what was the attendance like?
1-1 , great goal by reilly, overall a very good display, we will definitely rattle a few feathers this season, thought the ref and linos were very poor not just for us but for galway too some dodgy decisions, the blatant handball in the box given as free out totally chickening out by ref
dav looked class, i think do barret and kearney are struggling to find there feet, it looks like they have lost a litle belief in themselves, the thing about it is though if they have a little belief in themselves they would realise they are well capable of dictating the play to lots of teams
i do feel though if we had gone with dav and reilly up top we would have scored more, galway were crapping it every time we ran at them cummins is more holdup whereas dav running at them thro the middle would have scared them
one bad thing is the injury to carey when he hit the free he immediately asked to be taken off, hope it was something small
the goal we conceded was a little unlucky keeper had set himself to collect and the deflection totally screwed him , but then somepeople said he shouldnt be beaten at his near post?
if carey had been on the pitch we prob wouldnt have conceded that goal because when he was subbed we lost a little shape
at least we are off the mark our first premier league point, now for our next easy game drogheda away![]()
We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.
what was the attendance like?
good crowd there in fairness.....played well tonite referee killed us lik
i reckon alan kearney would be a better option then john kearney in midfield after tonights showing anyway
" YOU NEVER WIN ANYTHING WIT KIDS "
STEP FORWARD COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIVISION CHAMPS 2007
Do they not have capital letters in Cobh?
Good to see ye off the mark anyway.
We played well but just like last week Barrett and John Kearney offered little. Time to try a new combination next week IMO.
There keeper kept them in the match to be fair.
The referee was the worst i'd ever seen in Ramblers. He was absolutely terrible and only help prove the fact that referee's will be out to get Ramblers this year because lets face it, the FAI don't want us anywhere near the Premier Division.
My congratulations to Graham Kelly aswell, he became the first linesman to award an offside at a throw in in St. Colmans Park.
I can't wait to hear Hendo's comments about the officials because they were absolutely shocking. To me they looked like they'd taken a couple of dodgy back-handers.![]()
2 games in and the officials have cost us at least 4 points. Who knows maybe next week they can make it 5 points.
What a disaster a good game wrecked by the officials.
MNS should tell a lot and at least one of the panelists was the to witness the drama tonight and should hopefully stand up for us.
On the plus side it was a great goal by Reilly and Galway wouldn't have scored if it wasn't for the deflection.
Also one thing was proved tonight after Alan Carey went off. He controls the back 4 and it wasn't until after he went off that they looked shaky.
I suppose we can look at this way. At one stage tonight we had more points than Cork City and Drogheda Utd. Now we have one point and were out of the relegation zone.
Last edited by rambler14; 15/03/2008 at 11:34 PM.
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!
I am all for siege mentality and all that, but how do you make that one out?that referee's will be out to get Ramblers this year because lets face it, the FAI don't want us anywhere near the Premier Division.
As a Cork City fan, my reading of this is that it is an extension of the Dublin led anti Cork Bias.
Just back from the game. It was a day ill never forget
After we arrived we decided to head down town to the pub, we made our way down the hill in the rain, didnt take any notice of the massive puddles ahead until a car drove through and soaked me to the bone(the rest of the lads only got a bit wet, my jeans were soaked through nearly all over). So i asked a few lads in the pub was there a Dunnes or Pennys so i could get a cheap pair of jeans, was told not at 5.20
So i headed up to the ground from there to see was there a clubshop(would have bought a tracksuit bottom had there been any), the women behind the bar asked why to which i explained my story and she informed me that there's a tumble-dryer in the clubhouse. So i headed over and a member brought me into the laundry room, so off with the jeans and into the dryer. So im standing there in my underwear in the laundry room...which also happens to be where the kits are kept and id say 10 players came in looking for socks/shorts while im standing there, you could tell they were thinking ''WTF is going on here'', i could even hear me been discussed in the dressing room at one stage!!. Was the longest 20mins of my life
Thanks for all the help, it saved me been sick for the nest week, most other places it would have been ''why the **** should i care?''
There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D
POTM I'd say.
One question though.......are you sure it was water that you got soaked with? Cobh is known for weak bladders.......
Great game in fairness. I agree that the Ref was a bit suspect but thats life I suppose. A point was better than nothing at all but we should have had all three. Galway seem like a good enough side this year. Good night overall though.
Great game, has given me a lot of confidence for the season.
Some great displays, pity about the result as we deserved the 3 points.
Ref was an absolute joke, and his assistants. Offside for a throw in!!!!!
Blatent penalty turned down. I don't know what half the free kicks given to Galway were for when it looked like they were in favour of Cobh.
If the FAI are serious about the league they will have to get serious about referees, they are ruining the game.
I don't know if O'Rielly is lacking a bit of confidece but he should have had taken a few shots himself instead of crossing, it would have been the better option.
I was disapointed at the end but confident too for the season ahead. We can stay up but will have to take our chances. Would be nice to take a point next Friday!!! It's a good time to meet them....
Division 1 Champions 2007
Bring on the City derbies!!!
I think Kelly needs to take his referees on another training course for the basic rules of soccer becaus e the three of them were absolutely shocking. I know alan kelly was fourth official because i told him the above.. I'know garaham kelly was a linesman but who were the others?
Muckie had a super game as did cummins rielly and dav
COBH RAMBLERS- FIRST DIVISION CHAMPIONS '07
Equality for the rams:(
I had a feeling it was going to be one of those nights when one of our players was flagged offside from a throw inCould and should have had a penalty when Mucky was taken out of it early in the second half.
We should have had that game well and truly sown up before they got their goal, overall though we played some great stuff, the one thing that is a worry for me is the finishing, at the back we were sound but at least we are creating the chances.
''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''
I thought we dominated the game. We had plenty of chances to win it if we were a bit more clinical infront of goal. John Kearney played well but I think the yellow card for Barret effected his game.
The Ref aside we should have won the game well. If you do not hit the ball in the direction of the goal you will never score!! They had one shot at goal took a wicked deflection and scored we had plenty of chances ot do the same.
Goals from GUFC forum
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=RhY9Xz5NIlk
Division 1 Champions 2007
Bring on the City derbies!!!
the crowd looks pityful when you see it on that clip, galway had the freedom of colmans to score that goal oh if only carey had stayed on
We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.
It doesn't look that bad only up the top side it looks a little empty.
My Dad is famous. The camera pans in his direction after Reilly's goal.![]()
LESS OF THE BULL NOW!