Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Famous eL Fans

That legendary singer and trade unionist Billy Bragg used to wear Harps shirts at his concerts. Not sure if he ever made it to a game tho!
    The Finn Harps Story by Bartley Ramsay now available to purchase from www.finnharps.com.

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    I cant believe ye missed Tony O Donohuge RTE Sport!!!! Big Cork City Fan!!! Hes Famous isnt he!!!! And a big fan of the league too And That Derry Boxer Too Duddy and frank McCann are City Fans
    Eamon McCann.

Wink Braggin' about the Harps

Quote Originally Posted by HarpsinDublin View Post
    That legendary singer and trade unionist Billy Bragg used to wear Harps shirts at his concerts. Not sure if he ever made it to a game tho!

I was intrigued and so did a little research.

Check out the below link.

http://www.billybragg.co.uk/guestboo...Jul-Aug00.html

I think the below was posted by Mr Bragg himself.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Bragg View Post
    I guess you choose to see differences whereas I notice the similarities. Point is, when in Belfast I would rather sing about how we have a lot in common with one another than patronise them with "My Youngest Son". Now let that be the end of it or else I'll come on stage there wearing the Finn Harps shirt that someone gave me in Dublin on Saturday night.
    Last edited by Only1Rovers; 18/03/2008 at 12:59 PM.
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Roy Keane supports Cobh Ramblers, he makes it over 2 or 3 times a year to watch us and also Aston Villa left-back Stephen O'Halloran.

Trevor Welsh likes to think he's a Ramblers fan.

Also Michael Ahern TD is a Ramblers fan.

Nicky Byrne from Westlife still has a soft spot for us i'd say.

I read somewhere before that Samuel L. Jackson supports Bohemians.
    Last edited by rambler14; 18/03/2008 at 2:24 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post

Yeah that turned out to be a wikipedia founded rumour. I think he may have went as far as denying it in some interview...

Quote Originally Posted by Blue-Army View Post
    how many games has Des Bishop been to?
    I've seen him at a good few home games and seen him at a few away games.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123 View Post
    tommy gorman is a sligo rovers fan, RTE correspondant. and im pure famous sure
    This Tommy Gorman? Whats he doing supporting Sligo? He is from Dublin?

Lads, half of those names aren't confirmed at all are they? Do they even go to games?
    Last edited by A face; 18/03/2008 at 6:25 PM.

65 Posts
    Tom the Gom supports Bray AFAIK
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

sligo rovers
    sean fallon

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    This Tommy Gorman? Whats he doing supporting Sligo? He is from Dublin?
    No, this Tommy Gorman[in the middle]

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Tom the Gom supports Bray AFAIK
    Tom doesn't support anyone- used to support Cork Hibs back in the day.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Tommy Tiernan and Hector have been spotted in Terryland fairly regularly.
    Galway Brian from Mayo could be considered famous throughout the world!
    Galway Brian? Is he the lad from Shrule? I saw him sleeping in a McDonald's in Liverpool after the Ireland V Holland game at Anfield in 1995. Legend.

No, this Tommy Gorman[in the middle]
    he was making a speech one time and he told a funny story. he was getting an operation and when he woke up he was very drowsy and he shouted out "up rovers" and all the doctors were just looking at him as if to say wtf!

Colm Meaney of The Van, Snapper, Commitments, Intermission, Star Trek etc fame is a Shamrock Rovers fan as far as I know.

Quote Originally Posted by Woody View Post
    Colm Meaney of The Van, Snapper, Commitments, Intermission, Star Trek etc fame is a Shamrock Rovers fan as far as I know.
    How many games has he been at last year though?

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    How many games has he been at last year though?
    He lives in Florida, I'll guess none.

What kind of excuse is that?
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

I can confirm that Shels have no famous fans that currently attend matches on a regular basis. Unless you count Finian McGrath or our current Lord Mayor. Oh wait, I'm just hearing they were just pretending. Oops, sorry bout that

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Galway Brian? Is he the lad from Shrule? I saw him sleeping in a McDonald's in Liverpool after the Ireland V Holland game at Anfield in 1995. Legend.
    Thats the man ... living legend ... although I'm surprised you didnt see
    him trying to pick up a scouser to get a bed for the night

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast