I've seen this in relation to non-Loi games and its very interesting. As you say there are some superb memories involving Loi teams, particularily for the younger readers of the last few years european adventures.
Hi folks,
I'm starting as a freelance journalist and has been asked to do some retro pieces of LOI stuff for one of the papers
The way it works is if I finds a picture of an event and then tell the story of the game and identify the people in it - a line about their careers, what they done after and then what they are doing now - and a couple of quotes within the piece
Every club in the league has a good story in them, like Athlone v Milan; Cork v Bayern; Rovers at Milltown etc.
Generally, the pics used are a good action shot featuring maybe five players in total, or else a team pic taken from the event in question. I know inpho and sportsfile etc have pics but some of these others are difficult to lay hands on so if you could point me in the right direction in this regard it would also prove helpful, whether it be through local papers or even pics people own - a decent scan would do.
I would be most appreciative if you could give me a hand and then i will probably be back in touch when putting the piece together, but cannot promise that all will make it to print but will forward the better ideas and see how they are seen by the eds.
Please PM any ideas
Thanks folks
I've seen this in relation to non-Loi games and its very interesting. As you say there are some superb memories involving Loi teams, particularily for the younger readers of the last few years european adventures.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
http://www.trueblues.zoomshare.com/
http://www.blues2.zoomshare.com/
Theres a start for ye
Same as the Sunday Times which is very nostalgic.
Should be plenty of material out there for you. Maybe pick on a previous event which may have some relevance to an upcoming one.
"Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
Mrs. Delaney
you need to be careful with copyrights on photos. There are incredible libraries at inpho and sportsfile so you should get most of what you need there. Some of the nationals ahve archives too like the examiner an dIndo I think.
As for events just a few off the top of my head
Harps joinging th eleague in 69 losing to rovers 10-2 i n their opening game.
Harps winning the Cup in 74
Sligo winning the league in 77 and Cup in 83 covering 4 game semi final epic v Cobh
Galway's Euro game v Groningen in Carraroe 1986.
Limerick's cup win in 71 after so many near misses, games v Real Madrid in 1980.
Fordsons bringing the cup to cork in 1926, ciork united's incredible team of the 40's 5 titles, Cork Hibs v Waterford 72 league and cup deciders in a week. 10 man Waterford 2 down at the Lodge with 10 mins to go come back to win 3-2 and the league. Hibs stuff them 3-0 a week later in the cup final.
Waterford's 6 leagues in 8 seasons incl games v Man Utd as holders and Celtic as runners up in the European Cup.
Athlone v Milan and THAT penalty. Finn Harps v Athlone 74 cup semi final and Mick O'Brien swinging and breaking the crossbar at Oriel Park.
Longford's run the cup semi final in 1955 (I think) and other cup epics i nthe 50's v Limerick and Drums.
Dundalk's incredible history - longest serving provincial club, first to win the elague, shock cup wins of 52 or 58, McLaughlin era. tommy McConville being the width of a goalpost away from putting them in the quarter finals of the European Cup.
and then there's the Dublin club to follow...
Bohs all conquering team of the late 20's. Bohs Irish cup win of 1908. Bohs euro home win v Rangers.
Drums being the first non league team to win the cup. th great team of the 60's and sad demise.
Shels Irish cup win of 1911 and the 39 Cup final when they beat Sligo and Dixie Dean after a replay. The Shelbourne/Reds United story i nthe 30's when Shels dropped out of the league.
Transport's cup win of 1950 after a 3 game epic v Cork athletic.
Shamrock rovers - where do I start - 5 i na row cup wins i nthe 20's/30's, 6 i na row in the 60's. 10 minutes away from putting the eventual winners Bayern Munich out of the ECWC and earning a quarter final spot. The McLaughlin era, Milltown, 9 and 12 game tours of the U.S. in 61 and 67.
Pats winning the league i ntheir first season and 2 subsequent titles within first 5 seasons.
UCD's cup win of 84 and subsequent 1-0 aggregate loss to Everton and what if Joe Hanrahan had converted that late chance at Goodison.
St James's Gate's l;ate win in 39/40 and demise/rebirth demise again of the famous club.
Brideville, Dolphin, Bray Unknowns and other forgotten clubs.
The cup exploits of Distillery (the Dublin version) in th elate 30's/early 40's. Jacobs in the 50's/early 60's.
Grangegorman (now St. Brendans hospital) reaching the Leinster Cup final of 1945. I think they put out Shamrock rovers (need to check that). They got hammered by Bohs in the final.
I don't mean to be controversial DonegalCelt - but if you're putting yourself about as a freelance journalist to write on the EL, you should really have a decent understanding of the league and its history yourself.
Or at least the desire to do the research yourself, rather than have other people do it for you.
I say all this as someone who has done the hard miles of researching the league for journalistic pieces and a book himself. There shouldn't be any short cuts if you're looking to make a living out of this.
What about the epic Sligo Rovers-Cobh Ramblers cup ties from 1983? Cobh were non-league at the time. Two replays at least..
I have some jpegs of the Drums team that played away to Athletico Madrid, early 60s, if you're interested.
Always look on the bright side of life
St Francis reaching the cup final.
Rovers first game in the RDS.
Tony Wards career at Rovers.
Derrys first season in the League.
Brays First Season in the League, cup wins etc
Big name imports that played a few games such as Brooking, Banks, Archibald etc
Cheers for everyone who posted. I've started a couple and they will be printed at some stage, although it will be on a staggered basis.
I'll post here when they are. I'll also PM anyone here who helped when I get on if they have photos or whatever.
Thanks again folks
O dear, what a silly reply.... anyway one thing for sure is that I do know that I don't suffer from such an inflated ego that I'd post comments which slag off someone who's asked for help and also drop into them in a most unsubtle manner the revealation that I'd in the past written a book...
As I said IMO your post was very sad because instead like all the other respondents trying to help you felt it necessary to have a go at what DonegalCelt is trying to do, belittle his knowledge and then it seems try to impress us with your by dropping in comments about having done hard miles etc.
You know if I was an aspiring journalist looking to write articles on the LOI, I'd also come on here to see if I could get some eye-witness accounts etc... also would go to other sources like newspaper archives and for all we know DonegalCelt is also doing that... one thing for sure I would't expect someone to start critiscising me... cue your usual boring response, to which I have no intention of responding , as IMO to continue this will just bore all the other posters.
Lads, we get it, ye're both sad. Move on.
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Grand now lads, all sorted!