Thread: As of right now what 24 man squad would you call up?

Shay Given (GK)
    Paddy Kenny (GK)
    Colin Doyle (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
    Ian Harte (DL) Damian Delaney
    Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
    Stephen Kelly (DR)
    Steve Finnan (DR) Retired
    Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
    Andy O Brien (DC) Retired
    Richard Dunne (DC)
    Paul McShane (DC/ R)
    Sean St Ledger

Damien Duff (ML/R)
    Stephen Hunt (ML)
    Aiden McGeady (ML)
    Steven Reid (MC)
    Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
    Stephen Ireland (MC/R) (Does not want to play) Martin Rowlands
    Lee Carsley (MC)
    Liam Miller (MC) Liam Lawerance
    Jay Tabb

Robbie Keane (FC)
    Kevin Doyle (FC)
    Clinton Morrison (FC)
    Daryl Murphy (FC)

Leaving out Shane Long was the only tough decision.

With first team of

Given

Kelly Dunne O Shea Delaney

Duff S.Reid A.Reid McGeady

Keane Doyle

I think both Carsley and Ireland need a 5 man midfield to function and Keane or Doyle aren't great options to play as lone strikers.
    Last edited by FarBeag; 16/03/2008 at 7:11 PM.

Will there not be more than 24 picked given it's a 'who might play a part in the campaign' squad? Anyway, your thread; your rules. But for contingency sake I'll assume none of the retirees are available.

GK: Given............... Doyle........ Murphy?? (3)

Def: Dunne, O'Shea, McShane, Kelly........... 4 of; McCarthy, Doherty, Delaney, Foley, Ledger (8)

Mid: Carsley, Reid, Reid, J. O'Brien, McGeady, Hunt, Duffer........... 1 of; Rowlands, Lawrence, Tabb, Garvan (8)

Fwd: Keane, Long, Doyle............ Morrison, Stokes (5)

Semi-noticeable absentees; Kilbane, Miller, Walters, Murphy, Elliot, Keogh

Keepers: Given, Kenny, Colin Doyle.

Defenders: Dunne, Finnan, Andy O'Brien, McShane, Carr, McCarthy, Joey O'Brien.

Midfielders: Ireland, Carsley, Lawrence, Kilbane, Miller, Garvan, Hunt, Duff, McGeady, Andy Reid, Stephen Reid.

Forwards: Kevin Doyle, Keane, Morrison, Long, Keogh.

I'd go 3-5-2

Given; Finnan, Dunne, O'Brien; McGeady, Hunt, Carsley, Stephen Reid, Andy Reid; Kevin Doyle, Keane.

Midfield is a tough one. There are quite a few good options. Leaving Ireland out is a tough one, not to mention Lawrence, Duff and Kilbane.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Mine would be

Shay Given (GK)
    Paddy Kenny (GK)
    Colin Doyle (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
    Damian Delaney(DL)
    Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
    Stephen Kelly (DR)
    Steve Finnan (DR)
    Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
    Andy O Brien (DC)
    Richard Dunne (DC)
    Paul McShane (DC/ R)

Damien Duff (ML/R)
    Stephen Hunt (ML)
    Aiden McGeady (ML)
    Steven Reid (MC)
    Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
    Liam Lawrence (MC/R)
    Lee Carsley (MC)
    Wes Hoolahan (MC)

Robbie Keane (FC)
    Kevin Doyle (FC)
    Clinton Morrison (FC)
    Shane Long (FC)

Wes Hoolahan and Liam Lawrence have been two of the most impressive players in the Championship this season so they deserve their chance. I think Andy O'Brien will come bak to us but not Finnan. I have my doubts whether Ireland wants to come back.

My Starting team

----------------------Given

Kelly-------Dunne--------------A. O'Brien--------------Kilbane

Duff----------Carsley--------------S.Reid--------------Hunt

-----------------------A. Reid

----------------------R. Keane

Tough on Doyle i know but our midfield was getting so overrun in the last campaign that i think we will have to drop him or Keane.
    McGeady would be a good sub to run at the tired defenders during the second half.

GK Given,Kenny,Henderson
    DF Dunne,Kelly,McShane,O'BrienJ,Kilbane,O'Shea,Harte ,St Ledger
    MF Reid A, Reid S,Duff, Carsley , Hunt , Garvan , McGeady , Ireland , O'Donovan
    ST Keane , Doyle , Morrison , Keogh ,

Team

Given
    Kelly Dunne McShane O'Shea

Carsley A Reid

S Reid Keane Duff

Doyle
    Last edited by gustavo; 16/03/2008 at 5:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Let's all hope for the team's sake we'll be saying this about Trap too.

Ok Einstein. I left out a full stop, how observant of you. Wish you could spot a good player when you see one and answer the several questions posed to justify some of you idiotic posts.

