186 Posts

111 Posts
    Is Daire Doyle our captain this year. If soooo...

To the theme of the cartoon Captain Planet, kids look it up if you dont remember.

Captain Daire, he's our hero!
    Gonna score for us at Flansiro!

What ye reckon?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

22 Posts
    Here's a new one I've just thought of, in honour of Vinny Perth to the tune of 'Baby give it up' by KC and the Sunshine Band.

Na na na na na na na na na na na, Vinny Vinny Perth, Vinny Perth, Vinny Vinny Perth... Could it catch on?!?!

Seriously though, I'm against the idea of singing that 'greatest football manager' song for Aaron as we were singing it about someone else six months ago. It's a bit like giving your second wife your first ones wedding dress. Can we get our thinking caps on to come up with something else?

105 Posts
    Interesting analogy with the wedding dress.......
    But yeah i agree, however the "we'll" part at the start worked really well the other night.

As regards the new chants, the davoren one is really good, and even though people were slow to pick it up, it is catchy

105 Posts
    Just want to bump this thread up, hopefully we can get a few new chants going.. All suggestions welcome, and hopefully we can try out a few of them in Athlone friday..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TP-dV...eature=related

Sang at Ireland games too...
    We love you ,We love you ,We love you
    And that is why we follow, we follow , we follow,
    Cos we support the Longford, the longford, the Longford
    And thats the way we like , we like it , we like it,
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhhh!
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhh!

Bob Marley - Three Little Birds - By Ajax
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhZKYPpvr7A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDdsq8NmOWg
    Play up Pompey - Pompey Play up..

Simple, but sounds good if had a good number of fans

Wouldnt be a Leeds fan ar chor ar bith but this is a really good football song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oJdv...eature=related
    Here we go, to the flansiro,
    We're gonna give the boys a hand,
    Stand up and sing for Ltfc,
    They are the greatest in the land,

na na na

Everyday, we're al gonna say,
    We love you town! town! town!
    Everywhere, we're gonna be there,
    We, love you town! town! town!

Marching On Together!
    We're gonna see you win
    na na na na na na
    We are so proud,
    We shout it out loud we love you town! town! town!

We've been through it all together,
    And we've had our ups and downs (UPS AND DOWNS!)
    We're gonna stay with you forever,
    At least until the world stops going round

To the tune of Spurs are on their way to Wembley

Come on the...
    Town are on their way to Lansdowne, Longfords gunna win it again!
    Theres no stopping the boys from flancare, the boys from Longford Town!
    De Town are are on their way to Lansdowne, the boggers are claiming the crown
    Everybody will be singing, when the Town go marching on!

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TP-dV...eature=related

Sang at Ireland games too...
    We love you ,We love you ,We love you
    And that is why we follow, we follow , we follow,
    Cos we support the Longford, the longford, the Longford
    And thats the way we like , we like it , we like it,
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhhh!
    Oh-oh-oh-oh-oh-ohhhhhh!

defo try n get this goin if ders a gud crowd!!! makes a change from stand up if your longford town
    ▒▓███ L █ T █ F █ C ███▓▒

205 Posts
    Sporting F*ck All!

821 Posts
    I never knew there was such a thread something I was always going to suggest as I'm a sad one for thinking up such chants when I'm bored have to say I love the we follow song and I absolutely love that Leeds song so if we could get that working for us it would be unreal. Thinking cap will go into overdrive for this.

Surprised we never had "I just cant get enough" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhIXZ...eature=related

When I see you Longford, I go out of my head, I just cant get enough, I just cant get enough
    All the things you did to me and everything you said, I just cant get enough, I just cant get enough
    We slip and slide but we fall in love and I just cant seem to get enough of DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE CMON LONGFORD DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE DE CMON LONGFORD!
    Last edited by outspoken; 25/04/2012 at 6:29 PM.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

105 Posts
    Just cant get enough was sang last year in section O alright, never really took off.. Hopefully we have a few supporters ready to sing on Friday.. The EI EI EI O chant above is quality too

Marching on together would be just wrong. Bástardising other clubs songs is one thing, but a straight rip off of a traditional anthem from a club is a step to far. What next, a celtic/ liverpool version of you'll never walk alone?

Speaking of robbing songs (although can they complain when they no longer exist?), this wasn't aired at all at the home clasico...

When you walk trought the town,
    Hold your head in your hands,
    And be - be afraid - of the dark.

But at the end of the town,
    Lies Lissywoollen,
    Where all the knackers live.

Walk on through the stand,
    Though your dreams be messed up....

Walk on, walk on, with fear in your heart,
    And you'll never walk in Athlone,
    You'll never walk in Athlone.

After dark, after dark with fear in your heart,

New songs always welcome, but I'm not sure a lack of songs is really the issue tbh.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Marching on together would be just wrong. Bástardising other clubs songs is one thing, but a straight rip off of a traditional anthem from a club is a step to far. What next, a celtic/ liverpool version of you'll never walk alone?

Speaking of robbing songs (although can they complain when they no longer exist?), this wasn't aired at all at the home clasico...

When you walk trought the town,
    Hold your head in your hands,
    And be - be afraid - of the dark.

But at the end of the town,
    Lies Lissywoollen,
    Where all the knackers live.

Though your dreams be messed up....

Walk on, walk on, with fear in your heart,

After dark, after dark with fear in your heart,

New songs always welcome, but I'm not sure a lack of songs is really the issue tbh.

I know what your saying about ripping another football chant off, but football fans have done it for years on end.. Its the nature of a good song, other fans will rip it off.. Marching on forever is a good footballing anthem that (as far as I know) has been used only by leeds, and with the words slightly altered I dont see any problem with us adopting it.
    As I said all suggestions welcome, at the end of the day we could do with a few new songs as it can be flat at times at games, singing the same songs

Have to agree with Macy re marching on together,songs like that abd forever blowing bubbles are songs which Leeds and west ham have uniquely adopted for themselves,it wouldn't seem right changing it a bit and singing it ourselves,it's not like stealing chants from clubs who have already stolen the idea or melody from something else!you'll never walk in athlone is different cos it's just meant to be funny/stupid! I also noticed it Wasn't sung at the home match so well have to change that tomorrow,would also like to hear two little boys getting an airing..

821 Posts
    Love the EI EI EI EO chant!

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosco View Post
    ,would also like to hear two little boys getting an airing..
    I need 6 pints for that.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

821 Posts
    I think the key to a good atmosphere away from home is to make sure we get as many town fans as possible sitting (or standing) together in 1 spot and plant a drum right in the middle. This season we've had some great away attendances but no atmosphere because everyone is too spread out ie Terryland. I know you can't exactely say sit in there ta feck to everyone who turns up but for anyone who wants to do a bit of singing and get an atmo going I think it's important we try and keep everyone close.

105 Posts
    Hopefully we'll see a bigger crowd over in Section O on Saturday night in good voice armed with our new songs..

821 Posts
    Hopefully the FA Cup final doesn't go to ET and a few more will venture out.

516 Posts
    Over the summer I'll be in town a good bit more so might try and round up some mates to start going to games and drag em over to ye

47 Posts
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kaFC...3FD02AFE3CF269

need to learn that off for the next match.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

24. Thanks From:

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast