I really hope last Saturday's game wasn't my last at Flancare.
I couldn't support anything that bollicks is involved with.
not sure what to make of it lads.. the interview with the property developer is for twenty mins on radio one on friday at seven pm
!
roddy has such a bad track record...one side of the coin is it will wipe out our debts but at what price to our club? the other side is we may potentially lose a very good mgt and staff with this! i initially was very excited about the idea but now I have my doubts about the whole deal...
i dont want to see aaron and vinny go at all! the club will be unstable even with roddy as gen manager you saw what he did with dublin city... it is a very serious offer and quite rightly should be voted by the members.. you know what you have to do if you are so against it become a member of the trust this weekend the forms are on the website and dont make this happen...
i would be concerned if the deal goes wrong could they sell flancare park aka shamrock rovers? think the risks are too serious tbh...
Last edited by Martinho II; 12/03/2008 at 8:28 PM. Reason: error
I really hope last Saturday's game wasn't my last at Flancare.
I couldn't support anything that bollicks is involved with.
Mate of mine txt me yesterday to say Hot Rod was strolling around Longford yesterday.
At least Roddys plastering skills might patch up Flancare Park![]()
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Putting my moderator hat on... I suspect "The Longford" is a troll, however, can everyone calm down with the put down's on each other. And less of the "if you don't become a member you've no right to comment too" as you have no idea of the personal circumstances of other posters to be making judgements on whether they can afford it or not.
This will have to go to the members - being a members club it'll have to. The only way this should be even considered is if the lands, or perhaps more particularly the pitches, are signed over to the trust. If it really is for altruistic motives, Shoddy and his band of merry men won't have a problem with that will they?
Hopefully the members see sense - at a time when clubs all around Europe are moving too, or trying to move to, a members owned structure, why would be buck the trend to the bad old ways?
believe lads that theres a meeting in flancare at nine o clock tonight. it says in one of the papers that it is a meeting of committee and members. will venture out to it. believe a written offer will be given out tonight.
anyone care to venture out?
Papers are misleading apparently. It's just an executive meeting. No written proposal has been received as of this evening. I believe the executive are to vote on whether to have any further discussions with the relevant people. From what I'm hearing, nobody is in any way impressed with what they have to offer and are likely to tell them no thanks. They're offering to put in f*ck all and their plans are all ones that the club was pursuing anyway.
Last edited by Martinho II; 13/03/2008 at 6:50 PM. Reason: curse!
I hope common sense will prevail on this. There is no way Longford could sustain a full time team and the fact that plenty of other teams are living way beyond their means doesnt mean the town should follow suit. I'm not sure how Roddy has managed to get so any financial backers over the years - whatever his management skills, he has shown himself to have no idea of financial structures at various clubs. Everyone wants to see the town back in the top flight and in Europe, but if we spend a few years building up local support and goodwill and spirit, we have a chance to sustain it. Bringing in lots of full time pros overnight will only be good news until the novelty wears off, and after that we'd be running at a huge loss until the inevitable happens.
Sensible post riffraff, progress at a sustainable rate is what's needed and I'm confident the club is moving that way.
I admit, I didn't know an awful lot about Roddy when I posted, but have since researched a bit. Bear in mind, I never said anything in favour of him I just thought a takeover would be good for the club. No need to pounce . . .
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve. . .
right lads this is the news!
frank murtagh(secretary) came out to me at flancare just before the meeting started and told me that the club have received no proposal yet... if the club do get a proposal in writing the executive committee will discuss it and decide whether to bring it forward to members stage... the club are releasing a statement at half eleven tonight...so at this moment in time nothings happenin but they have nothin in writin..
heard that the developer was in meetings with the committee in a well known establishment, there was no sign of roddy and then who pops in his head into the meeting it is the rodster himself!
impressions I got from speakin to a few board members is that a lot of them are against it esp with roddy collins on board! Jim Hanley also said that the club is in better finanical shape to turn it down than this time last year!
Roddy was on newstalk tonight... same old crap coming out of him... mentioned that he was aware of the newspaper reports today saying that he was unpopular he said that he spoke to few people in longford and reckoned in his opinion that hes highly thought of here! he mentioned that he would be very excited about the town having regular traiining camps in jamaica where his mate has holiday interests out there....daniel mcdonnell indo journalist was also it as well..
very good interview in longford weekender tonite about the situation !
From what I've heard this evening they're not willing to put in any substantial money. They've just got some vague idea that if they take over they'll find ways of making money. Innovative ideas that the present set-up have already thought of and intend pursuing if left alone. Little money invested + Roddy = a very firm no thanks.
Id go for it,a bit of money,crazy manager and general excitement
RIP JOHNNY
Marty, I'll go to Jamaica for pre-season friendlies with ya if yer up for it!![]()
Ye wouldn't be laughing if it was Sligo lads. The Rod is not someone we want around.