Thread: Game in Switzerland

57 Posts
    No accomodation booked yet and I'm not certain that I can go yet due to other matters but if I go I'll head to Switzerland for the U21 game on the friday night (no venue yet) and stay down there.

Trains leave from Frankfurt airport so probably better to head off from there.

229 Posts
    Originally posted by gspain
    No accomodation booked yet and I'm not certain that I can go yet due to other matters but if I go I'll head to Switzerland for the U21 game on the friday night (no venue yet) and stay down there.

Trains leave from Frankfurt airport so probably better to head off from there.
    you can get the train from the Main Bahnhof. The bevvy will be much cheaper in Germany and I fancy the craic in Frankfurt for a night.

Do I have any chance of getting a ticket from somewhere other than the FAI or a tout who will charge a squillion swiss francs?

I would like to go but I fear the answer to the above might be no.

Please help

Joder! I went to book up a flight for an amigo to Strasbourg from Stansted and those Ryanair cabrones have dropped the price to 35p each way. After me paying £12:50.

I **** on their mothers' milk.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Originally posted by lopez
    Joder! I went to book up a flight for an amigo to Strasbourg from Stansted and those Ryanair cabrones have dropped the price to 35p each way. After me paying £12:50.
    I just realised that too!
    And I paid €14.99 and €19.99!

What accomodation have people arranged in Basel?

229 Posts
    Originally posted by Seamus #1
    Do I have any chance of getting a ticket from somewhere other than the FAI or a tout who will charge a squillion swiss francs?

I would like to go but I fear the answer to the above might be no.

Please help
    I have been informed that the tickets for the home support will go on sale via the website below. I have checked and they are not on there yet (though tickets for their friendly against France are on there). Unfortunately its in German/French, but Im sure you could work it out, might be worth a go.

Im keeping an eye on it, as I'll be trying it should I not get lucky from the FAI. Ill post any updates on here.

Jnr

229 Posts
    sorry, forgot the link www.ticketcorner.ch

Switzerland v Ireland

Lads on the sunday world on sunday there was a number on it. I gave them a call and the price for the trip is 489 euro and the match ticket is another 40 euro. The web site is www.celtichorizontours.com that is if you have that kind of cash to spend lads.

57 Posts

Re: Switzerland v Ireland

Originally posted by ian
    Lads on the sunday world on sunday there was a number on it. I gave them a call and the price for the trip is 489 euro and the match ticket is another 40 euro. The web site is www.celtichorizontours.com that is if you have that kind of cash to spend lads.
    F.A.I. are charging €21 for a match ticket.

Be very very careful booking these overpriced trips with guaranteed tickets. I don't believe the F.A.I. are going to favour Travel Agents over fans. Many of these guys run trips and then try and source tickets. you'd be better off getting a cheap Ryanair or Aer Lingus flight and paying a tout if you have to - still saving money.

3,488 Posts

Re: Switzerland v Ireland

Originally posted by ian
    I gave them a call and the price for the trip is 489 euro and the match ticket is another 40 euro.
    Just to back up gspain's point - that's a complete rip-off. I'm heading over with five others - we have flights, accommodation for six days and a car for the same period for E400.

Presume the chartered trip is the usual three day affair?

3,488 Posts
    That's 400 quid each like...not that cheap!

Re: Re: Switzerland v Ireland

Originally posted by pineapple stu
    Just to back up gspain's point - that's a complete rip-off. I'm heading over with five others - we have flights, accommodation for six days and a car for the same period for E400.

6 nights in Basel, AND flights and a car for €400???
    Where are ye staying?

Mine is working out at just less than €300 (incl. flights and train) for 2 nights stay

3,488 Posts
    Dunno - one of my best friends is from Basel and is arranging the whole thing. It's a hostel as far as I know. Plus she works in Hertz and might be getting a deal on the car...

I got a return flight from Stansted to Zurich for £80stg. Then it's 60swiss francs for a return train from Zurich Basel which aint too bad