If we're not taking retirements into account

Kiely
    Given
    Kenny

Finnan
    Kelly
    O'brien
    Dunne
    McShane bla
    O'Shea
    Kilbane

McGeady
    Lawrence
    Hunt
    Duff
    Carsley
    Holland
    Steven Reid
    Ireland

Keane
    Long
    Morrison
    Doyle
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danonion View Post
    If we're not taking retirements into account

Kiely
    Given
    Kenny

Finnan
    Kelly
    O'brien
    Dunne
    McShane bla
    O'Shea
    Kilbane

McGeady
    Lawrence
    Hunt
    Duff
    Carsley
    Holland
    Steven Reid
    Ireland

Keane
    Long
    Morrison
    Doyle

Andy Reid not in squad at all?????
    And as for having Matt Holland in there thats just funny

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Andy Reid not in squad at all?????
    And as for having Matt Holland in there thats just funny
    Oh i totally forgot about Andy he's a given. Its pretty easy to defend Holland's selection. When i judge players I try to ignore what year they were born. Age affects every player differently, and if anyone thinks we have a deep enough squad that we can stamp a sell-by date on players, they are far more optimistic than I am about our prospects. Matty is a competent central midfielder, a position where we are desperately lacking players. Also he's a born leader.
    "No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy

3,500 Posts
    First off, I believe in having 3 goalkeepers, 2 players for every position in your formation, and three extra utility players, who can play a number of roles
    So 3 goalkeepers + 9 defenders + 9 midfielders + 5 forwards = 26 man squad (yes I've been stuck into Football Manager 2008 lately)
    Not going to include Finnan and O'Brien. If we're going to start including players who are not available to us right now, why not Nolan, Cahill, Matthew Connolly, or indeed Eto'o, Kompany or Ronaldo?

Goalkeepers:
    Shay Given
    Colin Doyle
    Paddy Kenny

Defenders:
    Damien Delaney
    Richard Dunne
    Paddy McCarthy
    Paul McShane
    Sean St Ledger
    Alex Bruce
    John O'Shea
    Stephen Kelly
    Kevin Foley

Midfielders:
    Damien Duff
    Stephen Hunt
    Andy Reid
    Stephen Ireland
    Stephen Reid
    Aiden McGeady
    Lee Carsley/Joey O'Brien
    Mark Yeates/Liam Lawrence
    Glen Whelan/Kevin Kilbane

Forwards:
    Robbie Keane
    Kevin Doyle
    Noel Hunt
    Clinton Morrison
    Jonathan Walters/Stephen Elliott

Notes
    • Kilbane dropped to utility player
    • Garvan, McCann, Stokes and Long are better off with the U-21s at the moment unless they are in far better form than a member of the squad in the same position - e.g. Stephen Ireland still qualifies for the U-21
    • Simple philosophy - play each player in his natural position
    • 2 wingers playing off one defensive central midfielder and one creative central midfielder
    • Up front, one target man and one out and out striker

Starting line up
    First choice in bold and underlined
    Second choice underneath in plain text
    If it's a choice of two, then whoever is in better form
    Take your pick of the subs from the second choices
    Code:
    			Shay Given
    			Kenny/Doyle
    Stephen Kelly	John O'Shea	Richard Dunne(c)Damien Delaney
    Kevin Foley	St. Ledger	Bruce		John O'Shea
    		/McShane	/McCarthy	
    Aiden McGeady	Stephen Reid	Andy Reid	Damien Duff
    Yeates/Lawrence	Carsley/O'Brien	Ireland		Hunt/Kilbane
    /Flood		/Whelan
    		Kevin Doyle	Robbie Keane
    		Morrison/Lee	Elliott/Hunt
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 17/03/2008 at 1:35 AM.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danonion View Post
    Oh i totally forgot about Andy he's a given. Its pretty easy to defend Holland's selection. When i judge players I try to ignore what year they were born. Age affects every player differently, and if anyone thinks we have a deep enough squad that we can stamp a sell-by date on players, they are far more optimistic than I am about our prospects. Matty is a competent central midfielder, a position where we are desperately lacking players. Also he's a born leader.
    Even at his peak Holland was no more than a decent player and I was never a fan of his. To be totally honest I havent even seen him play for a long time and until recently I actually had thought he had retired so I cant completely judge him fairly, but I have to believe that we have better options that him now

Is Gary "The Doc" Doherty finished?

I think he was Norwich's PotY (Player of the Year) last year, or maybe the year before. The main reason I ask is because he's held a special place in my heart since his winner against the US a few years ago meant I won a 400/1 accumulator, and I wouldn't like anyone who gave me such a turn become an outcast without me raising an argument in their defence.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Even at his peak Holland was no more than a decent player and I was never a fan of his. To be totally honest I havent even seen him play for a long time and until recently I actually had thought he had retired so I cant completely judge him fairly, but I have to believe that we have better options that him now
    Actually I think he has retired, but could be mistaken. I thought he retired immediately after our draw with Switzerland in the World Cup qualifiers, along with Kenny Cunningham. If Trapattoni feels he could add something then he should definitely be approached. I can't really make a judgement on him either as I haven't seen him play in a good while.
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

I agree, Doherty deserves a call up. He's an experienced (30+ caps) central defender. We don't have many.

