Thread: Euro 2008

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Spain or Holland to win the tournament.
    The two great underachievers!!! Anybody else fancy them lads???

Group A: Swiss 1-1 Czech/ Portugal 2-1 Turkey/Czech 2-2 Portugal/ Swiss 1-0 Turkey/ Swiss 0-0 Portugal/ Turkey 1-1 Czech.
    Group B: Austria 1-2 Croatia/ Germany 3-1 Poland/ Croatia 1-1 Germany/ Poland 1-1 Austria/
    Poland 1-1 Croatia/ Austria 0-2 Germany.
    Group C: Romania 1-2 France/ Holl 1-1 Italy/ Italy 1-0 Romania/ Holl 0-0 France/
    Holl 3-0 Romania /France 1-0 Italy.
    Group D: Spain 2-1 Russia/ Greece 1-1 Sweden/Sweden 1-2 Spain/ Greece 1-0 Russia/
    Greece 0-1 Spain/ Russia 2-2 Sweden.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    The two great underachievers!!! Anybody else fancy them lads???
    Under achievers they may be, but I just think they have too many quality players that are actually doing the business on a regular basis with their clubs this season.

For example:
    Spain.....Cassilas, Ramos, Fabregas, Xavi, Iniesta, Torres, Villa, etc;
    Holland....Van Der Sar, Seedorf, Robben, Snjeider, Van Der Vaart, Babel, Van Nistelrooy, Huntelaar.....etc;

Under achievers they may be, but I just think they have too many quality players that are actually doing the business on a regular basis with their clubs this season.

For example:
    Spain.....Cassilas, Ramos, Fabregas, Xavi, Iniesta, Torres, Villa, etc;
    Holland....Van Der Sar, Seedorf, Robben, Snjeider, Van Der Vaart, Babel, Van Nistelrooy, Huntelaar.....etc;
    Too true. As a team unit though, I've got to talk up ze Germans.. I fancy them all the way. Plus it's being held on their doorstep in Aus/ Swiss.

You seem to like sticking your nose in,are pike B in Euro 2008
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    You seem to like sticking your nose in,are pike B in Euro 2008
    Very good. I give you that one my Clare chum.

i reckon spain could be dark horses but i'd still tip the germans

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    i reckon spain could be dark horses but i'd still tip the germans
    Ya, a lot of intrest in Spain. I'd imagine them to be a very good price in bookies. Maybe 10/1 or so. Worth a punt..

Spain remind me of Wembley FC
    They look good on paper but they never deliver
    There a shower of bottlers with no backbone

Quote Originally Posted by Gerry the ferry View Post
    Spain remind me of Wembley FC
    They look good on paper but they never deliver
    There a shower of bottlers with no backbone
    Oh dear... Your gonna get complaints my man!!

i think both these are due good tournaments

A lot of love for Dutch and Spain. What about the French? Are they still a threat? Not the same without the great Zizou I think..

Maybe a tad early for this thread lads, but it's open for when the action starts in June. All opinions welcome..
    Last edited by Pike B; 26/03/2008 at 7:23 AM.

i fancy the dutch big time and i think that guy huntelaar will be a star,someone should buy him before it starts

you can't doubt the ability of the Dutch,it's there for all to see,but i reckon it's how they'll gel as a squad not as a team.alot of big names there,u can only start with 11 and it's the lads who don't make the first team,or their ego's i should say which could determine their tournament..i know the same can be said about other countries but the Dutch are famous for infighting and sniping in major tournaments............for sure

Quote Originally Posted by hoops12 View Post
    i fancy the dutch big time and i think that guy huntelaar will be a star,someone should buy him before it starts
    I agree. His record for Ajax is almost a goal a game. He really is a great prospect. Van Basten's attributes and Van Nistelrooys finishing. Go get him Rafa!!!!!

32 Posts
    I agree. His record for Ajax is almost a goal a game. He really is a great prospect. Van Basten's attributes and Van Nistelrooys finishing. Go get him Rafa!!!!!
    ha ha, ye said the same about super dirk kyut, and look how many goals hes scored for ye.

however, huntelaaer is a far better goalscorer than kuyt, but then again morientes, cisse, and a few others were decent strikers too, until they went to anfield.

ha ha, ye said the same about super dirk kyut, and look how many goals hes scored for ye.

however, huntelaaer is a far better goalscorer than kuyt, but then again morientes, cisse, and a few others were decent strikers too, until they went to anfield.
    Mistakes have been made. I'll admit that, but this guy would be the perfect foil for Fernando.. United have had a few flops too, Jordi Cruyff, Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, even Alex Ferguson can get it wrong....

32 Posts
    Mistakes have been made. I'll admit that, but this guy would be the perfect foil for Fernando.. United have had a few flops too, Jordi Cruyff, Kleberson, Djemba Djemba, even Alex Ferguson can get it wrong....

Agreed, but Rafa really takes the biscuit when it comes to buying flops, lets face it, without Carragher, Mascherano, Gerrard & Torres, Liverpool are crap, and even you cant deny that.

I'd rate Agger, Reina, Finnan, Benayoun, aswell. We need at least 5 signings in the Summer. But it's been that way for a long time. A lot of players just don't seem to settle. I also think Babbel can become a vital player. He has everything, but needs confidence. What odds he has a blinder for Holland in the Summer...

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast