Thread: We'r gonna win the cup

We'r gonna win the cup

YYYYYYYYeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that felt good.We'r in the final.Ok its the league cup but who gives a ****.The most important thing is the lads have got alot of confidence from this.I think if there had been no break and the lads came into the shels and cork games after beatin bohs we would not be in our position in the league.Now the team no what they can do and hopefully it will bring confidence and wins.Kirby played a blinder wen he came on.I wasn't botherd about the sending off apparently its a rule for a referee to make a controversial decision against longford, but the thing about the ref in this game was he couldn't decide which team to go for, after he sent off brian byrne he tried to balance things up by booking a few derry players and givin us a few frees then he'd book a few of us.Methinks he just couldn't figure out which team was further away from dublin.
    I have to pay tribute to the derry fans there a credit to the league and the best fans no matter who says otherwise.Our support was as usual ****e only came alive in extra time but at the moment i don't care.WE'R GONNA WIN THE CUP.
    Oh yeah when and where will the first leg be.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Oh yeah and now that i remember is this a Sean francis comeback I see.He certainly deserved his goal.He seemed to win every header and now that lavine has apparently made his peace hopefully they'll start banging in or chippin in the goals(with paddy and barrett scorin their few too)
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

hayser
    Lads, do you agree that it should be a one-legged final, 2 leg finals are ****, like the time we beat ucd 3-1 in the final 2 years ago, the 2nd leg was a non-event, the only problem would be the venue though.

discuss

Post Murphy seals victory

Murphy seals victory

Longford Town are through to the eircom League Cup final for the first time in their history after a goal in injury time at the end of extra time by Alan Murphy ensured a 2-1 victory over Derry City at Flancare Park on Tuesday night.

Murphy scored with the last kick of the game after Alan Kirby's cross shot had come back off the post to spark jubilant celebrations by the Longford fans.

The same supporters were contemplating defeat just 30 minutes previously when - with Longford playing with ten men - it looked like Padraig Moran's first half goal was going to be enough for Derry City to book their place in the final with St Patrick's Athletic. But Sean Francis then scored a magnificent equaliser to send the game into extra time and set up the climatic finish.

The victory also maintained the Midlanders incredible record of never losing to Derry City since they were promoted to the Premier Division in 2000.

As the home side, Longford were always going to make most of the early running and after a quiet opening, the game sprung into life in the 10th minute when a Kevin Deery clearance rebounded off Eric Lavine's back into the path of Sean Francis who raced past Paddy McLaughlin only to see his shot well saved by David Forde.

Francis was again in the thick of the action in the 21st minute when he reached a Kieran Foley flick-on and, although his intention to try to loop the header over the goalkeeper was right, he didn't get sufficient power in the effort to beat Forde.

Derry had a number of attacks during the game, but like Longford, the majority broke down on the edge of the area with defences on top and it was with their first real opportunity that Derry took the lead in the 24th minute.

It was classic route one stuff as Forde launched the ball from deep in his own half and, after the Longford defence allowed the ball to bounce, Barry Ferguson was forced to try and head the ball away for a corner with two Derry men waiting behind him. But the defender didn't get clean enough contact on the ball and it spun past Michael Devine and hit the post and Padraig Moran reacted quickest to wallop the rebound into the vacant net.

Before the game had even restarted, midfielder Brian Byrne was sent off for dissent leaving Longford with a real mountain to climb.

Lavine had a shot cleared off the line after he robbed Forde of possession out by the corner flag while Francis flashed a shot well wide after being set up by strike partner Lavine in what were Longford's only real opportunities before half time, while Derry seemed happy to sit back and take the chances that came their way.

Town manager Alan Matthews introduced Alan Kirby while switching to three at the back for the second half and it looked to be working very effectively in the early stages with Kirby forcing Forde to made a smart save from a free kick in the 48th minute.

However, Derry soon adjusted their game plan and quickly started making in roads on the wide open spaces of the wings with Darren McCready and Gareth McGlynn benefiting from the lack of attention of full backs as they both tested Demspey on several occasions after breaking clear of the Longford defence.

But Longford were doing most of the running though, for all their effort, they failed to create many opportunities.

They had a marvellous chance to equalise in the 65th minute when Lavine raced to the by-line and sent over a cross to the unmarked Francis who's goal bound shot was brilliantly blocked by Deery.

And with the game edging towards the final whistle, Francis made up for his earlier misses when he brilliantly chipped Forde from a tight angle to send the game into extra time.

Extra time was edgy with both sides playing cautiously and neither goalkeeper was forced to make a save. Francis had two efforts drift wide in what were Longford's best opportunities while McCready shot into the side-netting with Derry City's best chance.

But with the crowd contemplating penalties, Deery fouled Shane Barrett on the left wing giving Kirby the chance to send over the cross for Murphy to score.

Teams:
    Longford Town: Dempsey; A Murphy, Foley, Ferguson, McGovern; Perth, G Murphy, Byrne, Prunty; Lavine, Francis.
    Subs: Kirby for G Murphy (half time), Barrett for Prunty (75 mins), Mulvihill for Perth (84 mins).

Derry City: Forde; Deery, McLaughlin, McChrystal, E McCallion; McGlynn, Martyn, Hutton, McCready; Moran, Beckett.
    Sub: Gill for Moran (81 mins)

Referee: A Buttimer (Cork).

www.fai.ie

Originally posted by hayser
    Lads, do you agree that it should be a one-legged final, 2 leg finals are ****, like the time we beat ucd 3-1 in the final 2 years ago, the 2nd leg was a non-event, the only problem would be the venue though.

discuss
    Eh, No.... Show us the money of a home gate!!!! We can't afford for it to be a single game with a split gate (and I'd assume youse aren't flush enough either)...

I'd actually propose Longford for the final every year (not this one though ) Good ground, central enough...

Looking forward to it. How do you think our kids will do against ye, Macy?

Our reserves against your reserves? Can't see us winning tbh, but say it'll be tight.... Having said that whether youse will be as up for it with no off the field angle...... Youse go in as overwhelming favourites anyway....

Originally posted by Macy
    Having said that whether youse will be as up for it with no off the field angle......
    whatever do you mean?

Althogh seriously, of those that started on Monday on Gallagher, Harris and Holt were here last year

Stevo
    does anyone know for definite when the final is on and where it is on ?

54 Posts
    Originally posted by Stevo
    does anyone know for definite when the final is on and where it is on ?
    Not many people know this, but the League Cup Final, for legal reasons, is covered by the Official State Secrets Act...

Most likely 1: if Pats and de Town are knocked out of the FAI Cup early, expect it to be played SOON. If not, expect it to be played WHENEVER. Anything else would require planning - this certainly does not extend to our third national competition, from an administration point of view.

Most likely 2: two-legged decider, Pats will be at home in the second game...

Most likely 3: De Town will actually win as it is 'low priority' at Richmond Park. Apparently.

Donie

Originally posted by The Donie Forde
    Most likely 1: if Pats and de Town are knocked out of the FAI Cup early, expect it to be played SOON. If not, expect it to be played WHENEVER. Anything else would require planning - this certainly does not extend to our third national competition, from an administration point of view.
    Actually I would harzard a guess they will try and play it out ASAP, and are probably trying to sort it now....

Most likely 2: two-legged decider, Pats will be at home in the second game...
    May suit us better, we have a good record against them, and in any case it would ensure a good home gate for us as the tie will still be alive (may be all over by the second leg)

Most likely 3: De Town will actually win as it is 'low priority' at Richmond Park. Apparently.
    Judging by the side they put out on Monday, I'd say it is a low priority - just cos they beat you with their reserves, doesn't mean it's top of their list....