I know you've said a 24 man squad, however I hope he brings a much bigger squad (to Portugal) of up to 40 made up of approx 30 contenders for the senior team, 6 U21s 2 U19s 2 U18s to give them a taste of the future. According to press reports he is bringing a number of U21s. He could also bring a couple of the top EL players however that probably wouldn't suit their clubs as it's mid season, the downside to Summer football.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Shay Given (GK)
    Paddy Kenny (GK)
    Joe Murphy (GK)

John O Shea (DL/R/C)
    Damien Delaney (DL)
    Kevin Kilbane (DL/ML)
    Stephen Kelly (DR)
    Steve Finnan (DR)
    Joey O Brien (DR/C/DM)
    Andy O Brien (DC)
    Richard Dunne (DC)
    Paul McShane (DC/ R)

Damien Duff (ML/R)
    Stephen Hunt (ML)
    Aiden McGeady (ML)
    Steven Reid (MC)
    Andy Reid (MC/L/R)
    Stephen Ireland (MC/R)
    Lee Carsley (MC)
    Liam Miller (MC)

Robbie Keane (FC)
    Kevin Doyle (FC)
    Andy Keogh(FC)
    Daryl Murphy (FC)

----------------------Given

Joey O'Brien----O'Shea-----Dunne(c)----Finnan

McGeady-------S.Reid------A.Reid------Hunt

-----------------Murphy
    ----------------------------Keane

Glenn Whelan, Liam Lawrence, Paddy McCarthy, Noel Hunt, Clinton Morrison, Jay Tabb and Owen Garvan are on the cusp.
    Last edited by rambler14; 17/03/2008 at 10:33 AM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

85 Posts
    There's little to tell between some of the selection. The third keeper for exaple (well except Colgan). I'm not gonna argue the merrits of selceting Doc say over Bruce or St Ledger. I've seen more of Doherty than the others, that's about it. The left full spot is clearly an issue, but by all accounts the full backs won't be as advanced under Tapp so it mightn't be as much of an issue. I think the fullback out of position on the other flank only becomes a huge problem when they're required to overlap. I read an interview with the "famous" Arenal back four and they said under Graham they were coached to show the ball inside each time, so whatever "foot" you were was less relevant if you were playing on the opposite side. Might be a solution in this case. We have to choose tactics to suit the players we have. I dunno..

I'd go for a 4-2-3-1 (as I've said many times) but reserve Hunt and Lawrence for a plan B 4-4-2 if required during a game.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Some of the selections on this thread are laughable - Morrison, Harte, Delaney, Lawrence etc

Shay Given
    Colin Doyle
    Joe Murphy

Stephen Kelly
    Richard Dunne
    John O'Shea
    Kevin Kilbane
    Paul McShane
    Darren O'Dea

Damien Duff
    Stephen Hunt
    Stephen Ireland
    Joey O'Brien
    Aidan McGeady
    Lee Casely
    Liam Miller
    Andy Reid
    Steven Reid

Long
    Doyle
    Keane
    Murphy

1st eleven if 4-4-2 which seems unlikey with this bucko in charge

Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady O'Brien Ireland Hunt

Doyle Murphy
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Some of the selections on this thread are laughable - Morrison, Harte, Delaney, Lawrence etc
    What's Long or Murphy done that Morrison hasn't??? And Lawrence (or Walters for that matter)... Have we got the strength in depth on the right wing to laugh at his inclusion??? Ye have to start being realistic...

The inclusion to the two highlighted would in no way be laughable.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post

Shay Given
    Colin Doyle
    Joe Murphy

Stephen Kelly
    Richard Dunne
    John O'Shea
    Kevin Kilbane
    Paul McShane
    Darren O'Dea

Damien Duff
    Stephen Hunt
    Stephen Ireland
    Joey O'Brien
    Aidan McGeady
    Lee Casely
    Liam Miller
    Andy Reid
    Steven Reid

Long
    Doyle
    Keane
    Murphy

1st eleven if 4-4-2 which seems unlikey with this bucko in charge

Given

Kelly Dunne O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady O'Brien Ireland Hunt

Doyle Murphy

Really! Why do you think this.?Why is Darren O' Dea not laughable and Damian Delaney so funny for instance? How is Liam miller any better that Liam Lawrence/Wes Hoolahan/Martin Rowlands? Long instead of Morrison ha ha. Your team selection is even more crazy. What sort of a midfield is that? They would be destroyed as they are way too light weight and none of the Reid's or Duffer included. Kilbane at left back and no Robbie Keane. Jesus wept I say. I think the laugh is on you mate. I am off to get drunk.