Is that you down in the bottom left Ronnie!?It looked well to be fair.
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
Top left![]()
Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.
Does anyone know if there is any footage of the game?
Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)
Termonbarry Athletic TID!
Not a bad performance from the town.I thought they were a little bit unlucky and to be fair the ref dint'nt help.Anyway lets look forward to the limerick game, it's early days yet and anything can happen.Fair play to section o they were very colourful and as usual sang their harts out.Good crowd and lets hopes it continues.Com on de town bring on limerick.
Went over for a look myself and thought Longford looked very poor on the left side of the pitch with Ryan Casey at left back.
Gary Murphy looked good and made some nice runs and has a good touch and the guy playing right back looks a good player.
Brought a camera to film it but took it out and it was the cold couldn't hold it steady so put it back in
Was that you in the Athlone jacket? You were accosted by Tom?! Passed by you at one stage if so! Ryan O'Donnell is our right back. Thought we could have got something from the game but considering Dundalk are probably one of the favourites to win the division we held our own. Nice goal from McKenna, good work from Gary Murphy.
very disappointed with the result... thought dundalk were the better team.. very proud of the banner display but not so proud for a certain muppet who fired a tennis ball onto the pitch...
its great to have a great crowd in section o lads but there is a bad element creeping in.
for goodness sake we are in enough trouble with the club.. I have our stewards on myself and a few other lads backs the last two games.. treat the ground as if its your own home.. its ridiculuous the amount of broken seats on our side..it costs ninety euros to put in a new seat... I dont mind avin the crack but theres only a certain amount that the club can tolerate,,
theres fai observers at each game we can get heavily fined or face ground closure.. I am not goin to accuse particular names unless theres proof but anyone that acts too much the mickey should hang their heads in shame and it wont be tolerated any more by the club..
rant over
Last edited by Martinho II; 23/03/2008 at 7:43 PM. Reason: typeup
Overall I'd say it was a fair result. Dundalk have a bit more about them and we looked a little uneasy in defence at times. Not happy with the defending for their two goals but these are things to be worked on.
Four points from the first three games is a good return and I'd definitely have taken it before a ball was kicked.
Marty - it's not your reponsibility to steward section O, it's the stewards job. Instead of watching the game they should be watching the crowd - it's obvious enough what part of the crowd is liable to be an issue. If a tennis ball which was no where near hitting anyone is going to get us a fine, then the FAI should get a bloody life considering what goes on at other games and clubs.
With regard to broken seats, are they seriously trying to hang that one on section O? They're hardly top quality and they've basically been breaking since they were installed through general wear and tear not abuse. Sounds like the stewards need to get a reality check instead of coming on all heavy.
Basically Marty (and others) tell any stewards that trying to get you to do their job, that it's their responsibility to steward the fans. That's what they're paid for (or volunteer for). Just because they don't bother their hole to do it properly is not down to any of the older section O heads.
Firstly, as regards the game, i thought first half we tried playin football, but in the second half as dundalk got more physical, we seemed to resort to playin long ball which didnt suit our style of play. Murphy never got a touch of the ball in the second, and when he did, he set up the goal. I feel the back four and goalkeeper especially need to start communicating more, this is where kelly's experience should come in, but so far this is not evident and cost us the first goal. I thought Doyle played well, but was perhaps take off when the game began to bypass him, in favour of Barrett, who showed one or two nice touches. Id like to think with frawley back in the next game we would look more assured at the back, and whats the story with chuckie o'riordan?
All in all it was a wake up after the last two games to life in the first division.
As regards the tennis ball, yes it was stupid and it cannot be condoned regardless. But it all goes back if there were more stewards over in section O you'd like to think these things wouldnt happen, and if they did, the people behind it would be removed. It is where the majority of the crowd apart from the stand congregate, and thats where the stewards should be.
The display worked well, and we are getting good numbers in section O, however more needs to be done to ensure it just doesnt turn into a place where young lads and girls go for an hour and a half every saturday evening to cause trouble with no interest in football.
Hey come on lads if you claim to love the club as much as you say you do you wouldnt need any stewarts in Section O at all, for Pity sake are you really that juvenile, always admired section O but with an attitude like this im beginning to wonder.
Sorry for being a bit off-topic but whats the story with the LTFC free text alerts. I'm not getting any, is anyone else?![]()
Enjoyed the game, pity we didnt score early on with that chance davo had. I think the inexperience showed. Didnt think Doyle should have been taken off. Not sure bout Barrett at all, hes a poor finisher. The long ball is no good, they're far better keepin it on the ground. Nice to seen mckenna scoring again tho. Would have been grand to have a draw-but thats the way it goes! A few lessons learned i'd say...
Fair play to section O! A great effort with the flags and a good crowd!![]()
The majority of section O do love the club, so theres no point in coming across all high and mighty, when support was low last year, section O kept coming back with more numbers. When not even our esteemed "official" supporters club organised buses, we did. The display the other night is testament to our love for the club, and the time, money and effort we spend regularly on supporting the club
As with everything a crowd brings a crowd, and unfortunately there has been an undesireable element coming of late. These people go to games with no interest in football, so there is a need for stewards. A stewards job is to ensure proper behaviour at grounds, and this is what they should be doing.
If they are not prepared to do the job they volunteer for, then there is no point in them being there.