Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Songs / Chants

47 Posts
    Section o will not be in the stand end of! Also a lot of us ain't spring chickens anymore! Tbh I don't get to many games these days due to work and other commitments. Find it hard to get the vocals going when sober and sat in a car in two hours. The youth are the future!!

Section O in the stand was tried before, and no one joined in! I don't think it's that uncommon to have several groups of fans to be honest, that come together for away games.

Naturally it's harder to be vocal without a few on, and with us older heads it's hard enough sometimes to get to the match let only get out for a night on the beer! I'm not sure what the solution is really - part of me would suggest that there should be younger heads stepping up to the mark, even if that is blatant buck passing.

861 Posts
    Well the good thing is that the fans in both the stand and section O have realised there is a solution needed to get the flansiro roar back and people are making suggestions and efforts to improve the atmosphere. From talking to most of the other 'young lads' (your all young haha) most seem to be set on trying section O next week and if yesterday is anything to go by I can't see why it won't be a success, we had two drums yesterday and some good loud voices and we sang almost the whole way through until we were hit with that killer 2nd. Talking to the lads they agree that a bit of colour is needed and it looks like some home made banners will be out in force next Saturday and I think that's exactely what we need so if you have any old banners or you can make one go ahead till we shine the place up a bit, drums, scrafs, flags bring the lot till we show these Limerick boys what there up against!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

81 Posts
    No solution other than getting fu*kfaced!

622 Posts
    i work every saturday after the games so I can never get drunk and shout things

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP_a-Nh-QCk

Someone make a town song out of this.....

I am a Town Fan,
    I am a Longford man,
    I know what I want and I know how to get it,
    No matter what....Section o sings on...
    We're gona be....top of the league

This is their words to the song by the way.

I am an FC fan,
    I am mancunian,
    I know what I want,
    And I know how to get it,
    I wanna destroy Glazer and Sky,
    Cos I wanna be at FC
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

super effort bosco.. the sligo lads have their own version of it too!

106 Posts
    thats a class song, the fc fans sing it for minutes on end, its quality. fair play bosco. . will be a good number between 12 gary shaws and two little boys!

meeting in foxs this eve lads around half 5 for the pre game 7ups, be good to have a few there, there's a few harps fans coming down and we dont want to be outnumbered on our own turf!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-Ier...feature=fvwrel

Hopefully get this going in Athlone in 2 weeks time....

So hoist up the Red & Black,
    can you hear the main stand sing,
    call up the section o..we'll sing on our own....sing on our own,
    dont wanna go home...
    dont wanna go home....
    this is the best trip ive ever been on...

Can obviously be switched around to I wanna go home...athlone's a ****hole etc..
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Can also be changed to "We all hate Athlone...we al hate Atlooone...Athlone's a ****hole..we all hate athlone" for home games

44 Posts
    whats the rest of the words to... athlon town are ya listenin , were gona win the 1st division...
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

But ye're gona stay...til ye rot away...living in your scummy caravan..

861 Posts
    Love the new Gary Shaw chant lads I'm sure I saw a little smile come across his face as ye belted it out tonight, quality stuff.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

19. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234