Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Songs / Chants

218 Posts
    Not sure if this has been chanted before but what about the Newcastle United chant 'Toon Toon black and white army.......' repeated!! Only slight changes to 'Town Town red and black army....'

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Not sure if this has been chanted before but what about the Newcastle United chant 'Toon Toon black and white army.......' repeated!! Only slight changes to 'Town Town red and black army....'
    big thumbs up to this! like it loads!

821 Posts
    Ye that's a good one, the Geordie boys are always good when your looking for a few new chants. Think we should shout town army town army town army as well just like they do
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Nothing wrong with "Red Army, Black Army" imo. And did we not have "Red and Black Army L-T-F-C" a few years ago?

821 Posts
    Ye I loved that Red army, Black Army chant against Athlone, think all we need now is a few more flags, scarfs and possibly return of a banner or two?

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Ye I loved that Red army, Black Army chant against Athlone, think all we need now is a few more flags, scarfs and possibly return of a banner or two?
    would be great if we could get few flags and banners for game against limerick and try and get a few extra people to the game.. the crowds so far this season have been very poor considering our great run in the league and this is one of the most important games in the season as they are the team to beat.
    crowds seem to be very quiet as well, looks as if the flansiro is loosing some of its roar...
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

821 Posts
    What shocked me against SD Galway was the mass exodus from the stand when 3 added minutes was announced! It's not like we were 10-0 up, everyone just left was shocking.

516 Posts
    not really.. they all stood at the corner at the entrance, I should know I was there!

Happens every game for as long as I can remember!

72 Posts
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP_a-Nh-QCk

Someone make a town song out of this.....

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    not really.. they all stood at the corner at the entrance, I should know I was there!

Happens every game for as long as I can remember!
    Ah right, just seemed to be an overflow this week, the poor game didn't help I'm sure but in an ideal world youd like as many to stay and back the team as possible.

In fairness a thread about all these proposed new songs and chants is all well and good but is there even anyone to sing them?Athlone away was the only game this season where there was any proper singing,the majority of games other then that have been very very quiet!I'm all for new songs don't get me wrong but just find it surprising to see all these new ideas when a simple "we all follow the Longford" can barely get going at our matches...

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    In fairness a thread about all these proposed new songs and chants is all well and good but is there even anyone to sing them?Athlone away was the only game this season where there was any proper singing,the majority of games other then that have been very very quiet!I'm all for new songs don't get me wrong but just find it surprising to see all these new ideas when a simple "we all follow the Longford" can barely get going at our matches...

Excellent post. Couldn't agree more. The atmosphere at home games is very poor, the majority aren't willing to sing (and im not referring to the stand(, and it can get annoying at times for those who do wish to get an atmosphere going. I would appeal to those that post suggestions for songs to come over to section o and start joining in the songs.. I understand that some people might have reservations, but everyone is friendly and are always welcoming to people who are willing to get involved.. Limerick at home is a massive game for us, and i'd imagine they'll will have a vocal travelling support.. There's nothing worse than being out sang and outnumbered by away support..

I dunno, even section O was very quiet for the Wexford game at home, I was standing next to the camera stand/shed thingy and it was a very strange atmosphere. Couldn't make the last game though so I can't judge on that one. The Athlone away game was a fantastic one though, every longford fan at it seemed to be singing!

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Excellent post. Couldn't agree more. The atmosphere at home games is very poor, the majority aren't willing to sing (and im not referring to the stand(, and it can get annoying at times for those who do wish to get an atmosphere going. I would appeal to those that post suggestions for songs to come over to section o and start joining in the songs.. I understand that some people might have reservations, but everyone is friendly and are always welcoming to people who are willing to get involved.. Limerick at home is a massive game for us, and i'd imagine they'll will have a vocal travelling support.. There's nothing worse than being out sang and outnumbered by away support..
    Thats a good idea Cabs. I've often thought of heading over myself because like you said it's very frustrating when you want to sing and theres just no back up. However, I've been a 'stand man' ever since I started supporting De Town and I enjoy the company I sit with and I'd be very hopeful that the home fans would be willing to back the team vocally against Limerick. If not change might be needed in the seating plans so to speak

Many of ye heading to Dublin on Sunday lads? Should be good craic.

44 Posts
    its obvious why the away support is better as everyone is sitting or standing together rather than at home games where some people go to section o and others to the stand splitting the small crowd that we have. I’ve yet to see this in any other club in all my years of going to games. Like I have nothing against sec o and think its great the support and displays that have been done over the years not to mention player sponsorship and such just always thought the root of the problem was the fact they were in sec o and not in the back of the stand getting others going such as at the athlone game..

hopefully gud crowd at the game on sunday

539 Posts
    the gas thing fitz was section o went to the stand eight years when groundside was redevoloped and we tried to get things goin and noone would join in with us. I know a few of the lads on our side only get singing if they have a few gargles.. I think the best way is to do what section o did yrs ago we used to meet up in John Joe Reillys before the match and had a few and tried out a few new songs..

44 Posts
    That’s a fair while ago now martinho.. Contemplating going sec o for lim game see if it takes a “stand man” ta try and get it going

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fitzpatrick10 View Post
    That’s a fair while ago now martinho.. Contemplating going sec o for lim game see if it takes a “stand man” ta try and get it going
    yep fitzy u and the lads are welcome to come over.. we all need to stand together and not all be scattered..

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fitzpatrick10 View Post
    #lifealteringdecisions

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    #lifealteringdecisions

Football isnt a matter of life or death... its much more important than that...

#keepthatsh1tontwitter

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast