyone else do better with players cheating and diving and your every decision played back in slow motion 3 or four times. An impossible job.
    all they have to do is be brave, or fair
    I cant believe its good enough, football is like basketball now
    player falls on gorund = automatic free kick, its ruining the game

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    You have terrible memory then. Koller never played for Kaiserslautern.

sorry my mistake then, but same sentiment - sorry

200 Posts
    Lets hear it for the Russians!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLcc1...eature=related

That Arshavin is some player!

Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    Lets hear it for the Russians!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLcc1...eature=related

That Arshavin is some player!
    Agreed, I thought they were fantastic going forward last night.....passing and movement off the ball gave you the impression they had two or three extra players. However, the goalie is very suspect.
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

386 Posts
    Russia are a different side with Arshavin in the team. He totally ran the show last night and made Sweden look like a very poor and ordinary side. I thought Sweden's organisation and positional strengths would be enough to get they draw they needed but credit to Hiddink here - his players were successful in drawing Sweden out of position and getting in behind them.

57 Posts
    I love watching midfield players like Arshavin. Russia were brilliant. They looked OK at the back too (as opposed to v Spain) but will be tested a lot more by Holland.

4 great quarter final pairings.

Page 17 of 25 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast